We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding stay in an amazing location”
other travellers have booked this property
Viewed from the window.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Viewed from the window.
Contemporary comfort. Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Viewed from the window.
Contemporary comfort.
Living room
The woodburning stove adds cosiness in the cooler evenings.
The well-equipped kitchen area
Main bedroom
Attic bedroom with original stone wall.
Masses of hanging space
Second bedroom has play and entertainment space
Sweet dreams
Just waiting to welcome you.
Family bathroom
Everything you need for comfort and convenience.
Second bathroom.
On the terrace.
The atmospheric village street.
Charming play area at the beach.
Local beach.
View to the north from the house.
Menaggio is 5 minutes away.
Tiny church in the village.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
San Siro, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
590Clare
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding stay in an amazing location”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

If you want to experience life in a real Italian lake village this is definitely the place to come.The house is so atmospheric with such an amazing history but so comfortable it was a joy to return to at the end of a day out.The terrace had a wonderful view of the lake and mountains and so it was bliss sitting out in the evening watching the lights coming on on the other side of the lake and watching village life carry on around you whilst reading Kate's amazing library!
Acquaseria, the village was a real gem. The shops had everything you could want-a butcher/deli/bakery, greengrocer/giftshop, little grocers and an amazing wine shop. Along with 2 outstanding restaurants-Da Luigi's and Creme Caramel and a lovely bar/icecream shop/patisserie we didn't have to venture too far and everyone was so friendly.
There are some lovely walks from the door-we really liked the walk to Santa Maria Rezzonico along the ancient pilgrims route-and the advantage of a bar/gelateria at the end. Walks up in the hills round Breglia; the world war 1 trenches at La Crocetta behind Mennaggio; and the amazing mountain villages of Livo and Peglio were lovely on hot days. The Villa del Balbianello was stunning-if you just do 1 house do this one and watch Casino Royale afterwards!
We spent 2 incredible weeks here-definitely one of the best places to stay both for the house and location so I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it-satisfying teenagers isn't easy but this place did it-thank you!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
Thanks so much for this wonderful review.! It's lovely to know people are enjoying the place when we can't be there ourselves. Arrivederci al lago. K
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart E
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing stay”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Great place to spend a relaxing holiday. We had a week here and didn't leave the village much, which was ideal for us. The village has enough going on to give you a choice but still feels really quiet . We wanted a peaceful week here and would recommend to everyone. There is a supermarket 15 minutes away where you can enjoy great fruit and local produce, including the wine.

The house is really lovely, well equipped, great views of the lake and comfortable to spend time in. You could sit on the terrace all day and admire the scenery. It's only a 5 minute walk down to the lake, perfect for an afternoon swim or sunbathe. Bar Carlos is a good place to stop for a beer on the way home. Creme caramel and Luigis are both worth trying and do amazing pizzas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Morning sun and brunch on the terrace
Liked least: Lack of aircon.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
Thanks for the great review. We think the village is actually getting better and better, so we are really pleased that you liked it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niamh 1
1 review
“Great Location”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a great stay at Il Campanello – I wish I could wake up to that view every day.

We visited most of the beautiful local villages and towns on the lake – including Como, Varenna, Bellagio and Menaggio, plus a day trip to Lugano (via the spectacular Parco Val Sanagra). However, the most enjoyable times were simply in and around the lake – especially to escape the mid-summer heat. At first we used the small beach at Acquaseria, before we discovered the idyllic cove at Rezzonico – well worth a visit.

We wish we’d had more time to walk all the narrow lanes around the village and if it wasn’t so hot we might have walked further afield & up the hillsides – a good excuse to return for another stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Lake!
Liked least: A bit too hot during a very hot summer.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitsmum1
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay.”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The house is full of character with amazing views in a village that gives you a taste of the real Italy rather than a hotel. Close to a great beach for paddling. We had our car so we're able to drive to Menaggio and Como. Also had a boat trip to Varenna and visited Villa Carlotta. Definitely want to go back again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley C
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We spent a week at Il Campanello. The owner, Kate, was extremely helpful both before and during our stay, booking a restaurant for us for the first night and letting us have lots of information on where the local shops were. The view from the property is amazing and we couldn't get used to waking up and seeing the lake each morning. We even had the perfect viewpoint to watch a firework display over the other side of the lake from our window one evening. The property is in the middle of the village and is just what you imagine an old Italian town to be like.
The property is small but it was plenty big enough for two adults and two teenagers. The only comment I would make is that they could really do with an extra lounge chair. Sitting comfortably, there is only really enough seating for three people - two on the settee and one in the rocking chair. This meant that one of us had to sit on a dining chair each evening, which wasn't the most comfortable. The property was also very warm when we arrived, but once we had opened the windows, which we left open (closing the shutters when we went out) during our stay, it cooled down and was fine.
Overall we had an amazing time. The property is in the perfect location for visiting the local sites (Menaggio is only five minutes by car) and the area is absolutely beautiful. There are also two lovely restaurants - Crème Caramel and Luigi's - a couple of minutes walk away.
The four of us really did have a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the property
Liked least: There was not enough lounge seating
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
Thanks Lesley, and we are glad you enjoyed your week. There is a wicker easy chair which is very lightweight and easy to move between the bedroom and sitting room as guests need. I imagine it was in the bedroom during your stay. There are also two loungers for outside and indoor use . Best regards., K
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing