We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 2 772
Breakfast included
Priceline
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (409)
Filter reviews
409 results
Traveller rating
271
96
23
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
271
96
23
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool deck unique experience course dinner elephant sanctuary both nights forest monkeyland trees treetops platter lodge tranquil heaven animals plettenberg
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 409 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2022

This breathtaking lodge with beautiful pool deck overlooking the treetops is literally the best place I have ever stayed at. Nestled in the forest with tree views punctured through the walls in the rooms and bathrooms make this place a cocoon for the soul. The landscape valley views from lounge and pool deck are priceless. From cleanliness to staff to food, it was simply outstanding with superb location near plettenberg berg bay and animal sanctuaries. Our car overheated as we arrived and Carol and staff went above and beyond to help get us transport. Carol we hope to see you and your friendly staff again now that we have discovered this tranquil, rejuvenating and mesmirizing viewscape. It literally felt like a doorway to heaven! If you want to enjoy a unique experience away from crowds, that is just exquisite, pull off the N2 and go to Trogon House and Spa.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ChalineChurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2022 via mobile

Trogon House is a stunning lodge nestled into the forests of The Crags. The accommodation and location are beautiful, and the staff, Marcus, Wonderful, the manager/owner Carol among others were equally as amazing! We were always greeted by friendly, smiling faces from the staff there
The morning breakfasts were delicious and consisted of a granola yoghurt starter, then followed by a cooked breakfast which for us was a choice between a Full English Breakfast or an omelette.
They offer snack platters and a limited bar menu with some beers, spirits and wines.
The rooms are beautifully designed and decorated and depending on which room you have you will look out into the forest or valley through big glass windows.
One recommendation would be to either have an A/C or a ceiling fan in the room as it gets very stuffy with the humidity. There is a fan provided in the closets however it needs to be plugged in an propped up on a table somewhere in the room.
We also booked a couples massage which was unbelievable, and would definitely recommend, no background music is needed when you've got the beautiful sounds of the forest all around you.
The lodge offers a 3 course dinner at an additional cost however we were out in the evenings both nights so didn't eat there, however I'm sure the dinners are just as good as their breakfasts.
Would definitely recommend Trogon to anyone staying in the Crags and looking for a relaxing getaway!

Room tip: It's a long windy narrow road down past the Monkeyland sanctuary to the lodge. Monkeyland next door is highly recommended.
Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 890darrynt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2022

Tremendous experience, very accomodating and friendly staff. Breakfast simply delicious and made according to requirements. Dinner good, fish slightly over cooked. Spa experience, platter and champagne beyond enjoyable. The accommodation was really great, however, pool needs a good clean

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 108chandab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2021

WOW, WOW, WOW, Ever been so wowed in your own Country! I finally realized there's no need to travel outside our beautiful country after visiting this Forest spa Lodge, This experience has been once in a lifetime. STAFF!!!! you made our stay so over the moon, so friendly helpful, just a call away and they at your door, weather its to top up your rooms wood for the fire place, weather its 10PM at night and you order a platter to nibble on, I have never experience such freedom in the forest as I did during this stay, HONEYMOON SUIT Room 5!!!!! bath, shower, relax all in the open private space, learn to find yourself, P.S i even forgot my favorite pajamas there OOPS, and just a phone call away they have post net to post net it to me XXX does our country still have People and places like this? the answer is YESSSS!!!! We will sure visit this Spa i can write so much more, the Jacuzzi, the morning breakfasts on the deck with the birds singing and monkeys playing, It can go on and on and on, HIGHLY RECCOMMENDED :-) Loved every second of the mstay

Room tip: ROOM 5 a must private experience in the forest away from the rest, no GUESTS allowed down you private staircase
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fearless400702
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 September 2021

Great setting right in the forest. No curtains on the windows as you are in the forest with no-one able to look in. Even the shower and toilet has a forest view. Rooms 1 and 2 are part of the main reception area so could be disturbed by the kitchen, guests, reception phone calls? The lounge, dining and pool area are very good with enough space for everyone. The wifi does not reach rooms 3 & 4, and cell phone reception was also not great (could be service provider dependent? The included breakfast was okay, nothing too special. The dinner was a bit cold and home cooking style. We managed to get a half price special, not sure we would have been happy to pay full price. There is a great walk down to the river (very steep back up though!). Very close to Monkeyland, Birds of Eden and Elephant Sanctuary.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews