We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
105
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
105
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxury tents are attention to detail magical experience relaxing break every meal game ranger bird life out of this world delicious food blown away incredible variety private pool awesome game drives thank you so much a special place south africa went the extra mile
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2021

We have been to a few lodges over the years and this is by far the best we have stayed at. There are only 4 rooms and a maximum of 4 people per game vehicle so right from the outset you get the feeling of total exclusivity and perfect for a romantic getaway.
The Luxury tents are very spacious, totally secluded from the other rooms and each have a private pool. There is a butler service so you can have anything brought to you and the staff are unbelievably friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.
The Lodge is positioned in the bush and you feel totally at one with nature with drinks and dinner around the bush fire or reading a book in pure tranquility.
The food was the best I have experienced at any lodge and they catered for our dietary requirements superbly!
The game drives were excellent, as was the ranger and we saw Rhino, Lion with cubs, cheetah, Elephant and lots of birdlife.
We needed a relaxing break and got exactly that. We stayed for 2 nights which felt like 4 but we could have stayed for 7!
Cannot recommend Rhino Sands more!

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GSWhite1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon Airton, Owner at Rhino Sands Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2021

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback and review for us here. I am so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and how well our team looked after you. Your kind words and compliments are very appreciated. I hope very much we'll get to host you again, and thank you for recommending Rhino Sands!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2020 via mobile

Just spent three days at Rhino Sands, our first visit since our visit when they first opened and what a fantastic stay. The staff as usual were wonderful, polite and so efficient, our ranger Ky was superb but the highlight apart from the game viewing was the food. The two Chefs Jason and Bongani were outstanding!!!!!!! Thanks all for a great stay

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank gregb869
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon Airton, Owner at Rhino Sands Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2020

What a joy to welcome return guests back into camp. Thank you for returning and thank you for taking the time to share your experience here. Kyran is our newest ranger and such an enthusiastic and positive addition to our team. I am so glad to hear his passion for the bush is being enjoyed by our guests. Jason and Bongani are an exceptional team in the kitchen and we are so very lucky to have them. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the food. We will certainly share your enthusiastic feedback with the team. Thank you again for choosing Rhino Sands and we can't wait to welcome you back a third time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2020 via mobile

We recently visited Rhino Sands and we were honestly blown away! The lodge really makes you feel part of all the nature surrounding you and the hospitality is world class! Each member of the staff goes above and beyond to make your stay the best it possibly can be.

With this being our first trip away after the Covid-19 pandemic, we were very impressed at Rhino Sand’s commitment to making sure each and every one of the guests were comfortable and safe with all the necessary screening in place!

Do yourself a favour and book at Rhino Sands, it will be one of your best holidays for sure!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CaitHegter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon Airton, Owner at Rhino Sands Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback here. It was such a pleasure meeting you and hosting you in camp. In fact, it is such a pleasure to just be operating again! We are doing our very best to ensure that our guests feel both safe and comfortable during these times, and I appreciate you mentioning that here. Once again, thank you so much for the compliments and recommendation. It means the world to us as we are all rebuilding our businesses in the wake of the pandemic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2020

Our travel agent recommended Rhino Sands, as we found it difficult to choose never having been on any safari before. Our agent told us it would be the best part of our trip to SA and she was right. We had a wonderful three nights in most luxurious accommodation. The service and food were all excellent. We went on six safari drives with Murray, one of the rangers, and each was unique and special. He has an extensive knowledge of birds, insects, plants and animals in the reserve which he shared enthusiastically and without repeating himself. Overall a fantastic experience.

Date of stay: March 2020
Thank CaroR24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon Airton, Owner at Rhino Sands Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2020

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful feedback here with us. Especially during this period of lockdown where we are missing our guests and interactions with them every day. It is always such a privilege to be someone's first-ever safari experience, and we hope that you have fallen in love with the African bush. I will pass along your praise to Murray. He is a wonderful guide with a passion for all the different aspects of safari that you mention. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience here. We hope we will get the opportunity to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2020

Rhino sands is the perfect safari if you want to be at one with nature and leave all your troubles behind you. There is something so magical about the Lodge and the complete experience the friendly staff give you. We were welcomed on our arrival with a glass of bubbles and a wet flannel to freshen up and then led to a beautifully furnished lounge area to discuss our itinerary. The camp only sleeps 8 guests so any requests are personally addressed. My husband and I are vegan so chef came out to present us with all the wonderful meal choices he had created for us. I have never felt so looked after on holiday. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room/tent was stunning and had every facility you could wish for, for living in the bush in 5 star luxury. Our safaris were quite something - our guide Murray was so incredibly knowledgable and his love for the Manyoni Game Reserve was obvious. He has so much to share and he never got board of all our questions that he must’ve been asked many times over. He always went the extra mile if there was a particular animal you wanted to find and see. We were incredibly lucky to see 4 of the big 5 plus the black Rhino, Wild Dogs and Cheetahs and the several Elephants, Zebras, Giraffes and Impala to name a few. Every drive was a magical experience!

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank Donzigray
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon Airton, Owner at Rhino Sands Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2020

Thank you so much for taking time to share your Rhino Sands experience here. It truly means a lot to our whole team. I am so glad that the team was able to take such great care of your and attend to your special dietary requests. It sounds like you had some very lucky game viewing during your stay. The wild dogs are my absolute favorite. I will make certain that the team sees your fantastic feedback. We hope we can welcome you back someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews