We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing Morning Walk with the Cheetah Duma "Thunder"”

Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$64,86*
and up
Cheetah Walk and Wild Cat Experience
More Info
US$42,27*
and up
Wild Cat Photographic Tour
More Info
US$16,76*
and up
Wild Cat Experience Tour
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in The Crags
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Tenikwa grew from humble beginnings in 2002 when the owners started rehabilitating injured birds in a wooded shed behind their house. Today Tenikwa has grown to be one of the largest active Wildlife Rehabilitation Centres in the Western Cape, attending to a diverse variety of animals accepting both terrestrial and marine mammals and birds. Rehabilitating injured and abandoned Wildlife with the goal to release them back to the wild. Our centre rescue, rehabilitate and release between 250 - 450 wild animals annually. We work closely with nature/conservation authorities in our area, CapeNature, SANParks, BirdLife, and SANCCOB. Our Awareness Centre ensures that our Rehabilitation facilities are sustainable, funding the rehabilitation work and to raise awareness of the conservation issues in South Africa, Tenikwa offers various, programs throughout the day, catering for all ages and fitness levels with a focus on providing a conservation-based, informative tour. Guests learn about the indigenous wild cats of South Africa and why they are disappearing from our landscape.Species include African Wild Cats, Serval, Caracal, Cheetah, Leopard and Lions. The Tenikwa encounter is a great follow-on to a game reserve / safari experience; from viewing the cats at a distance to the opportunity to study these beautiful animals at close quarters. Tenikwa also has a Meerkat Meander where visitors can see Meerkats and Tortoises and there is also a variety of indigenous waterfowl, Blue Cranes and Marabou Storks to delight bird watchers. Tenikwa supports the upliftment of local communities through Eco tourism and is environmentally responsible. Entrance fees fund Tenikwa's NPO Wildlife Rehabilitation and Release Programme. Open 365 days a year. Amenities include a Tea Garden for light meals, Parking, Wheel-chair Friendly, Mothers Corner
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 21 June 2015

Had the low season luxury of what turned out to be a private bush adventure. It was fantastic. Just remarkable. Spent about 90 minutes with Mthobisi, Sizwe and Patrick; 3 superbly gracious, careful, knowledgeable guides and Duma. Soon after starting the "hike", I realized the Cheetah was walking us not the other way around. I would have never imagined in all my years I would do something that would connect me with our natural environment in such a personal way. The 3 guides deserve a lot of praise ad a raise from the owners of the Centre. They truly exhibited a lot of love and care for these wondrous animals and made my experience absolutely unforgettable. Well done guys and thanks Tenikwa!

Thank Silkwilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandyFreeman_Tenikwa, Manager at Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2015

Hi

Thank you for reviewing us. We love getting positive feedback like yours. I will make sure Mthobisi, Sizwe and Patrick see your review. Our guides spend most of their day with our Cats and relationships has been built that shines through when they take guests out on tour :)

Our Cheetahs love their time out during their walk, as you mentioned " They walk you" Its an all natural experience for them going out and exploring their territory, they basically just allow us to tag along...

I trust we will see you again in future.
Travel Safe.

Kind Regards
Steven Hendriks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1 518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

725 - 729 of 1 518 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2015 via mobile

I booked the full day "Crazy Cat" experience and can't recommend it highly enough! It was such an incredible day. The staff are so dedicated to the welfare of the animals in their care. On the full day experience you get to go behind the scenes and get up close and personal with the animals. I really enjoyed my day at the centre and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to those interested in knowing more about wild animals.

Thank SingleMindedExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandyFreeman_Tenikwa, Manager at Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2015

Hi

Thank you for taking the time to write this positive review.
We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your experience at Tenikwa. Most of our guides have been at Tenikwa since the start so the cats have spent most of their lifes with them. The guides are passionate about all our animals. It is most important to us that guests leave Tenikwa informed and educated on the struggles Wild Cats face out in the wild and from your review I am pleased that you agree...

Hope to see you again in future.
Travel Safe.

Kind Regards
Steven Hendriks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2015

Walked with Cheatahs...fantastic
Run well and take in orphaned and abandoned animals
Guides are knowledgable and encourage questions
Saw my first Honey Badger here but they have caracal and lions African Wild Cat and many more
Well worth a trip

Thank 121susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandyFreeman_Tenikwa, Manager at Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2015

Hi Susan

Thank you for your wonderful review and letting us know about your experience at our centre. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your visit and that you support our cause and what we stand for... Helping those(animals) who cannot speak nor help themselves is very important to us.

Travel safe and we hope to see you again in future..

Regards
Steven Hendriks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2015

Friends had recommended this experience to us, so we booked an afternoon combo experience. The goal of our guide was to educate us on various aspects of the cats that they have. I about flipped when we went into the big cage with 2 lion cubs! And then took cheetahs for their afternoon walk! We always felt very safe and had 4 guards with us all the time. Haven't had a chance to look at the pictures we took, but they will certainly bring back great memories of this special afternoon with the very able Tenikwa staff... Jacob, Patrick, Mthobisi and Sizwel !!!

Thank sara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandyFreeman_Tenikwa, Manager at Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2015

Hi Sarah

Wow thank you for your wonderful feedback. Your review is a great read.
The Lions are amazing and you will not believe how fast they grow. We build that large enclosure for them so that they would have ample space to roam through when they are adults.. Thank you for the wonderful feedback on our guides, they are extremely passionate about or animals and ensuring that guests leave our centre informed. We would love to see your photos too :)

Travel safe, hope to see you again in future..

Regards
Steven Hendriks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2015

An incredible experience to see the big cats and walk with the cheetahs. We did a sunset walk/big cat combo tour, and we were the only two on the tour which made for a great experience.

None of the cats are drugged, and they are very well loved and respected by the staff there. All of the cats are beautiful but the lion cubs stole my heart!

My only minor criticism is of the video you must endure before the wild cats part of the tour. It's cheesy, aimed to make you feel guilty and is unnecessary. The second video you watch before the cheetah walk is less cheesy and contains useful information about the walk.

Thank Liz915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandyFreeman_Tenikwa, Manager at Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2015

Hi Liz

Its a wonderful review, thank you for taking the time to write it. Yes you are right the lions are little heart thief's, they stole ours too. Our guides work with our animals everyday and they reflect their passion for them through the way they guide their tours.
With regards to the video, you are not the first person that feels like you do,. The goal of the videos are to create awareness regarding the struggle wildlife have due to the impact of habitat loss, hunting trade etc. We are in the process of changing it to create a better message..

Hope to see you again in future..

Regards
Steven Hendriks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
 
The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
 

Been to Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing