We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well set up, quiet location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 185- Castlemaine

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Castlemaine, Dingle Peninsula, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ratherbfi...
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Well set up, quiet location”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week in May. The house was easy to find with the directions provided - it is in a rural location, so you will have to drive a bit to get anywhere. There were no problems getting in, and everything with the house is pretty straightforward. It's a good location if you want to tour the Dingle Peninsula, Ring of Kerry and Killarney National Park. We did take a day trip up to the Cliffs of Moher, it's close to a 3 hour drive through Limerick, on the way back, we took the Tarbert Ferry and hit it right so there was little waiting - it shaved a 1/2 hour off the drive. But if you miss the ferry, it would be a 1/2 hour wait. There are several villages/towns you can hit within a 15 minute drive, Castlemaine is only 5 minutes away. We ended up going to Tralee and Killarney for most of our groceries. There are also lots of places within 10 minutes to eat at - there were a number of recommendations provided by the owner.

The house itself is very nice, the rooms are all well set up. There were just the 2 of us, but there would have been plenty of room for a family group as it's a 3 bedroom, so we didn't use the entire house. The kitchen is well stocked with dishes/glasses/cutlery/cooking utensils and so forth - more than enough. Large fridge and quality cooktop and oven. If we were going to come back we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

The only reason I gave it 4/5 and not 5/5 is because there is no WiFi (we talked with the owner and he mentioned it is in the works) and also it was a little bit inconvenient having to pay the electricity and oil costs on checkout. We've never had to do that before, usually it's built into the rental price, so I was keeping an eye on the meters trying to judge how much cash I would need to keep on hand so I would have enough on checkout. Not a big deal, just be aware there will be a bit of an added cost depending on how much power and oil you use. It was cool out for most of the week, so we turned on the heat - the combined cost for a week was about 65 Euros, though if we had left the heat on full time it would have been more, we just heated when we were there.

Shamrock Cottages also took care of our car rental from Shannon Airport. Their pricing was a bit better than anything I could find. We started in Dublin, took the train to Limerick and a bus to Shannon Airport and picked up the car there. We flew out of Shannon a week later. It's a nice airport, easy to get to and much quieter than Dublin.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very clean, well stocked.
Liked least: Utility Costs at the end / lack of wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LASSALLE...
Rennes, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The ideal place to stay in Kerry”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The location was perfect, just between the dingle peninsula and the ring of Kerry.
Our family really enjoyed this house, to begin with the warm greeting of Jerh, caring a lot about our comfort.
The house is spacious and cosy with everything necessary, and the garden is wide for children to play.
Our boys (13, 11 and 5) specially appreciated the sheep in front of the house and playing football around !
Surounded by nature and quietness, it is definitely a very relaxing place, and an unforgettable memory for us.
Thank you very much Jerh !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hearing the sheep in the morning and the extraordinary view
Liked least: There was no shade to have lunch outside on the table (it was very sunny when we were here !)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOleary44
maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful Stay”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I stayed in Castlemaine for one week in September 2013. Upon arrival, we were immediately taken aback by the amazing panoramic views. We were greeted by Jerh, owner of the house. He was accommodating of our every need and provided terrific insights on the sights we should see.

The house is in a terrific location to tour the Dingle Peninsula, Ring of Kerry and Killarney National Park.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home.”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We had a fantastic week at Jehr's cottage. It was perfectly set up for our family (3 grown sisters and my parents) with 2 downstairs & 2 upstairs bedrooms. The location is beautiful with a lovely view and easily accessible to beautiful destinations on Dingle & Kerry peninsulas. Jehr was so kind to spend time with us on the day we checked in, not only to orient us to the specifics of the house (a little tricky as American travelers in Ireland) but also to look at maps & recommend local sites & experiences.

Our only hitch was actually finding the cottage the first night, as the sign that was listed on the directions as a landmark had actually been removed, and there is no actual name on the lanes that go up the hill to the cottage. The distances on the directions were accurate, though, and that's how we found it in the end.

The value is unbeatable, I still can't believe how little we paid for a week of lovely accomodations. We hope to return and spend another week there in a few years, and will send friends who are looking for a great place to stay when traveling the Emerald Isle

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view & the location
Liked least: internet access would be a very nice addition, we did miss connectivity!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie E
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Castlemaine Delight”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What a superb find this cottage proved to be,every possible amenity together with a most welcoming and hospitable host Mr Jerh Murphy,look no further to find peace and quiet and easy access
to all the local must vists,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing
Liked least: Nothing to dilike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing