We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (652)
Filter reviews
652 results
Traveller rating
392
112
65
53
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
392
112
65
53
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews function room wedding venue outdoor ceremony wedding reception bridal suite award winning quaint hotel old world from start to finish food was amazing wonderful wedding few drinks afternoon tea relaxed atmosphere beautiful grounds waiting staff course meal
Filter
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 652 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2015 via mobile

One of the worst places I have ever been .Went to a wedding there today the table settings were the tiniest I have ever sat at at no elbow room at all . Got chicken liver pate to start sent it back virtually untouched the most bland taste ever, had soup then it was delicious, then had steak , it was cold and my son ordered the lamb but had to wait half an hour because one of the children got his full portion and when his arrived it was only fat and grizzle. Not really what you would expect from a place that rates itself for weddings.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
7  Thank niallberns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2015 via mobile

The hotel was very quiet which you could expect this time of year..We had a lovely meal with a relative..food very good.. no phone signal or wifi coverage at all and you like to be contactable when you have teenagers..We went to our room to discover sockets weren't working so no tv, kettle, hair dryer and unable to charge phones etc..we contacted night porter and couldn't find the problem..said he'd leave message at reception..next morning they apologised and said we could have been moved to another room but that was not offered and they were waiting on electrician..we were one of 2 couples staying that night..they took the wine off the bill from meal the night before as a token of apology for inconvenience..disappointing visit..

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4  Thank Dara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

I had always heard how lovely the station house was so decided that we would try it out. Some of my cousins live in meath and the others Dublin. so we decided we would try the station house. We booked lunch and we weren't disappointed. The menu had so much to offer. The majority of us went for the lunch menu. There was plenty to chose from the starters, main and deserts. Each dish was nicer than the one before. The staff and the surrounds were just brilliant. Well worth a visit and we will certainly be back. Thanks station house for a lovely day.

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank jacqueliner735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2015

I attended a team off site trip at the Station House recently. Our group was approx 30 people and we travelled down the night before to start the off site with a team dinner. We had a section of the restaurant to ourselves and the dinner was superb. The food was fantastic quality, a lot of which is sourced locally in Meath we were told. I myself had the Station House smokies which were a perfect combo of creamy indulgence and healthy fish, followed by the venison which was rich and cooked perfectly. The conference the next day went off very well. The conference room was in the old train repair building.. Great character and a welcomed change to the bog standard conference rooms that we usually use. Facilities all fine with great wifi connection. We were lucky with a clear day so managed to do some team building exercises outside in the beautiful gardens and woods. I can see why this hotel is so famous for its weddings given the lovely surround. Lunch was perfect with home made soup and a lovely light cod dish. Staff lovely. All in all a very different but thoroughly enjoyable day and evening at the station house. Plus we got some work done! Will definitely return for a weekend soon.

Room tip: The signal box, so unique!
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2015 via mobile

Myself and the hubby stayed here for a well earned break away at the beginning of November. From start to finish it was amazing, we were so well looked after. From Denise who checked us in to all the waiting and bar staff, they couldn't have done more for us. The food was to die for and our bedroom was warm and cosy, made it a challenge to leave the next morning!!
All in all it was exactly what we were looking for to escape from the daily madness and relax. Thanks to all, we'll definitely be back!

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Eado1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-StationHH, Front Office Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2015

Dear Eado1
Thank you for your kind compliments in relation to your recent stay with us at The Station House Hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time with us.

It will certainly be our pleasure to welcome you back again sometime in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Denise Slattery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews