We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We loved this villa”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Casa Fontana

The look out is the perfect spot to relax and enjoy the view.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The look out is the perfect spot to relax and enjoy the view.
The lake as viewed from the garden Dine inside or alfresco. Kitchen windows fold back so you can experience the outdoors indoors!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
The look out is the perfect spot to relax and enjoy the view.
The lake as viewed from the garden
Dine inside or alfresco. Kitchen windows fold back so you can experience the outdoors indoors!
The ground floor double (or twin if preferred) room
An alternative view first floor living room
The first floor living room has been beautifully appointed
The home is beautifully appointed throughout.
The lake as viewed from your private garden at dusk!
The main bedrooms feature zippable bedding to make twin or double beds
Wake up to glorious lake views
The lake as viewed from your home
Both main bedrooms feature ample wardrobe space
2 bathrooms with showers ( 1 en suite)
Two immaculately presented bathrooms
The stylish kitchen features all mod cons.
Third children's bunk bedroom
Relax in your private garden
Dine alfresco in your private garden.
The villa gardens in bloom!
By George! Somebody famous owns this Laglio lakeside villa.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Carate Urio, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Nelikus
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved this villa”
Reviewed 11 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

A fabulous property in fabulous Lake Como. We just loved this place. The rooms are clean, bright and so comfortable. The villa is kept to an excellent standard. The kitchen has every appliance, cooking utensil and equipment you can't think of. The cantina downstairs is lovely and very unique.
The Look- out is the jewel in this villa with spectacular views over the lake in all weathers and all times of day. Actually all of the rooms have a beautiful lakeside view!
In my opinion the stairs to this villa added to the uniqueness of my stay here and allowed me to indulge in additional treats without too much guilt! There is also an entrance to the villa with no stairs. The hosts were superb to deal with. We will certainly be booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, it's a lovely time of year to visit. We hope to see you back some other time of year.

Many thanks

Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paddy h
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“romantic wonderful beautiful”
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

this is real find for us. stayed in August and fell in love with Lake Como and especially Villa Fontana so returned for my Wife's Birthday.

loved it even more this time.

we miis it already and look forward to next year

Paddy and Ursula

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2015
Hi Paddy Thank you for your lovely words. Look forward to seeing you both back soon. Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoppy47Gl...
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastico!”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My wife, son and I have been most places in the world on holiday, but never Italy. We are so glad we chose this villa. It was everything the publicity claimed, and more. Superb accommodation and an incomparable view.

The villages of Carate and Urio we loved with their 6 cafes/restaurants: everyone with kind and indeed generous owners and staff. The food was magnificent, over an above the lashings of free canapes/snacks with EVERY drink! All at terrific prices.

We did not have a car. We do recommend the boats and trains but the local buses adhered to a timetable beyond our ken...

All in all a wonderful week despite the 2 rainy half days.

VILL CASA FONTANA IS THE BEST!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view!
Liked least: Hard to say
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2015
We are so happy you enjoyed our house and experienced Carate Urio just the way we do. It's great to know you discovered all the walkable 'eateries/drinkeries' and rate the public boat and bus services just as much as us. We look forward to having you and your family back sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely villa in nice town”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This was a really nice villa in a lovely quiet town on Lake Como. The town had 4 restaurants and another cafe bar all within 15 minutes walk. We loved the stay, so much to do in the surrounding area and a great villa waiting for you at the end of the day. Clean, beautifully furnished, modern kitchen, brilliant showers in the two shower rooms and a great garden for eating and chilling out. Amazing views over the lake, indeed the finest view from a toilet I've ever had!! The lookout room was the best bit.

Highly Recommended!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, the `view from the loo' is pretty special :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shrna
Orinda, CA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A relaxing, comfortable stay with great views of Lake Como”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We just returned from a week at Villa Casa Fontana and couldn't have had a better experience. The town of Carate Urio is small but friendly - the people at Cafe Aurora were helpful and the coffee and sandwiches were great. We especially loved Regina 131 - the food was very good and the service professional and friendly.

Helen was great with the details surrounding our stay, and Chiara was very helpful meeting us there and getting us settled. We got some staples at the mini-mart in Urio and some at the neighborhood shop in Laglio, with our big shopping done at Bennet's in Chernobbio.

We spent most evenings having pre-dinner cocktails in the Lookout or on the patio---both with great views of the lake. Stairs a little daunting at first, but we got used to them -- definitely not for the timid.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location, views, comfortable property
Liked least: The stairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2014
Hi there thank you so much for sharing your experience at our Italian holiday home. It is a great wee village. I justify my pasta/prosecco habit with the stairs! Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$152
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing