We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect blend of cottage and house”
other travellers have booked this property
Beautiful Water view from most rooms in the house!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful Water view from most rooms in the house!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Beautiful Water view from most rooms in the house!
back of cottage, facing lake
screened muskoka sun room
muskoka sun room
main cottage kitchen
main cottage kitchen
Main cottage family room
master bedroom
2nd bedroom in Main cottage
kids bedroom in main cottage
main bath (tub and shower)
in-law suite kitchen
in-law suite master bedroom
ln-law suite bathroom
2nd bedroom in the In-law suite
back of cottage- fall
Dual Entrances
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Dwight, Muskoka District, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
newbytrav...
Region of Waterloo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Perfect blend of cottage and house”
Reviewed 22 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

All the amenities of a house, with the rustic appeal, location and views of a cottage.
On the edge of Algonquin Park, it's hard to think of a more picturesque area of Ontario.
We were two couples, we alone in the "in-law" suite and our friends and their two teenage kids in the main area.
Tons of room, everything you need to be comfortable and a view that just keeps you looking out the window!
We enjoyed snow shoeing Rapid Falls trail and a trip into Dwight.
Henrietta's is a must stop as well.
Book and don't look back! The owners are really nice and quite helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2017
We are so glad you enjoyed it! Thank you so much for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful getaway”
Reviewed 18 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Fully enjoyed our stay at this cottage lots to do close by, has lots of space and all amenities you require. The wood stove was really cozy. A perfect family getaway.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2017
Thank you for the kind words, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A delightful cottage with picturesque surroundings, fabulous swimming and water sports.”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Opportunity for walks, hiking, and to taste the wonderful treats from Henrietta's in Dwight. The Italian restaurant "By the lights" in Hunstville is fabulous as is the gluten-free bakery.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cho_ohc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home away from Home.”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
4
people found this review helpful

What a beautiful cottage. We arrived with having no idea of what to expect and this cottage exceeded all our expectations. It had everything we needed and really was a home away from home. We had two families (kids ranging from 4 to 16) + two small dogs. We had such a relaxing time. We highly recommend this cottage to other guests looking to spend some time in Algonquin.

***Read further if you want a detailed description of our experience***

The front entrance is misleading. It's simple and unassuming but once you walk through the front entrance to the living room it's like a whole different world. The open concept living rooms looks out to the beautiful lake behind the bungalow. But before you hit the lake, you walk past the coze multi-paneled windowed sunroom that leads to a study decked (equipped with a propane BBQ), firepit and landscaped backyard.

The cottage is equipped with two living spaces.
MAIN LIVING SPACE: The one to the left of the front entrance has three bedrooms. The furthest one has a small window that allows a breeze to pass through and has a bunk bed (single bed on top, double on bottom) - there is no ceiling fan. It's small but the kids loved it. The main master bedroom has a bathroom attached with a curtained shower. It's a tight squeeze to maneuver past the sink to the shower but it provides all the privacy you need. :) There is a fan in the room to keep the room cool during the day. Nights are cool so fan is optional.

All rooms have closets/units for storage.

MAIN BATHROOM:
Has a shower/bath combo and handheld shower head and across from that bathroom is another room with a single bed and another bunkbed (single sized both top and bottom).

WASHER/DRYER:
Washer and dryer is located right at the front door. It can get a bit loud (buckles, buttons, loose change all make noise) and beeps/sings when cycle is done so if you're doing your laundry late at night, light sleepers may be affected. ;)

KITCHEN #1:
The main kitchen is located right across from the living area. It comes fully stocked (coffee machine (both single serve and more than one cup), hot water heater, toaster, wine cooler microwave, pots, pans, cutting boards, utensils). Some condiments were available but we were unsure if we were allowed to use so brought our own (salt/pepper/oil).

2ND LIVING SPACE:
The 2nd living space also has a kitchen which we didn't use but it's there. There is a door which separates the two living areas. There is a room with a double bed and a shared bathroom. The 2nd room is a bunk bed with a single bed on top and double bed on the bottom. This living space also has it's own small living room with tv which leads to the shared sunroom. There is a sliding door that separates the two units.

OUTDOOR:
-gas BBQ
-Shed with life jackets, oars, etc.
-canoe
-paddle boat
-dock
-plenty of chairs
-fire pit
-so, so peaceful to canoe and just take in beautiful Algonquin

It's right off the main road and across from the Algonquin Outfitters Store (Oxtongue) where you can pick up fishing rods, firewood ($11) and supplies, boating equipment, etc. plus winter activity related equipment if you stay during the snowier months. There are hiking trails and cross country skiing trails. Perfect for any time of year.

TECHNOLOGY:
Wifi worked fine, dvd player helped. We brought our own dvds and ps3. We did not use the satellite tv.

CONS?:
Don't really have any. Here are some things that might bother some but really didn't affect us. Air conditioning is not set up BUT there are fans in almost every room and it gets really cool at night. Near Algonquin Outfitters Store dock so higher traffic/less privacy. Jackson, their golden retriever kept coming over and freaked our dog out so if you have a dog that is bothered by bigger dogs, you might have company. Jackson is the most chill dog I have ever seen. He just wants to eat what you're cooking. He came whenever the bbq was on. Mosquitoes suck. Bring your repellent. There is a strict but necessary need to separate waste and recycling. The cottage comes fully equipped with a kit that explains everything. That is a good thing. The negative part of that is the land fill hours. It may not be according to your desired/required dump days. We left today. Yesterday it was closed and today it opened at 1 pm. Check out was 10 am so we ended up bringing everything with us and finding another place to dump. We were unable to wait until 1 pm. SO if you are going to dump and know that you are going to miss your land fill dump day (you only get one pass), dump 1 day or 2 earlier. Don't let the landfill hours deter you from following the guidelines. We wanted to make sure we played a part in keeping this beautiful place, well, beautiful so tried to make sure we followed the rules. :O)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outdoors, the stars at night, the large living area, the windows in the sunroom, the amenities
Liked least: The landfill hours
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2016
Thank you! So glad you had a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ozra
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You have to see it yourself”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage was AMAZING, Clean and spacious with everything required was provided generously, thank to Amy (the owner). We had a great time there and the kids really enjoyed the lake and all the boating and swimming. I would definitely go there again. The only issue was the garbage bin outside the cottage: It would be better if there were separate garbage been to recycle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2016
Thanks for your review! We have added a recycling bin and extra animal proof bins.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing