We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful setting - good, though not wonderful, food”

Rifugio Della Rocca - Ristorante
Reserve with
Rifugio Della Rocca - Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Calascio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Rifugio della Rocca offers a menu of traditional, local dishes, prepared with passion and love by our chef and respecting the traditions of Abruzzo. We always use local products, chosen among the best in the area, such as ricotta cheese made in Calascio, lentils from Santo Stefano, saffron from Navelli, the lamb meat and sheep from local breeders. The pasta is homemade, including our dishes: pappardelle with wild boar, ravioli filled with ricotta, chitarra with mushroom. Desserts are another specialty of our restaurant, very appreciated are the cake with spelt and almonds, and crostata with ricotta and chocolate or ricotta and cherries. There are always many choices of vegetarian dishes, and we are also ready to serve gluten-free meals.
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

Having eaten here a few times over the years, we were still entranced by the wonderful setting. The food was good, but maybe could have been a little better to match the setting. The lamb was more like mutton, for instance - but the wild boar dish was better. Difficult to be outstanding on top of a mountain - but it used to be just that. Still worth going though!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Emyr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We stopped here for a light lunch after mountain biking to the castle. We were well looked after and enjoyed a tasty chocolate flan. There’s an alpine feel to the place, high in the village overlooking the valley more than 1000 feet below

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch at this restaurant perched in the small village just below the Rocco Calasico castle which we had just visited. While there is an outside patio, we chose to eat inside the restaurant with its fireplace at one end and bamboo ceiling. The setting was like it was from a movie.

The meal did not disappoint either. We started with lentil soup which is a specialty of the area with the small dark lentils grown locally in the valley below. It was served with hard dense bread used to soak up the rich broth. We then had broad pasta noodles with wild boar Ina tomatoes based sauce with the full bodied house red wine which were both delicious.

Service was good and not at all rushed while we enjoyed this fantastic setting. If in the area this is a must combination - the visit to the castle to work up an appetite and a delightful lunch at this quaint restaurant

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank JDG56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Stopped here while walking up to Rocco di Calascio. I had promised my wife and children a nice lunch as a reward for hiking up rather than taking the minibus. We weren't disappointed and there was something delicious for all tastes. Antipasto was good as were the pasta dishes. I had wild boar ragu with papardelle which was really tasty. Waiter spoke really good English and was really pleasant with kids. Only disappointment was that wild boar stew was off as I had been recommended this. When we arrived it was quiet at about 12:30 but 10 minutes later it was rammed and the staff were run off their feet. Great lunch stop and good value for a tourist location.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank fitboyscrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Still very attentive and personal service on a Sunday evening when the crowds of weekenders had cleared the field. The raviolis will always be remembered and set a new standard for me. Very reasonable prices. Next evening, the lamb and spinach for dinner joined into the perfect harmony of the place.
Hearing Paolo singing in the morning while preparing your cappuccino just makes your day. What a great work he has done with his family, restoring the village since they moved here in the early nineties and bringing it - and keeping it - alive!

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank 382papar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rifugio Della Rocca - Ristorante also viewed

Santo Stefano di Sessanio, Province of L'Aquila
Calascio, Province of L'Aquila
 
Santo Stefano di Sessanio, Province of L'Aquila
Calascio, Province of L'Aquila
 
Santo Stefano di Sessanio, Province of L'Aquila
Calascio, Province of L'Aquila
 

Been to Rifugio Della Rocca - Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing