We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 07:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Serenity at best

Visited with a group of friends. It was an amazing stay. All of us were so impressed. In the... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 8 November 2020
sekokotlale
Excellent

Rudi and Vasti were really great, Frans was amazing setting perfect really enjoyed our stay and... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 3 November 2020
N7366QCchrisg
,
Clarens, South Africa
Read all 9 reviews
  
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveller rating
7
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
7
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nature reserve leadwood lodge drive stay hosts game bit animals breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 9 of 9 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2018

This is a awesome resort and a beautiful place. We were there for a short visit but will definitely come back and reccomend Zingela to others.

Date of experience: August 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank moutonsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 July 2018

It was an unexpected delight spending the weekend among the most helpful staff and the beauty of nature. If you want to unwind and enjoy nature this is definitely a destination. Our hosts went five extra miles for us and everything was organised and done with a smile. The accommodation is very well equipped and clean.

Surita and Armand were so friendly and helpful and the game drive was amazing.

Date of experience: July 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Lorna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZNR1990, Eco Tourism Manager at Zingela Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Lorna,

I was such a delight to accomodate you. We hope to see you soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

The constantly expanding Zingela Nature reserve is an impressive expanse of bushland and forest stretched out across the plains of South of the Limpopo river. Its a bit of a drive from Jo'burg but worth it for that genuine back to nature experience. There are no artificial big five glorified zoo experiences here. This is a landscape that is being responsibly restored to the way it would have looked two thousand years ago. There are a number of lodges that afford a decent range of accommodation from posh thatched villas to tented camps overlooking the wilderness. Many of these have views across to waterholes, which meant we could sit with our sundowner and watch the animals having theirs. You can also perch in one of Zingela's cunningly position hides for the chance to see leopards stalking empala or a buffalo grazing on grassy knoll. We managed to be in one of the taller wooden hides, built on stilts next to a large waterhole when two male giraffes began sparring over a female with us caught in the middle!!
Food-wise Zingela is a fusion of South African cuisine and European fare. With lots of local fruit and veg you can also have fun self-catering, as we did, enjoying fresh mangos each morning for breakfast. What made our stay special was seeing the effort being spent on restoration and conservation work. While the reintroduction of elephants and lions is next on the agenda already the bewildering variety of antelope left me scratching my head trying to remember all the names. Zingela is a place that's going to grow and become an important and clearly defined jigsaw piece in the only too often unreliable map of South African wilderness conservation. We will definitely be back to see how things develop. It was great to spend our time and contribute to a place that's dedicated to protecting and promoting nature and biodiversity, not one that exploits it!

Date of experience: January 2017
3  Thank Charlie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.