We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very good!”
other travellers have booked this property
The original fireplace, desks, roll books, and mod cons,combine old and new in the Old Schoolhouse.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The original fireplace, desks, roll books, and mod cons,combine old and new in the Old Schoolhouse.
The Old Schoolhouse Carrickfinn 
Carrickfinn's blue flag beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
The original fireplace, desks, roll books, and mod cons,combine old and new in the Old Schoolhouse.
The Old Schoolhouse Carrickfinn
Carrickfinn's blue flag beach
Sun shining in on the dining area of the Old Schoolhouse
Mezzanine has a little library of books, old and new and an old school desk.
Ireland's most iconic mountain, Mt. Errigal is climbed throughout the  year.
One of the 3 bedrooms (2 ensuite) in the Old Schoolhouse.
Artefacts include original fireplace, old school desks, pages from roll books, and school books.
Carrickfinn Boat Strand is ideal for small children, sheltered and safe.
Cruit Island golf course, other nearby courses are Gweedore, Dunfanaghy and Portnoo
Glenveagh Castle and National Park.
Boat trips available  to Aranmore and Tory islands.
West Donegal  is home to world famous musicians, Enya, Clannad, Altan and Daniel O Donnell
This photo of a snow covered Mt. Errigal was taken from  Carrickfinn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Annagry, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Zoe S
2 reviews
“Very good!”
Reviewed 6 September 2018 for a stay in July 2018

A nice cottage in a quiet spot and the beaches were great for the kids. Plenty of good walking/running around the cottage and not far to drive to shops and pubs. Good scones in the airport cafe!

The owners were very helpful and gave us loads of suggestions. Wouldn't hesitate to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2018
Thank you Zoe for your very good review. Delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and we would be delighted to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nififi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 6 September 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The old school house offers a home away from home experience . The hosts are very welcoming and knowledgable .The location close to beach is perfect with a new view around every corner on road into property . The house is equipped with everything needed . Beds are very comfortable and with two showers and a bath there is no queing required. We have enjoyed a few holidays here and will be back . A brilliant bonus this year was the addition of wi-fi essential when travelling with teenagers .
If you love this area the house is perfect come rain or shine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2018
Thank you Fiona for giving us this nice review. It is a bonus having WiFi in our self catering houses now, as it is the first thing our teenage visitors ask about when they arrive. Thank you for choosing our Old Schoolhouse to spend your holidays in beautiful West Donegal and it would be lovely to see you and your family again.
Kind regards
Cathal & Elma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Jul 2018
Thank you Jodie for giving us this lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in the Old Schoolhouse and enjoyed the beauty West Donegal has to offer.
We send our best wishes to you and your husband.
Cathal & Elma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
teresadev...
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Quiet haven”
Reviewed 8 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We had a great stay in the Old School House Carrickfin just after Easter. The house has 3 good bedrooms, 2 ensuite. The living room with an open fire was very homely
There was also a study space upstairs and a well equipped kitchen. Just perfect for our easter break
The surrounding area has beautiful walks
We thoroughly enjoyed everything

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2018
Thank you Teresa for this review. We appreciate very much you taking the time to do so. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in The Old Schoolhouse and hope we will see you again in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaClai...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous place for a great getaway!”
Reviewed 2 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Just spent the weekend in the Old Schoolhouse and can not recommend this place enough. Cahill and Elma were incredibly helpful with local knowledge and basically anything we needed. The house has everything you need to give it that home from home experience. The house was spotless when we arrived which was great. We were very lucky with the weather which always makes a Donegal beach the best place in the world to be. Just fantastic!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2018
Many thanks for your kind words. It was lovely meeting you all and hope that you will visit another time.
Best wishes
Cathal & Elma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing