We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very pleasant bungalow that accomodates 6 people...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 'Iona'

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Games Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Games Room
The Royal Canal
Sheep on Farm
Spring Lambs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Enfield, County Meath

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Robert D
1 review
“Very pleasant bungalow that accomodates 6 people easily”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Kept very clean and tidy. We were looked after by owner, very attentive. Set in its own beuatifully kept garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Snooker table seen better days could do with replacing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2015
Thank you very much for reviewing "Iona" and for your positive remarks. Im very pleased that you enjoyed your stay inspite of the inclement weather. Hopefully we will see you again sometime. Thanks again. Best wishes Trudy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Iona is a fantastic place to stay so tranquil and relaxing. The house is immaculately maintained with plenty of room. The living room is so comfy with a touchscreen pc and internet.My girls loved the garden and as we had beautiful weather played games outside every night. I enjoyed morning runs on the scenic royal canal.
There are good shops nearby in Longwood, Enfield and Kinnegad. We had a delicious dinner at the Monastery Inn Clonard and Woks takeway Longwood good too. Aside from Tayto Park and Dublin Zoo do the Trim Castle tour really interesting history and the beautiful Belvedere House with stunning walks and lake.
Trudy was an excellent hostess and really went out of her way to make our stay so good. Highly recommended!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2015
Delighted you enjoy your stay at "Iona". Thanks for all the nice compliments and so pleased that your girls enjoyed the vacation. You were also pretty lucky with nice weather and that makes the great outdoors more enjoyable. Looking forward to seeing you again sometime. Best wishes, Trudy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location and lovely garden
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Jun 2015
So pleased to read that you all enjoyed your stay at "Iona". It was a pleasure having you to stay and your children are delightful. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back again at some stage in the future.

All the best Trudy and Paddy McGuinness
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
George S
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were so impressed from the moment we arrived, not just by the generous accommodation but by the thoughtful items left by Trudy, our host. We felt at home immediately and relaxed into our surroundings, revelling in the tranquillity of the outdoor surroundings.
Iona met our every need with comfy beds, a fantastic kitchen and laundry facilties well stocked. The gardens around the house are well maintained and great fun to play in!
We used the house as a base to explore the Meath and West Meath area and found lots to with our young son. We also found food easily available locally, well priced with generous portions.
A big thank you to Trudy and Paddy for their thoughtful information about the local area and also their hospitality during our stay. We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2015
Delighted you enjoyed your stay at Iona and Paddy and I were very pleased with your comments, thank you very much. Also, you were blessed with wonderful weather which was great. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again at some stage in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M
1 review
“Great peaceful house”
Reviewed 7 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Just back from a weekend with my family and have to say it was great and peaceful wonderful wee house and fantastic owner

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2015
Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us last weekend. It was a pleasure having you and I hope you will come again in the future.Thank you for your kind comments. Trudy McGuinness
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing