We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 3 812
Breakfast included
Priceline
Agoda.com
R 3 812
Breakfast included
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (409)
Filter reviews
409 results
Traveller rating
271
96
23
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
271
96
23
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool deck unique experience course dinner elephant sanctuary both nights forest monkeyland trees treetops platter lodge tranquil heaven animals plettenberg
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 409 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2023

Trogon House is quite simply a magical place to stay. A stunning boutique accommodation perched up in the trees with incredible views, luxurious rooms and wonderful food.
The excellent Elephant Sanctuary and Monkeyland next door were brilliant 'Things to do'. Would highly recommend a stay here.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mrdanmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2023

Very different to other places we have stayed. Really enjoyed it. We were exhausted after long journey but within half an hour felt relaxed and chilled. Staff were lovely . Ate in for the three nights we were there and were impressed by the lovely food, two nights were by a roaring fire and one outside. A really good start to our holiday and would certainly recommend.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 February 2023

Horrible experience! Don’t go, waste of your money!

Upfront everything seemed fine, we were contacted by the hotel via whatsapp to inform us of the loadshedding and asked us if we’d like to have dinner in the hotel. Also some useful instructions on how to reach the hotel which is located in the middle of a dense forest, after a slippery, narrow and steep road which is by no means safely accessible without a 4x4 in rainy conditions.

When we arrived the premises looked completely abandoned, no guests to be seen, no one behind the reception desk. When we arrived in the lobby a guy stepped from behind a wall welcoming us. No formalities whatsoever, he got the key and walked us straight to our room (no. 3).

Immediately when I entered the room it smelled horrible, musty. The room didn’t look all that great, filthy carpet, bathroom had know beter days. Windows did not open or close properly, no easily accessible wall plugs. Everything felt damp. Sheets yellowish, although they should have been white. Stinky towels, stains in the bed.

After sitting on the terrace next to the murkey pool under a ripped parasol my friend and I decided we didn’t want to stay any longer. We put our luggage back in the car, handed over the key and told the receptionist the hotel was by no means what we expected. It was absolutely not worth the money we unfortunately already payed before arrival (EUR 140 for one night!) and left for the beautiful, cozy and clean Barrington Hotel in Plettenberg which also was much cheaper.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 May 2022 via mobile

Very nice location. Friendly staff. Good food. Basically all that is required for a quick breakaway.
Prices on wine the best I have seen on travels. Quality selection!
Only issue is the access road if you are travelling with a lowish vehicle. Plan ahead for this.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mva2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2022

This breathtaking lodge with beautiful pool deck overlooking the treetops is literally the best place I have ever stayed at. Nestled in the forest with tree views punctured through the walls in the rooms and bathrooms make this place a cocoon for the soul. The landscape valley views from lounge and pool deck are priceless. From cleanliness to staff to food, it was simply outstanding with superb location near plettenberg berg bay and animal sanctuaries. Our car overheated as we arrived and Carol and staff went above and beyond to help get us transport. Carol we hope to see you and your friendly staff again now that we have discovered this tranquil, rejuvenating and mesmirizing viewscape. It literally felt like a doorway to heaven! If you want to enjoy a unique experience away from crowds, that is just exquisite, pull off the N2 and go to Trogon House and Spa.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ChalineChurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews