We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One-day Cooking Experience”

Visconti Kitchen & Cooking Experience
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Chef Leonardo Visconti invites you into his kitchen and garden to enjoy a truly inspirational cooking experience while discovering the best of what the region has to offer. He will share with you the secrets of his culinary creations, using organic produce inspired by the seasons to make authentic traditional Italian dishes – his way!
Reviewed 22 September 2018

A wonderful day began with a visit to Leonardo and Jaynie’s kitchen garden from which the seven of us returned laden with produce for the day’s recipes. Hard to resist biting into those plum tomatoes on the journey back…

First we learnt to make pasta. Leonardo made it look so quick and easy (they do say practice makes perfect!) but we all created an authentic-looking dough, even if it did take us a little longer. Pasta tip of the day: if in a rush, just roll out the dough to the desired thickness, slice into strips and pinch pieces off to make rough pasta shapes called Spizzichi.

Now, a vegetable sauce for the pasta, using two priceless tricks of the trade: a basil cream and a garlic cream. Simple and spectacular sauces that can be used as a base for any number of others – your imagination is your guide – and are fabulous in their own right too.

Ricotta cheese was made before our eyes – and indeed with a little help from one or two of us under strict supervision - by a local lady who brought in 10 litres of milk obtained from her goats just a few hours earlier. Later we were shown how to make a traditional Ricotta and Chocolate Tart.

Melanzane (aubergine) Parmigiana was next on the list, made in layers with parmesan, mozzarella, grilled aubergine, and a mouth-watering sauce made from Leonardo and Jaynie’s own tomatoes. Then a break for lunch - our opportunity to relax on the restaurant terrace with its glorious mountain view, and enjoy the pasta, the Melanzane Parmigiana and some ricotta from the earlier demonstration.

Back to the kitchen to learn Leonardo’s Saffron Chicken – simple and unbeatably delicious, this is a must-know for those with a love of good food and no spare time! It gets my vote for the best dish of all, with the Melanzane Parmigiana coming a very close second. And yes, we have been able to make both at home – so not only was the day with Leonardo and Jaynie a hugely enjoyable experience in its own right - wonderful hosts! - but my partner and I have added some key dishes to our list of favourite things to cook.

Grazie Mille Leonardo e Jaynie!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SukeyWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2018

What a fun day! Leonardo & Jaynie made sure that whilst we learnt a great deal in just one day about the heart and soul of authentic Abruzzese food, we thoroughly enjoyed the experience too. We started with harvesting their own produce from their local gardens, and then returned to the beautiful restaurant to learn how to make (ourselves!) different types of pasta. Using some of the ingredients we had harvested earlier, Chef Leonardo shared some of his cooking secrets in the kitchen, producing some wonderful dishes. The best bit of all? We got to have a sumptious lunch, sampling our own culinary efforts, along with a selection of wonderful local wine. Fabulous experience - thoroughly recommended!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SanLucia2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

Leonardo & Jaynie were absolutely fabulous, the surroundings breathtaking, and the food sublime - even the pasta we made from scratch (Two types - egg pasta and a flour and water, with a little olive oil one)!
Grazie to you both for a very enjoyable lesson in how to make pasta.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sophie1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

We came already at end of the season, there were few guests. The owner Leonardo and his family are extremely nice people. The food was simply great, fresh ingredients and well prepared (we didn't try out many different things).
Service was quick and kind .The prices were moderate, for the rather small portions not cheap. all in all definitively an excellent dinner with nice view.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leonhard g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

This is a wonderful restaurant and a ‘must’ visit in Abruzzo that we enjoy visiting every time!

First, the location overlooking the beautiful valley with several medieval small towns in the horizon which you can admire from their ample terrace or from the indoor dining area. You will also marvel at the fantastic paintings made by family members of various generations of this family-owned restaurant.
Then, there’s the welcoming & warm hospitality & service of Leonardo & Janyie (she’s Canadian & lovely), his mother who along with Leonardo are the chefs preparing all the delicious dishes using only organic ingredients, most grown in their own organic garden (orto). Others ingredients & cheeses are sourced locally and wines are from the great Abruzzo wine regions of Chieti & Pescara.
For ‘bacala’ lovers, It is Friday’s specialty, cooked in so many ways, but all tasty & superb.
This is a place not to miss, you will definitely have a great dining experience! Can’t wait to be back.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Visconti Kitchen & Cooking Experience also viewed

Santo Stefano di Sessanio, Province of L'Aquila
Prata d'Ansidonia, Province of L'Aquila
 
Villa Sant'Angelo, Province of L'Aquila
Poggio Picenze, Province of L'Aquila
 
Poggio Picenze, Province of L'Aquila
Stiffe, San Demetrio ne' Vestini
 

Been to Visconti Kitchen & Cooking Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing