We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
100
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
100
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hiking trails delicious food hidden gem the owner game drives klein karoo swartberg mountains few days warm welcome out of this world the reserve very special place rooms are spacious wonderful stay beautiful place tucked away great nature
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2023 via mobile

This beautiful lodge is surrounded by amazing scenery and wildlife. The walks around the lodge are really beautiful and the flowers were amazing.
The afternoon game drive was very special and we were so very fortunate to see two baby Giraffe with their mothers. A wonderful show from the wildebeest and a rare sighting of a aardwolf . Sundowners and snacks as the sun went down. A beautiful evening .
The staff made our weekend very special, each of you were so friendly and helpful, great team. Our room was lovely, beautiful furnishings, a wood fire as it was very chilly. Spacious bathroom and a wonderful view from our balcony. The main lodge was very nice with amazing views, big roaring fires.
The food was delicious. Both our evening meals were prepared to such a high standard, lamb shanks , ostrich fillet , delicious starters and desserts.
The best carrot cake ever! Breakfast was a feast of so many fresh fruits, muffins, cheeses, eggs to your choice.
Thank you Paula and to all the staff for making our weekend so very special, you really have a slice of heaven.
Barrett family.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 604Abigail
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kristy Potgieter, General Manager at Wildehondekloof, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2023

Dear Barrett family,

Thank you for taking the time to visit our reserve, it was an absolute pleasure hosting you and we look forward to many future visits ahead,
Happy you got the chance to see our baby giraffe's and the aardwolf wooow :-)



Kind regards from the Wildehondekloof team ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2023

This is a beautiful peaceful and most luxurious corner of South Africa to visit. The staff were incredibly friendly and the rooms and bathrooms are large and very comfortable with everything you might need. All our needs were catered for with the chef even baking gluten free breads and cakes. The highlight was our gentle game drive finding a new born giraffe and aardwolf. We will definitely visit again

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank drhartshorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kristy Potgieter, General Manager at Wildehondekloof, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2023

Dr Hartshorne

We really appreciate your feedback and honest review.
It was lovely to meet and spoil you hardworking couple on the reserve.
Big hug for Rini.
You are always welcome. We hope to habituate the aardwolf soon, will keep you posted.

Lovely week
Regards
Paula Potgieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2023 via mobile

Excellent service, friendly and attentive staff, delicious meals and a beautiful location. We had a game drive in the early morning which was perfectly organised and we had the chance to see many different animals. We definitely recommend this place and will come again.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sarah5202023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kristy Potgieter, General Manager at Wildehondekloof, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2023

Hi Sarah
So good to hear from you and thank you for taking the time to write the review.
We hope to see in the near future and spread the good news among friends and family.
Blessings
Paula Potgieter (owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2023

An experience of a life time! Food delicious with nice flavours!
Rooms and view are spectacular. Finest detail in the rooms. Lot to do - game drives, hiking trails, swimmingpool. Loveley outside fireplace.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Flyer53296101985
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kristy Potgieter, General Manager at Wildehondekloof, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2023

Thank you Flyer
We love reviews like this and everybody is inspired to move to next level.
Our mission is to spoil.
Always welcome and spread the good among families and friends
Regards
Paula Potgieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2023

A big thank you to Hannelize for her advice to take a safe detour to arrive safely at Wildehondekloof to a warm welcome by André and Hatim. The welcoming script on the blackboard was very special. This Klein Karoo resort is the best way to recharge your batteries. The accommodation is spacious and clean and the beds with electrical blankets offered a peaceful sleep. Hatim the chef prepared the most amazing and tasty 3-course meals, whilst André and Hannelize prepared most breakfasts. The service by André and Hannelize were exceptional and the game drive by Hannelize was most enjoyable with lots of game to view. A spa treatment topped off the experience. We also enjoyed the hiking trails. We will definitely revisit this resort.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Erna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kristy Potgieter, General Manager at Wildehondekloof, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2023

HI Erna

So good for my soul to read this from somebody who is so honest and happy about their recent stay at Wildehondekloof.
Our motto is to spoil with a personal touch.
This review will encourage our staff to go the extra mile in future.
You are always welcome here .
Spread the news among family and friends .
Blessings.
Kind regards
Paula Potgieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews