We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
68
74
43
20
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
74
43
20
21
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

stay here with a tour group for about a week Hotel was like okay, staff was pleasant accommodations were average to slightly above clean. Biggest negative: very small bathroom ( think cruise ship) and neighborhood a bit rundown not much going on.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank markworo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

I made a reservation with 40 days in advance, since i had a health problem in the family I contact the hotel to try a cancellation, even knowing that the reservation was non refundable. I know my rights as a consumer and one of those is to be treated decently. I got a very rude, indelicate and ironic answer. Staff should be more geltil with costumers.
I do not recommend.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank BiancaMenezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianni C, Direttore at Belsito Hotel Nola, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Well, just to be right.
You made reservation pre-paid, not refundable, than you asked to change reservation day (not cancellation!) with 40 days in advance for health problem.
You wrong, here our details:
1) your reservation is made for may 11 so you are asking to change it not 40 days in advance!
2) We reply you that it's not possible to change the reservation day because your reservation is pre-paid, not changeable.
3) you replyed immediately ok " I keep the same my reservation" and we remained very surprised about the health problem
you've just mentioned, we thought a miracle! You considered us "rude" only for our ironic reply, it's too much!
4) than you realized that you wrong also the month of reservation, you were interesting for june instead may. Just to help you we
confirmed the opportunity to change the reservation day for next month (for free!!) just to show you our cooperative soul and you left
this kind of feedback!
Well dear Bianca Menezes, we also don't recommend you all other hoteliers, you're really false!
Remember your reservation is confirmed only for may, you lost also the opportunity to change it for free!!
Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

You just wouldn't want to stay in this area anyway. Rooms are cold, poorly designed, cheap furniture... bad neighbourhood. Staff are pleasant enough but you wouldn't want to stay more than a night or two. Just, no.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

The hotel is nice, bedrooms are big and comfortables, dinners are amaizing and delicious, breakfast are quite great, but you can't order your tea, you have to wait in line for the coffee machine to get hot water for the tea. Bathrooms are small, bath is old and he view from the room is nice, it looks like yo were in Egyptian city, like Sharm-al Shaik.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ccgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

They hid information about the payment of the rooms, really disappointing experience, the reception guy yelled at us and didn't want to listen, we showed them a confirmation email from Booking.com about receiving an extra room without an additional fee. The guy at the reception just didn't listen and said he didn't care about our email although we booked our reservation through Booking.com, and we had to pay an additional 77 euros after being yelled at and insulted. To top it all of, the rooms were dirty the shower was without a cover, the door inside was peeling off etc... Overall Bad experience and we really went out of the hotel with an awful feeling.
I would really recommend you stay away

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Shai E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianni C, Direttore at Belsito Hotel Nola, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

They booked 2 quadruple rooms by booking.com. After they send us a message to ask that really they need 1 double room, 1 twin rooms and 1 quadruple room. We replyed that we have not availability for the third room, but we booked 2 family rooms each one with 2 separate rooms, 2 Tv and one bathroom, the best solution for this group of 8 persons. This kind of rooms, with this kind of bedrooms arranged just for them, it was considerd free of charge. When they arrived, they said at reception that there was 3 rooms booked for them. It was not true because the reservation was for only 2 quadruple rooms, so we said, please check the rooms booked for you, maybe it will be ok, if you need, it's available another room, but you have to pay for it because not included in your reservation. They preferred to use the third room, when the left the day after, we suffered to much to get money for this room. While we were speaking with them, somebody else of this group started to leave bad feedback on our facebook page and they continue today with Tripadvisor. The hotel was so nice when they arrived but became horrible the day after, when we asked the payment for the additional room used!! It's a sin there is not a "Tripadvisor" for the guests but only for the hotels or restaurant, this group will the competition very easy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews