We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Fabulous trip!

Dieter and Ay made a 7 day trip from Phuket to Koh Lipe a real treat. Knowledgable, considerate and... read more

Reviewed 12 August 2018
mysaddlebags
,
England, United Kingdom
A week with Colin sailing from Phuket to Krabi and back

We sailed the Andaman sea on board the Catamaran "Swift" and boy that was a good choice. Colin and... read more

Reviewed 20 April 2018
Vagelis V
Read all 125 reviews
  
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
115
8
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
8
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews koh lipe andaman sea great captain gracious hosts cruising experience captain colin ate fish relaxing holiday day trip amazing food phang nga bay scuba dive fantastic trip watermelon lunch and dinner an amazing experience catamaran
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

This review has been a long time coming - however it's here!!
We are a family of 4 - 2 kids 11 & 8 when we sailed. We had 5 nights sailing out of Phuket at the beginning of the season. We had an amazing quality family experience - we all felt very well catered for (Dieter has good wine selection capability!) with fantastic food cooked onboard, great conversations. Our kids totally loved the opportunity just to hang out and enjoyed everything Ay cooked. All in all it was a certainly an amazing experience and we can't wait to board again sometime soon.
Thank you so much Dieter & Ay

Thank Travelbysarsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieterdong, Owner at SY Nakamal Sail and Dive Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you Sharsha, this really is quite a surprise. It is very nice to hear that you did not forget your time with us after all this time and still write a review. Very much appreciated. and welcome back any time.
Dieter & Ay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

The week on the Mahayana with Steve and his crew was the last part of our trip of 8 months. And it was a great 'closing' trip.
Steve was really amazing with the kids, they still talk about him :). Endless energy and always in for some fun. We really recommend traveling with the Mahayana and Steve. Beautiful scenery and great company!!

Thank nanettedk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

It was a great 10-days sail over Mergui archipelago islands in Burma. G thanks to captain Colin and his charming Oiy! Her food is something. Swift is very comfortable catamaran. If you like virgin places, good food and reliable cap - "better call Colin" :-)

2  Thank Sergey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

We had a wonderful day trip on S/Y Mahayana. Steve, Capt Lee and Kaew made our day trip perfect. The boat is well maintained and clean. The food was also good especially our special dietary requirement was met well. In general, we were satisfied with Steve's hospitality and would like to sail again with Steve's S/Y Mahayana.

Thank Jaewu_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieter D, Inhaber at SY Nakamal Sail and Dive Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thank you for your good review Jaewu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

My partner and I spent 8 days on the catamaran Nakamal in February around the Similan and Surin islands on a private charter and it was truly lovely. Our skipper Dieter and his wife, Ay were very welcoming, knowledgeable and gracious hosts. Ay cooked the most delicious meals every lunch and dinner and Dieter always knew the best spot to moor the yacht for stunning sunsets and where and when to snorkel. They, together with the boat lad Ngay, were attentive to our needs and yet also gave us plenty of privacy - a difficult balance - which they achieved with ease. Our trip on Nakamal was the highlight of our holiday in Thailand. I even learned to paddle board thanks to Dieter and Ay. If you're thinking of having a holiday in Thailand then do consider chartering the Nakamal. It was amazing and I hope I get the chance to do it again one day.

Thank 578sonjaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews