We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect getaway in a perfect location!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old House

Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance
Area in front of Kitchen Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Entrance
Area in front of Kitchen
Living room
Slate seat at back of house
Living room
Main bathroom
Front
Front
View from river at back of house
Back of House
Main Bedroom King 2 with ensuite bathroom
Main Bedroom 1 with ensuite bathroom
Living room
Kitchen
Main king  bedroom 2 ensuite
Private entrance
Open Loft
Ask us where the local gigs are.
River
Closed loft bedroom
He doesnt like dogs for some reason
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Carrick-on-Suir, County Tipperary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carl G
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect getaway in a perfect location!”
Reviewed 27 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Staying in the Old Cottage turned out to be an unforgettable experince that will surely have us return sometime in the future. The house in itself exceeded our every expectations and we felt at home as soon as we entered the front door. The large bedrooms, the generous main bathroom and the fireplace made the house feel luxurious without losing the feeling of being in the countryside. The location allowed for trips to Cork and to Kilkenny which is only 20 min away from the house.

I would recommend this house without hesitation to anyone considering at trip to Ireland.

Thanks for a great stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Med partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
1 review
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Just got back from our 10 day stay with family. 7 adult's and 5 children. What an amazing place!! Had everything there you could need and such a wonderful, quiet and peaceful location. Lots and lot's of things to do around the area. All the Lanigan family we met were so kind and friendly, and the family run pub in Kilkenny was excellent for good food and entertainment. Only one minor fault was there was no highchair :-(. Already saving for our return trip next year ;-) lovely lovely lovely place xx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“idillic get away”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

If you are looking a tranquil getaway in a stunning setting then look on fearther than this cottage at carrick on suir, the cottage is exquisite the owners a delight .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: there was no one thing that stod out all was of a good quality
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Plaines, Illinois
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beauty of the place, kitchen (including dishwasher), big enough for all of us
Liked least: We misunderstood & thought there would be twin beds for the boys. The couch was not comfortable.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nessa_Wil...
Sydney, Australia
3 reviews
“Absolutely brilliant”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed here whilst we were in Ireland for our wedding and found it an amazing place. The house itself is gorgeous with everything you would need - it's been done very well! Has that cottage feel but with all modern amenities on the inside. It's cosy and warm and really feels like a home. In fact, it really was a home away from home! I could have stayed even longer :) The grounds are lovely as well and we were blessed with beautiful weather to enjoy it. The owners were great to deal with, it was easy to find and in a perfect location for what we needed. We had a barbeque, walked around the grounds, soaked in the bathtub - the pictures of the place are great, but the reality is even better! Cannot recommend it enough and will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! Dream house, beautiful grounds... can I move there permanently?!
Liked least: Dead zone for some mobile carriers, we had to travel 10 minutes out if we needed to get in contact with anyone. No WiFi (dongle didn't help as we only had ipads!) but we bought a WiFi transmitter, recommended if you need internet
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$155
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing