We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
102
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
102
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hiking trails delicious food hidden gem the owner game drives klein karoo swartberg mountains few days warm welcome out of this world the reserve very special place rooms are spacious wonderful stay beautiful place tucked away great nature
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2023 via mobile

Beautiful!! Staff amazing friendly and attentive. Food is delicious. Our rooms were very comfortable. The mountains and river are so relaxing. We had Nyala on our doorstep. The game drive was exciting after all the rain. Made crossing the rivers most enjoyable. Thank you for a wonderful stay

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank michdig
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kristy Potgieter, General Manager at Wildehondekloof, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2023

HI Michelle
Thank you for the review, you are a lovely couple.Looking forward to your next stay.Please spread the good news among family and friends.Blessings
Kind Regards
Paula Potgieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2023 via mobile

5 out of 5! If you want to switch off relax and connect with nature come here.An absolute top class Lodge in the Heart of the Klein Karoo nestled away deep in the Swartberg mountains.Highly recommendable .Friendly staff an overall world class experience!

Room tip: Bring your hiking boots/shoes binoculars and stay more than 3 nights!
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank LudwigSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kristy Potgieter, General Manager at Wildehondekloof, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2023

Thank you for visiting our farm and the lovely review :-)
We enjoyed hosting your family and we look forward to many future visits ahead.
safe travels and holidays ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2023 via mobile

This beautiful lodge is surrounded by amazing scenery and wildlife. The walks around the lodge are really beautiful and the flowers were amazing.
The afternoon game drive was very special and we were so very fortunate to see two baby Giraffe with their mothers. A wonderful show from the wildebeest and a rare sighting of a aardwolf . Sundowners and snacks as the sun went down. A beautiful evening .
The staff made our weekend very special, each of you were so friendly and helpful, great team. Our room was lovely, beautiful furnishings, a wood fire as it was very chilly. Spacious bathroom and a wonderful view from our balcony. The main lodge was very nice with amazing views, big roaring fires.
The food was delicious. Both our evening meals were prepared to such a high standard, lamb shanks , ostrich fillet , delicious starters and desserts.
The best carrot cake ever! Breakfast was a feast of so many fresh fruits, muffins, cheeses, eggs to your choice.
Thank you Paula and to all the staff for making our weekend so very special, you really have a slice of heaven.
Barrett family.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 604Abigail
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kristy Potgieter, General Manager at Wildehondekloof, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2023

Dear Barrett family,

Thank you for taking the time to visit our reserve, it was an absolute pleasure hosting you and we look forward to many future visits ahead,
Happy you got the chance to see our baby giraffe's and the aardwolf wooow :-)



Kind regards from the Wildehondekloof team ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2023

This is a beautiful peaceful and most luxurious corner of South Africa to visit. The staff were incredibly friendly and the rooms and bathrooms are large and very comfortable with everything you might need. All our needs were catered for with the chef even baking gluten free breads and cakes. The highlight was our gentle game drive finding a new born giraffe and aardwolf. We will definitely visit again

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank drhartshorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kristy Potgieter, General Manager at Wildehondekloof, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2023

Dr Hartshorne

We really appreciate your feedback and honest review.
It was lovely to meet and spoil you hardworking couple on the reserve.
Big hug for Rini.
You are always welcome. We hope to habituate the aardwolf soon, will keep you posted.

Lovely week
Regards
Paula Potgieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2023 via mobile

Excellent service, friendly and attentive staff, delicious meals and a beautiful location. We had a game drive in the early morning which was perfectly organised and we had the chance to see many different animals. We definitely recommend this place and will come again.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sarah5202023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kristy Potgieter, General Manager at Wildehondekloof, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2023

Hi Sarah
So good to hear from you and thank you for taking the time to write the review.
We hope to see in the near future and spread the good news among friends and family.
Blessings
Paula Potgieter (owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews