We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super tasty food”

Rifugio Della Rocca - Ristorante
Reserve with
Rifugio Della Rocca - Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Calascio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Rifugio della Rocca offers a menu of traditional, local dishes, prepared with passion and love by our chef and respecting the traditions of Abruzzo. We always use local products, chosen among the best in the area, such as ricotta cheese made in Calascio, lentils from Santo Stefano, saffron from Navelli, the lamb meat and sheep from local breeders. The pasta is homemade, including our dishes: pappardelle with wild boar, ravioli filled with ricotta, chitarra with mushroom. Desserts are another specialty of our restaurant, very appreciated are the cake with spelt and almonds, and crostata with ricotta and chocolate or ricotta and cherries. There are always many choices of vegetarian dishes, and we are also ready to serve gluten-free meals.
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

We slept in the Rifugio and had dinner there as well, sublime pasta with wild pork and goat as a second dish. Very tasty food prepared very well!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank micheledC4867CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2018

We came back after a 1-year hiatus, and the restaurant is even nicer and friendlier. The staff managed to serve my 8y old his favorite dish (salsiccie) although it wasn't on the menu. Bravo!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank keewerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

Having eaten here a few times over the years, we were still entranced by the wonderful setting. The food was good, but maybe could have been a little better to match the setting. The lamb was more like mutton, for instance - but the wild boar dish was better. Difficult to be outstanding on top of a mountain - but it used to be just that. Still worth going though!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Emyr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We stopped here for a light lunch after mountain biking to the castle. We were well looked after and enjoyed a tasty chocolate flan. There’s an alpine feel to the place, high in the village overlooking the valley more than 1000 feet below

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch at this restaurant perched in the small village just below the Rocco Calasico castle which we had just visited. While there is an outside patio, we chose to eat inside the restaurant with its fireplace at one end and bamboo ceiling. The setting was like it was from a movie.

The meal did not disappoint either. We started with lentil soup which is a specialty of the area with the small dark lentils grown locally in the valley below. It was served with hard dense bread used to soak up the rich broth. We then had broad pasta noodles with wild boar Ina tomatoes based sauce with the full bodied house red wine which were both delicious.

Service was good and not at all rushed while we enjoyed this fantastic setting. If in the area this is a must combination - the visit to the castle to work up an appetite and a delightful lunch at this quaint restaurant

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank JDG56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rifugio Della Rocca - Ristorante also viewed

Santo Stefano di Sessanio, Province of L'Aquila
Santo Stefano di Sessanio, Province of L'Aquila
 
Calascio, Province of L'Aquila
Santo Stefano di Sessanio, Province of L'Aquila
 
Santo Stefano di Sessanio, Province of L'Aquila
Calascio, Province of L'Aquila
 

Been to Rifugio Della Rocca - Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing