We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful village, wonderful cottage.”
other travellers have booked this property
Situated on a quite lane yet 2 minutes walk to Village centre, shop and Pub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Situated on a quite lane yet 2 minutes walk to Village centre, shop and Pub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Situated on a quite lane yet 2 minutes walk to Village centre, shop and Pub
Cycling on the Tissington Trail
The Sycamore Inn
Just 80 Yards North of Farm View Cottage
Storms on the Tissington Trail looking towards Parwich
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Parwich, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Geoff W
Preston
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful village, wonderful cottage.”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This has to be one of the most idyllic villages in the county. One pub which houses the village shop and a British Legion, the Sycamore pub does good food but only opens at certain times as does the British Legion. The cottage is on 3 floors, stairs quite steep but not a problem for us, the bathroom is quite luxurious, great shower and nice to have the under floor heating, log burner in the kitchen and an open fire in the lounge which sends out a lot of heat, the lovely bedroom is on the floor above, this really is a stunning cottage and well maintained. The surrounding areas are great for dog walking, especially the Tissington trail and the Dovedale valley. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we hope to return one day.
Thank you Peter and Lesley.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything from the cottage to the location.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2016
Thanks for your nice review and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Parwich
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lea L
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We arrived the day after our wedding for our honeymoon absolutely shattered what a weekend, the cottage was a sight for sore eyes, idyllic. We parked up in front of the property unloaded ourselves and the dog and went inside.
Wow so beautiful, full of character, we had a quick look around and fell in love, everything was the country escape we were hoping for.
The bathroom took us aback finished to a modern high spec everything in pristine, perfect working order and tucked away too so as not to interfere with the feel of the cottage. Loved the indulgence of the bathroom.
We didn't even need to unpack our bags in a hurry which was wonderful, as tea, coffee, milk, biscuits, both the wood burner (kitchen) and open fire (lounge) prepped just needing a match striking and relax.
The fuel is plentiful and very generously provided (stayed in many properties where you source your own) the storage heaters keep everything ticking over nicely.
The kitchen is so well equipped I didn't find a problem preparing any meals.
The lounge on the first floor is spacious and a wonderful place to unwind after a day exploring with a good selection of books & games. Must stop falling asleep on that lovely couch!!
The bedroom on the second floor was always warm which is very nice for bedtime and a nice touch was the presence of a dual control electric blanket.
The village itself is extremely pretty and relaxing and the locals are also very welcoming.
The little touches in this cottage made us feel so welcome and the comms with the owners and Jo the manager are fantastic.
I'd highly recommend this cottage, its like chicken soup for the soul.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
Lea We are most grateful for your nice review and so pleased that you are enjoying your honeymoon in Parwich.
Peter & Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
216BigAl1...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Cosy Home from Home Cottage”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had three nights in this wonderful little cottage in the quiet village of Parwich. The very efficient wood burner in the kitchen gives the place a cosy feel and there are plenty of logs provided free of charge.
It has a modern bathroom with both bath and separate wet room type shower which is great after a day's walking. Unfortunately the bedroom is two floors up, so for those of a certain age you will need to drink more wine than beer to avoid a doddering nocturnal visit.
The bed was very comfortable and the lounge also very pleasant with a coal fire which we did light one evening.
A young lad brought us a pint of milk when we arrived which was a lovely touch and we were warmly welcomed in the British Legion Club by the friendly locals to watch the Rugby International.
Although the fixtures and fittings were fairly old, everything was clean and worked really well and there were plenty of crockery and pots and pans.
There were lots of history books and maps of the area to plan walks and visits and it was obviously dog friendly but not a sniff of previous dodgy smells.
We have done a few trips of a similar nature and if you want a get away from it all property I could not find fault with Farm View.
Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wood burning stove.
Liked least: Nocturnal trip down two flights of stairs to loo.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy_Phil...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quirky cottage in ideal location ”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We loved Farm View Cottage, it was an ideal base for us to explore the surrounding areas, we particularly liked Bakewell and Matlock.

The cottage itself is very inviting, with a log burner in the kitchen which made it a lovely room to cook and eat meals in.

The bathroom and especially the wet room style shower were impressive and added a modern touch to the cottage.

The living room on the first floor was very cosy and Phil made it his job to battle with the open fire everyday. We noticed that the TV kept turning itself off every 10 minutes or so, not sure if this is a fault or if we were doing something wrong?!?

The bedroom was spacious, with everything we needed, it did get a little chilly up there at night but we used the little heater to warm the room up.

The cottage was very homely and well equipped and furnished. We would love to visit again in the warmer months and do some more exploring! Thank you for letting us stay in your lovely cottage. It's been great!
Amy, Phil and Lenny the pug X

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2016
Thanks for the review and pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are spending some time in Parwich this weekend and will check out the T.V. We are also bringing up a new electric blanket. The bedroom is normally very warm providing the storage heater is switched on.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony A
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage in a peaceful village”
Reviewed 23 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

I instantly fell in love with the cottage as soon as i opened the door. While not to everyone's tastes, i loved the open fire in the living room and the general character of the cottage itself. My only negative was that the bedroom was alil cold at nights, so we ended up taking the small heater from the living room upstairs. The village itself is very quiet and relaxed, so if you're looking to escape urban life for a small time, this is ideal. My girlfriend and i explored areas including Bakewell, Buxton, Dovedale, Tissington and Ashbourne. Ashbourne was of particular highlight, as the very friendly shop owner for equatorial told us of a few great walks we could embark upon. My girlfriend brought her Spaniel and came to realise Bakewell isn't just dog friendly, but a village full of dog lovers.

So in summary, if you want a quiet, peaceful holiday with plenty of local tourist spots, great walks and amazing views, i really can't recommend this enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Easy access to local tourist spots
Liked least: The bedroom was cold at night and required additional heating
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2016
Thanks for your review and pkeased that you had a good time. We are surprised that you found the bedroom cold. Was the storage heater in the bedroom switched on? With the log burner plus open fire in the lounge we normally find the bedroom too hot.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing