We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable experience!!”

Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$64,86*
and up
Cheetah Walk and Wild Cat Experience
More Info
US$42,27*
and up
Wild Cat Photographic Tour
More Info
US$16,76*
and up
Wild Cat Experience Tour
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in The Crags
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Tenikwa grew from humble beginnings in 2002 when the owners started rehabilitating injured birds in a wooded shed behind their house. Today Tenikwa has grown to be one of the largest active Wildlife Rehabilitation Centres in the Western Cape, attending to a diverse variety of animals accepting both terrestrial and marine mammals and birds. Rehabilitating injured and abandoned Wildlife with the goal to release them back to the wild. Our centre rescue, rehabilitate and release between 250 - 450 wild animals annually. We work closely with nature/conservation authorities in our area, CapeNature, SANParks, BirdLife, and SANCCOB. Our Awareness Centre ensures that our Rehabilitation facilities are sustainable, funding the rehabilitation work and to raise awareness of the conservation issues in South Africa, Tenikwa offers various, programs throughout the day, catering for all ages and fitness levels with a focus on providing a conservation-based, informative tour. Guests learn about the indigenous wild cats of South Africa and why they are disappearing from our landscape.Species include African Wild Cats, Serval, Caracal, Cheetah, Leopard and Lions. The Tenikwa encounter is a great follow-on to a game reserve / safari experience; from viewing the cats at a distance to the opportunity to study these beautiful animals at close quarters. Tenikwa also has a Meerkat Meander where visitors can see Meerkats and Tortoises and there is also a variety of indigenous waterfowl, Blue Cranes and Marabou Storks to delight bird watchers. Tenikwa supports the upliftment of local communities through Eco tourism and is environmentally responsible. Entrance fees fund Tenikwa's NPO Wildlife Rehabilitation and Release Programme. Open 365 days a year. Amenities include a Tea Garden for light meals, Parking, Wheel-chair Friendly, Mothers Corner
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 28 June 2017

Tenikwa Wildlife Centre is a unique experience. We did the Cheeta walk with our guids Mfundo, Joel and Msizi. Special thanks to this guys, who gives so much love to the animals and their job. They make time for you to answer all your questions.

You don't have a 'zoo feeling', because the animals whill raise up as natural as possible. It is definitely worth your money, and you help them to grow the rehabilitation programs of the facility.

Thank you Tenikwa!

Martin & Michelle (31/05/17)

Thank MartinvanderVijver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1 518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 107 of 1 518 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our visit to Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre where we were made aware of how some of the sick or injured wild animals were rescued, rehabilitated and then released back to the wild.

It was an enriching tour as well as a thrilling one as we came up close to see African storks, blue cranes, Caracals, servals, meerkats, leopards, lions and even went with the guide into an enclosure where 2 cheetahs were. What an awesome experience! I highly recommend this tour!

Thank MiriamChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandyFreeman_Tenikwa, Owner at Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Hello Miriam, thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your visit to Tenikwa. We are glad that you enjoyed the tour and were made aware of the rehabilitation work that we do - ensuring that wild animals have a place to go when they are injured, and especially to afford them the opportunity to get better and return to the wild where they belong. Enjoy the rest of your visit to South Africa and we hope you return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

We arrived for the last tour of the day and were greeted by the friendly staff. They set us up and our guide Peter took over from there. Peter did a great job explaining things and answering all the questions we were asking. We got to enter all the cat areas we wanted except the Cheetahs, which we were most excited about. It was feeding time so no one was allowed to go into the are where they were. This was pretty disappointing for us. I wish we would have been made aware of this upon purchase of our tickets. We had asked the front desk about it and they assured us we would be able to go in to all the areas to spend time with the animals. We do not want to disturb the animals and would have gladly waited until the next day to do the tour.

1  Thank CloudPotatoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandyFreeman_Tenikwa, Owner at Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Hello and thank you for your review. It is unfortunate that you did not experience the cheetahs up close as that is one of the special parts of the Wild Cat Experience Program. Thank you for bringing it to our attention so that we can address it. At times, for obvious safety reasons, we do not allow guests in the enclosure, such as feeding times, or if the cats are not out and about and visible at the time of visiting that particular species, but in this case, it is normal practice for the guide to double back to the enclosure at the end of the tour. If you are still in the area, or are passing this way again, you are most welcome to visit us and redo the tour on a complimentary basis. We appreciate your support. Regards Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

When staying in Plettenburg Bay in February 2017 we found details at our guest house of this reserve that was situated in the Craggs area just a short drive from Plettenburg Bay. We were interested in the reserve after reading about the efforts they make to rescue and recuperate wild cats and other species.

We were guided around the reserve by Peter who was both very interesting, knowledgable and passionate about the animals in his reserve. Peter guided us around and talked in depth about the cats (both large and small) and other animals he clearly enjoyed his work and seemed very dedicated to the conservation of African wildlife.

On the walk we were taken into the pen with the Servals which are not a small cat, whilst one of them hissed at me a fair bit I did not feel in danger as Peter was very cautious in how we approached, they are also used to a certain amount of human interaction. The end of the tour when we were taken in the cheetah enclosure was the highlight for me and something i will never forget, being within touching distance of such a beautiful creature is truly special.

This is a great experience and a great example of conservation and education, I would recommend a visit to anyone and if i return to the area would go back again. Make sure that you see the Meerkats too, very amusing.

Thank mark_hodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Our guide Ash gave us an a truly informative tour. The tour was amazing all the animals were love and give real tender care Sick animals are also cared for here. It is a must see if you are an animal lover.

Thank Glenys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
 
The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
 

Been to Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing