We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
54
13
8
6
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
54
13
8
6
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews provincial park hidden gem great care a great place to stay young family short drive day pass ragged falls new owners camping firewood rv playground huntsville algonquin season gate
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2020

Firstly, a good campground should offer decent amount of privacy between campsites, either created by distance or shrubs. In the very least your neighboring trailer's awning area should not be facing yours. For this reason we were much disappointed as many sites have neighbors facing each other within close range, with unobstructed views of your neighbors. In all our camping years we never experienced this set-up. It may be nice for families/friends camping together to face each other, but not for anyone else. At least inform your campers of this setup upon booking and let your campers decide if this setup will be okay. Surprises upon arrival are never appreciated! Secondly, overall modern facilities (washrooms) and amenities (pool, mini putt, playground) are definitely lacking here to wish another visit. Painted & already peeling bathroom faucets and floors don't amount to renovated/ improved facilities. We have been to the Muskoka and Algonquin area over a dozen times, & this was the first campground we had complaints of. Sorry not for our family.

Date of stay: October 2020
Thank cg894
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 October 2020 via mobile

Staff is very friendly and helpful. Sites are large with water and electric but you face your neighbour so when the campground is busy there is little privacy. The pine trees desperately need trimming. I’ve seen several RV’s scrape through branches to exit their sites. We travelled in a 32’ MH towing.

Nice hiking trail around the campground. No recycling ☹️. Playground looks dated and in need of some tlc as does the pool which was closed this season due to covid.

But I would stay here again if we couldn’t get into the park. It serves its purpose and was in a great location. 20 minutes to Algonquin west gate. Close to Dorset, 20 minutes to Huntsville and right on highway 60.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kulemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2020

This is a very clean and friendly campground. They are located close to a really nice bakery, close to the entrance of Algonquin park, Dwight Beach and Oxtongue Falls. Would definitely return.
Campuses are on the small side, however, I didn’t find that a problem.

Date of stay: July 2020
Thank Cheryllynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 August 2020

We wanted to check out Algonquin Park for some day hiking and canoeing rather last minute, but the park was completely sold out of car campsites and interior camping permits. Then we found Algonquin Pines Campground, which had tent sites still available for similar rates. It's only 15 minutes to Algonquin West Gate, or 25 to the Portage Store. It worked out perfectly! Camp sites were clean and a short jaunt to the clean and central washroom and shower facilities. There are a couple of nice local bakeries, restaurants and a small grocer/pharmacy a short drive along the highway. Campground staff were very friendly and attentive. Bonus: Be sure to check out the Oxtongue River-Ragged Falls Provincial Park, a day use park along the way to the Algonquin Park entrance. It has some short hiking with spectacular views of the Ragged Falls. Dwight Beach is also very close, a small beach but good for families.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rawdeegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 July 2020

Very tight campsites.
Don't have privacy around unlike other campgrounds in other locations.
Washroom is far and only ONE since it's only on the office.
Had to walk 2-3 minutes.
*Would not recommend this to pregnant women unless they stated to book near the washroom

Quiet time or radio off starts at 10pm and ends at 8am BUT ALWAYS told to lower the volume of our music around 8pm or 9pm HAHA
*Might as well change the quiet time hours
The chubby dude who tells us about it was very rude.
Does not know how to talk to people properly.

We checked out and was asked to pay $50 because they blame us on the already burnt picnic table.
*WARNING please check everything first when you arrive if you get that picnic table since they ask you to pay for the damage when you check out. Imagine they do that to every campers if you do not notice it.

*I do not recommend this for group of friends. They are very strict and always tell us it's for family campgrounds. Would not go back here ever.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jillminssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews