We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Classic wineries in Barolo, with a quality operation.”

Antiche Cantine Marchesi Di Barolo
Book In Advance
More Info
US$316,83*
and up
Private Tour: Piedmont Wine Tasting of the Barolo...
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Barolo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On the outskirts of the town of Barolo, this large winery and wine tasting/gift shop operation is housed in a large rectangular building with a spacious inner patio. The informative wine tour takes you through all steps of the wine-making process, and ends in the wine tasting area. The walls covered by graffiti of previous visitors show the attraction this winery exerts on the imagination of many: there are signatures from all four corners of the world. The wines offered for tasting are good and enjoyable. Unfortunately, the higher level wines are not available for tasting, so we left without ascertaining where the wines of Marchesi di Barolo stand on the hierarchy of Langhe wines.

Thank Gabriel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarchesiBarolo, CANTINE MARCHESI DI BAROLO at Antiche Cantine Marchesi Di Barolo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Gabriel,

thank you very much, it was a great pleasure having you as our guests.

We hope to welcome you soon again here in Barolo!

Best Regards,

Cantine Marchesi di Barolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"great winery"
in 6 reviews
"wine tour"
in 7 reviews
"gift shop"
in 4 reviews
"private tour"
in 3 reviews
"informative tour"
in 3 reviews
"wonderful tour"
in 3 reviews
"classic cars"
in 2 reviews
"delicious meal"
in 2 reviews
"the owner"
in 5 reviews
"cellar tour"
in 3 reviews
"high quality"
in 2 reviews
"wine lovers"
in 2 reviews
"family business"
in 2 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 2 reviews
"tasting room"
in 2 reviews
"wines"
in 39 reviews
"grapes"
in 8 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful tour. Very informative. In the city so easy to go to. This is the production facility so not on the vineyard itself. They are a huge production. However it is commercial and the wine tasting is a huge rip off. They charge 7.5 euro for a glass but a glass is maybe 2 ounces. We just left a place where we paid 10 for 5 tastes and food and here it was 7.5 for one taste (that they market as a glass). Won’t be buying wine from them!

2  Thank runnersar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarchesiBarolo, CANTINE MARCHESI DI BAROLO at Antiche Cantine Marchesi Di Barolo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Runnersar,

thank you for visiting us! It was a pleasure to have you as our guests.

Regarding the wine tasting, we offer different options and all of them include the tour of the Ancient Cellars and the combined services.

We hope to welcome you again here in Barolo!

Best Regards,

Cantine Marchesi di Barolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Very informative tour of this antique wine maker. Tasting was also very good with plenty of wines to choose from.

Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarchesiBarolo, CANTINE MARCHESI DI BAROLO at Antiche Cantine Marchesi Di Barolo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear Frank,

Thank you for the lovely words!

It was a great pleasure welcoming you and meeting you here in Barolo, see you soon!

Best Regards,

Cantine Marchesi di Barolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Really good cantina. The guide was really friendly and teach us a lot of tips about wine and everything. We did a tasting after with 3 goods Barolo and the price was ok.
For me I think is the best cantina in Barolo.

Thank CatarinaSofiete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vineria M, reception at Antiche Cantine Marchesi Di Barolo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Dear Catarina,

It was a great pleasure having you as our guests. Thank you very much for your lovely words.

See you soon in Barolo!

Cantine Marchesi di Barolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2018

We visited Marchesi di Barolo during a Sunday trip with the family.
The tour at the cellar is interesting and entertaining, full of interesting stories. The shop also is run by knowledgleable and kind assistants.

We also had lunch in the restaurant at first floor, a tasting menu with wine pairing for an extremely convenient price - 49€. Food is genuine and tasty, reflecting the Piedmontese typical cuisine. Outstanding wines compliment it perfectly.
Definitely a must visit when in the area.

1  Thank Andrea83Chiara87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarchesiBarolo, CANTINE MARCHESI DI BAROLO at Antiche Cantine Marchesi Di Barolo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Good morning,

thank you very much for the lovely words, it was a great pleasure having you as our guests! We are happy that you enjoyed the experience in our Cellar and in our Restaurant La Foresteria dei Marchesi di Barolo.

We hope to see you very soon again here in Barolo!

Best Regards,

Cantine Marchesi di Barolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Antiche Cantine Marchesi Di Barolo also viewed

Neive, Province of Cuneo
 
Monforte d'Alba, Province of Cuneo
 

Been to Antiche Cantine Marchesi Di Barolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing