We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great experience”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sakura River Inn 1

Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger. Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
First room.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
3D map of the apartment.
View from the room! Can you see the river under the balcony?!
Reading e mail from the balcony! Priceless!
Balcony under the Sakura!
Enjoy feed the ducks from the balcony!!
Takasegawa
You will arrive from there!
French restaurant 5 meters from the apartment
Entrance of the apartment!
Bedroom 2
New summer futons sheets from muji
Mirror in a toilet
Finally new gas stove!
Useful table under gas stove!
Water filter!
Japanese cups
New Kitchen stuff.
Corridor
Shower room.
Washing machine and soap
Marriage ceremony from balcony (with zoom)
Mayumi with our first guest. 21 march 2014
view from balcony
Just in case!!!
Don't miss to sign our guest book!
Bedroom 2
Living room.
Aroma Therapy.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Shimogyo, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
493stephe...
Osaka, Japan
1 review
“Great experience”
Reviewed 29 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Everything you need in the compact and bijou traditional Japanese house. Great location and fantastic to have outside space for breakfast. Host was prompt and helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2018
Thank you Stephen for you nice review. Hope to see you again in here!

Regards
Andrea & Mayumi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berlinN
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very good value, comfortable home, and thoughtful host.”
Reviewed 20 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

This home is so comfortable, we felt sad to leave. The location by the river was beautiful for walks, and is also convenient for transport.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyEmi...
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic, Charming, Quirky and Quaint”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We were met on the corner by Andrea who helped us with our luggage and immediately informed us of the neighbouring restaurants, shops and streets that were essential to visit. The listing description was accurate and we loved the layout it was very authentic and charming. The apartment was very well located with lovely streets to walk around at night and tiny alleyways for spotting Geisha!
It was a very authentic experience and the view onto the tiny river was very special to wake up to each morning. Andrea and Mayumi's advice about where to go in Kyoto and the time they spent with us describing the best methods of transport (plus tips about bus fares and peak visiting times) was invaluable and greatly appreciated. They were extremely hospitable, friendly, knowledgeable and polite. The apartment was quirky and quaint and we felt close to lots of sights and good eateries, we also loved using the bicycles to get around.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location. Friendly hosts with lots of information. Very clean and comfortable. Great to have bikes accessible and also bus stops within walking distance. Wonderful to explore the areas and small streets surrounding the apartment at night too.
Liked least: Relative to other accommodation in Japan and particularly Kyoto; it was a little bit expensive. Also the buckwheat pillows were very hard! Would be good to provide option of Western style pillows. The table is very low- must have good knees!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael A
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Kyoto”
Reviewed 6 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Andrea and Mayumi's apartment is just perfect. It was clean, comfortable, and exactly as described and represented in the photographs. It's situated in a very charming part of Kyoto with easy access to all of the major tourist sites and countless restaurants and bars. The apartment comes with 2 bikes which is a great benefit as well. And, as others have noted, it's fun to feed the ducks in the morning.

Our interactions with the hosts themselves was flawless. Andrea was generous with his time and knowledge, sharing information on some local dining options and attractions. And they have prepared a very useful notebook full of information about Kyoto. The hosts also prepared a welcome package of teas, snacks and cute origami! They were also very prompt in responding to all of our e-mails. Andrea was very patient when we arrived late. (Note: the apartment is only 10 minutes by bus from the station but make sure you take the bus going the right direction! One of the bus lines goes in 2 directions)

We felt more like we were staying with friends than paying customers. Rent this place from Andrea and Mayumi and you will not be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia T
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very special place”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We only stayed one night at Andrea and Mayumi's apartment and we left wishing we could staying longer, much longer.

It is in a great location, in the heart of Kyoto. The apartment is by a river so we had breakfast on the balcony and fed the local ducks. There are loads of restaurants, bars and supermarkets close by. It also comes with 2 bikes so we rode them by the river to the Imperial Palace. Bikes in Kyoto are such a great way to see the City.

The place is full of charm with a very traditional feel. It is spotless and looks as it does in the pictures, if not better. It comes with everything you need and much more.

Andrea and Mayumi are wonderful hosts. They were very easy to communicate with from start to finish. They provided us with detailed instructions on how to get there and meet us on arrival showing us around the place.

This is the best airbnb experience I have had to date and the reason why I choose airbnb over staying in hotels. I hope to stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It had everything we needed and was full of charm
Liked least: That we only got to stay for one night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing