We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious and comfortable house in lovely...”
other travellers have booked this property
Dining and Reading area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining and Reading area
The nearby Shannon Pot
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Dining and Reading area
The nearby Shannon Pot
River Shannon nearby
Marble Arch Caves
Kitchen and stairs
7' Slate pool table and home cinema surround sound
Nearby Lough McNean playground
Ground floor Bedroom
Front elevation
Ground floor wet room wheelchair accessible
Bedroom 4 ensuite
Clean air
Landing
Adjacent woodland
Lounge
Reading area
Balcony landing
Garden
Range cooker with double oven
Bedroom 4 ensuite
By Donegal bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Dowra, County Cavan

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bridget55...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spacious and comfortable house in lovely countryside”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed here with my three sisters and six children for a week in August. The house is located in a very quiet area a few minutes from Dowra. There are plenty of attractions for tourists not far from the property and lovely walks.

The House was extremely spacious and comfortable. Downstairs is a huge open-plan area with a very well-equipped kitchen and dining area, two sitting areas and a games room, with a pool table. The two sitting areas were great for a large group as children were able to watch TV if they wanted at night and adults sit and chat although we were all still together. We had a get together one night with our relatives - we cooked dinner for 20 and everyone had plenty of space.

We had a very enjoyable week here. The owner was very helpful when I had a problem with my car on the last day and gave me a phone charger when I managed to break mine.

Have been meaning to write this review for ages and when looking at the house again for next year saw the previous review and cannot reconcile this with our experience. Everything was clean and comfortable and the owner couldn't have been more helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness
Liked least: wi-fi was intermittent
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verdigo10...
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible experience and terrible attitude”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in June 2014
7
people found this review helpful

Booked what we thought would be a lovely house for our family to visit friends and relatives in Dowra. On arrival what met our family was simply shocking- a smelly, dirty and unsafe environment for our young children.

The house itself could have been great, it had everything we needed. Most important for us was the big open dining/family space.. But it was simply awful. The floors were filthy, the bed linen was stained with obvious body odour. The cupboards, fridge and kitchen bin again were absolutely filthy and foul smelling. Even the couch was dirty with cocktail sticks stuck to it. Immediately outside the back door were broken tiles in piles - which should have also been removed before our arrival. The downstairs toilet also had faeces around the toilet rim, and all three toilets smelt of urine. The galleried balcony on the first floor in my opinion was also unsafe, with some movement. The grounds were also unsafe, very overgrown and unkept- incredibly different from the pictures online.

We called the owner with the many problems we had, and he sent the cleaners boyfriend back to the house. He apologised and agreed with us, but made no offer to clean the house to an acceptable standard. So we again called the owner and he was even more apologetic this time, and seemed generally sorry for our experience of his house. At that point he did not offer to clean the house again, so we asked for a full refund which he said he would organise. We were than left with trying to find alternative accommodation during a music festival, but the house was that bad we really had no choice!

The refund never materialised, so I contacted him on my return to the UK. His tone was completely different, he was rude and aggressive. As we had spoken to friends and relatives about our experience local to his house, he said he had no intention of refunding our money nor would he speak with me anymore. Once I involved holidaylettings, he claimed he offered as alternative accommodation whilst he sent a “team of cleaners” to the house. The only truth in that was that a “team of cleaners” were needed to bring the house inline with what was advertised.

I am very sure that the house has now been cleaned after our complaint, but let’s hope that no one else needs to experience the poor management/cleaners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: leaving
Liked least: the owner
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M
Antrim, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation in a peaceful location”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Large open plan accommodation that comfortably sleeps 8/9. Very quiet location that is ideal for a relaxing break. The village of Dowra is only 3 miles away with a well stocked Spar and 2 quiet pubs both with friendly staff. The house has everything you would need but don't rely too heavily on the Wifi which is very hit and miss, although this is to be expected in such a remote location. In a nutshell I can't think of anything negative to say and would certainly recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large open plan accommodation in a remote location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
666GerryC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable Place to Stay”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Old School House is spacious and comfortable and reasonably well equipped for a party of 9 including 5 adults and 4 teenage children. It is in a very quiet location, but not too far from shops by car, about 10 minutes into Dowra.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Space
Liked least: Crockery needs to be replaced and the Wi-fi is limited
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PurpleIri...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location & a good space”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The setting was beautiful and the property has lots of space, books, games & hot water! However, there was some unfinished work around, like lights, plugs & network points that were still being installed. It was hard to childproof for a one year old. The wifi was great, but the entertainment system in the pool room was not really operational, which was a pity. We did enjoy the Trivial Pursuit though! A few more instructions about how to do the recycling etc. would also have been handy. We did have a scheduled power cut while we were there, but the owner informed us very promptly and was also very quick to respond when it reset the heating timer to help us fix it back to normal. All in all, we had an enjoyable stay, and would recommend it for a good base to visit all that Cavan and Fermanagh have to offer. Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of hot water & lovely setting
Liked least: A lot of things unfinished, like electrical work etc.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2014
Thank you for your honest review, and I would like to respond to some of the issues raised. I had intended to install a cat 6 computer network throughout the house but with the advent of the wifi technology I opted for the wireless network. To tidy up the loose ends I will fit blanking plates to all the redundant data and lighting points. In relation to the Nintendo Wii and home cinema system I will include an instruction sheet for the operation of both systems connecting to the LCD TV. Additionally I will provide written instructions for the heating system and describe the various controls relating to the solar panels. I appreciate your observations and hopefully the above actions will address some of the issues you have raised.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing