We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Country Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Picket Mead

Front view of Picket Mead
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of Picket Mead
Back view of Picket Mead and Garden Sitting room / dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Front view of Picket Mead
Back view of Picket Mead and Garden
Sitting room / dining room
Sitting room
Dining room / sitting room
Sitting room / dining room window
Front door
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
View into back garden from sitting room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Landing
Bathroom
Bathroom
Kitchen garden door
View from across the valley - arrow shows cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Colyton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
MAllen66
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent Country Cottage”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My friend and I hired this cottage for two weeks in June, even though the pictures and information about the cottage was what we wanted it excelled our expectations. Every room was more spacious than we expected, and we enjoyed every moment we stayed there. The owner was a most delightful lady and extremely friendly and could not go more out of her way to make our stay enjoyable. The cottage had every facility you could imagine whether it was rain or shine. It was set in a quite village between a church and a village hall where both did not disturb you at any time. By the end of our holiday we wished we didn't have to leave and cannot wait to enjoy another holiday there as soon as possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aussiefro...
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint charming cottage for cultural experience but difficult to find without satnav”
Reviewed 11 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage has everything we needed, it was clean and I had expected it would have been smaller for it's age. We were visiting from Australia and I chose Picket Mead because it was interesting and rural. We were visiting relatives in Seaton and reasonably priced accommodation was difficult to find for that weekend.
After driving down country lanes to reach Southleigh my 14 year old son thought the trip worthy of a rally stage but do not let that daunt you. The cottage overlooks a beautiful church also dating about 1600's and I awoke before my children and enjoyed a walk through the church yard and into the paddock next door down to the creek where the dairy cows grazed.
Marion welcomed us and even provided some milk and teabags. We did not have any meals at the cottage and I wish we could have stayed a little longer. It would be a great place to get away from civilization and relax for the weekend although the TV was tiny we did turn it on one morning but a I think it would have been better to have played a board game from the cupboard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere
Liked least: Hard to find
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2014
We have now installed a new Panasonic TV with 24 inch screen and purchased a separate DVD player which we have attached to the TV.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miltonkoi
UK
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice quirky devon cottage”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

very nice cottage, very quirky typical of its age. low ceilings, uneven floors, stripped pine floors upstairs.
the cottage is well furnished and has a lovely wood burner in the lounge.
the low beams are a bit of a pain, literally! and if you are 6ft + prepare yourself!
also the stairs are very old, and not for the aged or infirm. they could do with updating to make them safer. kitchen well equipped with toaster, micro, oven etc.
well furnished throughout, although eclectic, nice bathroom and shower, loads of hot water. beds are comfortable and firm. clean throughout. TV is tiny, views are lovely.
Cottage is in Southleigh which is a bit of a trek (1mile plus!) from the main road, which means small lanes, reversing when people come the other way etc, but you can't not like the setting, for peace and quiet its hard to beat.
off street parking and very quaint.
only thing that was a real shame is no WIFI or Broadband. which if its not a bother to you , great. but for me it would hinder booking again. 3G is there in sporadic parts of the cottage, and mobile signal is poor. if you like being in touch with the outside world, its a real pain.
the owners were very nice, and perhaps will think about WIFI as an added extra in the future, as for some, its really needed these days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet
Liked least: no wifi
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2013
As the cottage is at least 300 years old the ceiling in one section of the living room is quite low, as are three of the doorways. However, the kitchen/dining area, which was added at a later date, is fine for height, as is the entire upstairs.

During the winter a handrail is to be installed at one side of the stairs and the existing balustrade will be strengthened at the same time.

We are also seriously considering installing wi-fi for the beginning of the new season.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe M
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Peaceful setting, quaint cottage.”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had a lovely week at the end of July/beginning of August. We were made very welcome by Marion (the owner) and enjoyed our week. The cottage is full of character with the low beams and the lovely log burner for the evenings. We visited various coastal towns close by and especially enjoyed our relaxing visit to Branscombe which was recommended by Marion's family who were staying next door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the character of the cottage
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianH186...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful, tranquil setting”
Reviewed 15 February 2013 for a stay in November 2012

The cottage is set in a lovely valley, overlooking the church. It is surrounded by farmland, although the coast is only a few miles away along country lanes.
A wood burner in the large living room adds to the homely feel, as do the free standing units in the well equipped kitchen. There is ample space in all the bedrooms which have lovely views down the valley.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position
Liked least: The muddy roads
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$98
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing