We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
85
20
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
20
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river we loved our stay made us feel bottle of wine at home craig dogs veranda lounge retreat delight hostess sunset style
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2017

We loved our stay at The Anchorage Stilbaai!
The owners, Annette and Craig are exceptional people and went out of their way to make it even better!
Will definitely recommend The Anchorage to everyone!
We stayed in room 4 - has a beautiful view! Especially sunsets :)

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Annette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnetteThorne, Owner at The Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Annette and Wayne

thank you so much for the lovely review. We really appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great to meet you guys. Hope you arrived home safely.

Best regards

Annette & Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

As a Durban Girl I am not used to the cold at night and don't automatically turn on a heater so an extra blanket would have been preferred. Other than that, our hosts were delightful and very accommodating.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 558tandib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnetteThorne, Owner at The Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Dear Tandi

thanks very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, the nights are def. colder in winter here than in Durban. I am sorry to hear that you were cold. You were welcome to use the electric heater in your room or that extra day blanket on your bed. Hope the porridge in the morning warmed you up :)
Hope all of you arrived back home safely and you had a good seminar in Stillbay.
We hope to see you again some time - maybe in summer.
Best regards

Annette & Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

It was awesome stay at this little gem in Stilbaai. Home away for home, extremely comfortable and has everything you need. Surrounded by beautiful scenery is a bonus. Chris and Annette are awesome hosts They will definitely see us again.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 701candicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnetteThorne, Owner at The Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Dear Candice and John
thank you so much for the lovely review. Much appreciated. We are glad to hear that you had such a nice stay with us. We wish you all the best and hope to see you again soon.
Best regards Annette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Very clean, well equipped and comfortable accommodation in peaceful setting on riverside.
The hosts Craig & Annette were very helpful and friendly.Definitely a place to visit again for a longer stay..

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank colleenh386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnetteThorne, Owner at The Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Dear Colleen

thanks very much for sending such a nice guest comment. Much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was nice to have you here.

Hope to see you again some time.

Best regards

Annette & Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

My mom and I recently stayed over at the Anchorage in Stilbaai on our road trip to Cape Town. Although we got there in the dark, we were rewarded with a beautiful room, mini kitchen with all the necessary utensils, fridge and griller and bathroom.
The view the next morning was met with mist off the river which cleared to show a beautiful river view and the beauty of our accommodation.
I really wish we could have stayed another day!
Thanks to Craig and his wife for welcoming us!
(PS - you might think you've missed the turn off or they got it wrong but trust the sign before the bridge and keep driving straight in)

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews