We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveller rating
157
185
40
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
185
40
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location the ground floor home away from home small hotel business trip mrt station min walk buffet breakfast convention center central location visit taipei noise clubs cinema shopping amenities gym
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 393 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2018

I have been to this hotel for couple of times and stayed for months together.
I would never be board in this hotel as this is in the heart of the city and u just step out of the room you are in party destination.

Hospitality in the restaurant is amazing, the collection of alcohol in the dining area will freak you out.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SupreetA11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

The staff were polite, thoughtful and helpful, while the rooms were stylish and clean. The buffet breakfast was simple but good in general. The hotel has allergy-friendly rooms. Great location; only a few minutes walk from the local subway station and close to various shopping centres where one can easily find different restaurants. Also close to Taipei 101 and the popular Eslite bookstore, and only about 20 minutes away (by foot) from popular tourist attraction, the Dr. Sun Yat Sen Memorial

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MarcusC2269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berthsu, 前廳部經理 at Home Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Dear Marcus C,

Warmest greeting from Home Hotel.
Thank you for taking your time to write us feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Also, it is a pleasure that you notice our allergy-friendly rooms. We now has expanded our allergy-friendly rooms to serve more guests who require this service or enjoy this type of room. Next time if you like our pure floor, you can directly book with us.
Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope that you'll return for a renewed experience.

Sincerely,

Cindy Liao
Front Office Assistant Manager
NO PLACE LIKE HOME

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Pleasant small hotel very central. Clean, nice breakfast, pleasant staff.

Only issue was we had a room (on the 7th floor) above "in-house" bar. Music was thumping away at 1.30am Friday night and didn't stop until about 3am. This despite speaking with the front desk staff.

Saturday night much less of an issue so I can only say stay here any day except Friday and/or get a room in a very high floor not on the same side of the building as the bar.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Glyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berthsu, 前廳部經理 at Home Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Dear Glyn T,
First and fore we would like to thank you for taking the time to write us feedback.
We are sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the noise outside and we have also been negotiating with the night clubs in order to lower the volume as much as they can. But apparently it fails your expectation. Please kindly request higher floors for the next time you book a room, we will do our best to assign your room on higher floors. Sorry for the inconvenience it has occurred.

Best regards,

Cindy Liao
Front Office Assistant Manager
NO PLACE LIKE HOME

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

The Home Hotel is strategically located in the heart of the bustling Xinyi District in Taipei, surrounded by excellent opportunities for retail therapy of various types, excellent eateries and with neighbouring convenience stores and tasty bakeries to allow stocking up with goodies for in-room munching, there is something here for everyone. The hotel is very popular with families, and is extremely family-friendly, so be prepared for lots of lovely kiddies!! The famous 101 Building, the World Trade Center and the Taipei Convention Center are all a ten-minute walk away, so that makes the Home Hotel and excellent choice for those participating in any trade show or convention.
The Hotel’s motto is “There’s No Place Like home”, and the staff really work hard to make that as much of a reality as possible. The front desk staff were constantly helpful, smiling and courteous. The rooms were maintained spotlessly and were really comfortable with excellent internet access. The one small personal niggle was that the room temperature was preset to 24°C, whereas for sleeping I really like 20°C so that I found it too hot after a while under the very soft duvet. That aside, the amenities were very comprehensive and in keeping with the eco-friendly philosophy of the hotel, the shower gel and shampoo were dispensed in large pump-type bottles. Both were of very high quality however, with a pleasant, mild ‘aromatherapy’ type scent.
Breakfast comprised a buffet-style selection of mostly Asian food, but with copious amounts of fresh fruit of all kinds. The conveyer-type toaster worked well, heating the bread evenly on both sides (not always the case!), but required putting the bread through twice to get toast versus hot bread. The waiting staff were extremely helpful, cheerfully finding me fresh lemon slices for my tea, both of which they brought automatically after my second morning. The buffet was kept well-stocked, and allowed a leisurely breakfast or a swift pass-through, whichever one wanted, with bottomless juice, tea and coffee, the latter being dispensed from a machine that ground the beans freshly for a good selection of coffee species.
Breakfast was served in the hotel bar, which, with the name Marsalis Home Bar,becomes a jazz-flavoiured restaurant and bar, opening at 19:00. A grand piano and full drum kit dominate the back wall of the bar, and are used with great expertise by obvious experts on Wednesday nights. On Other evenings there is a steady background of jazz lounge style music which segues into pleasant standards as the evening becomes night. The bar has one of the best selections of top-range single malt Scotch whisky in all the bars I have frequented (and that’s quite a few), and the gantry behind the bar has a wonderful selection of makings for any cocktail you choose, perfectly mixed, shaken or stirred by the knowledgeable bar staff.
If you want something less formal in the hotel, and somewhere that serves food all during the day, there is the boutique-style Qafe Room on the first floor which also serves the same menu as the restaurant/bar but on an all-day basis, in addition to beer, basic cocktails and soft drinks of all kinds, hot and cold. The lovely and cheerful server who was there every day I was staying at the hotel (Emma, perhaps?) made me a complimentary freshly-squeezed apple juice one day. Yes, the staff here, and all through the hotel, were fantastic … sunny and very hard-working: the Qafe has an outdoor decked area where one can sit and watch the Taipei world go by. The hotel Concierge desk is also in the Qafe, so on arrival you can start to experience the great hospitality and servce offered by the Home Hotel.
For those who are ex-pat Brits or Aussies, or actually for anyone wanting great food and drink at very reasonable prices. The Brass Monkey (did you guess it might have been founded by some members of the Taipei Rugby Club and friends?) is a sports-style bar, but the menu has a grat blend of the standard ex-pat oldies and goodies, but with a nice fusion with Asian goodies as well. The bar staff are super friendly, and it made a really nice change for me with a good serving of culinary and potable nostalgia.
In short, the Home Hotel is a great place to stay, central and good value for money. I shall be staying there again on my next business trip to Taiwan, but I will try and squeeze in an extra day or two, just to enjoy the hotel to the full. As I said, it’s not quite home from home, but it comes very, very close. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robert Glen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berthsu, 前廳部經理 at Home Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Dear Robert Glen C,

Warmest greeting form Home Hotel.
Thank you very much for having chosen HOME Hotel as your home when you were away from home and for having taken the time to write us these wonderful lines.We are glad to know that you have enjoyed our overall services and facilities. Your enthusiastic words will act as a source of encouragement to all the colleagues rendered the services to our important guests like you.

On behalf of all our colleagues, we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to Taipei very soon.

Best regards,


Cindy Liao
Front Office Assistant Manager
NO PLACE LIKE HOME

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

It’s a small boutique hotel but has everything a family trip needs.
+ points:
- great location second to none. Neo 19, att 4 fun right around the corner where you can find nice food hangout places; Breeze, 101 and 新光三越 are just 5 mins walk. Even Grand Hyatt and M can’t beat it
- good room. Rooms are very spacious. Couldn’t see 101 from our room but not such a problem anyway
- free access to a full gym. The hotel doesn’t have one but they give u free voucher to use the gym in Neo 19, which is even better as it’s a proper gym
- very helpful and friendly staff

- points:
- breakfast quality can be improved
- construction work nearby

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Guangyao G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berthsu, 前廳部經理 at Home Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Dear Guangyao G,

First and fore we would like to thank you for taking the time to write us feedback.
We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive comments will be shared with our staff.
We are also sorry that the construction work may cost some noisy. However, the construction is about completed and the will be another Breeze just in front of hotel. By that time, it will be more convenient for our guest.
For breakfast quality you mentioned, we'll take your feedback and discuss with the respective team to improve the situation.
Should you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Have a wonderful day!

Cindy Liao
Front Office Assistant Manager
NO PLACE LIKE HOME

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews