We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
29
6
0
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
29
6
0
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives snakes wendy lodge accommodation rhino
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed in Bayete Private (jaw dropping location overlooking water hole) and Little Bayete (Amazing view over valley). Accommodation best of our trip. Trip was made by our great guide (Ruben) who escorted us on a number of great game drives. Lots to see and we were lucky (important). Rounded off by elephant interaction - amazing to see free roaming elephants saunter up to us and then us be able to interact with them. Definitely a highlight. Best safari to date, great value and would highly recommend.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 938alastairk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

We went to Bayete last weekend to celebrate a friend's 50th birthday. It rained a fair amount and we were not permitted on any game drives. There is no plan b or any other activity besides the elephant interaction. Terribly disappointed and ranger staff were not particularly helpful.Kitchen staff as always great. Best it doesn't rain on your weekend

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanessaS7946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

Wow! What a special place! Self catering luxury! We have been wanting to stay for a couple of years after during the first interaction with Rambo, Rachel & Jabulene and finally got to go this week. We were only suppose to stay for one night but could not resist and stayed for two!! The staff are incredible! Vuti, Sam & Non- kitchen team Amazing! Dop, Johno & Julian Hope your cheeks aren't too sore from our amazing sightings and all the laughter! We will definitely be back very soon!!! And the elephant interaction is a MUST!!! One of my favourite places definitely.

Date of stay: May 2017
Thank tracehonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

After having an amazing experience with the elephant interaction that Bayete Zulu offers, our group of 13 stayed at the lodge. It is self catering so you will need to provide your own food and drink but the staff on site and in the kitchen were amazing! We stayed for 2 nights and each meal was absolutely delicious. After breakfast, you can lounge by the pool and watch the wildlife on the hill in front! We were lucky enough to have lions in the area the entire stay so we saw a lioness stalking impala while enjoy a cocktail by the pool! Rooms are lovely, aircon, safe, refrigerator, bath, beautiful decor! The guides were all fantastic and very knowledgeable and put up with our rowdy crew :) Definitely worth the extra money when comparing to other self catering lodges in Umfolozi. Well be back soon soon! Thanks for an epic time Bayete Zulu!

Date of stay: May 2017
1  Thank ejenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Our whole group of 10 had the place to ourselves. Unfortunately we missed the evening safari due to the rain that they had the days before we got there. We had a quick tour of the lodge before our guide left. We unfortunately got there pretty late and had to run to the local grocery store for food. The store of course was a bit away. Some rooms had broken air conditioners which they told us were checked that day and no one to fix them of course. We made due with ceiling fans, which didn't help because no windows were to be left open because the guide told us not to if you didn't want unwanted guests (snakes, bugs, etc.) The bugs were huge to Canadian standards. Two end rooms had an extra opening and quite a large gap under the door. My suggestion, put a blanket in the gap. Two of our group had scorpions in their room and another very large bugs. We had a great dinner that evening made by the staff and after a great camp fire. We were all alone for the evening. The rooms were beautiful and clean. Don't be too sad if you go on the safari and don't see too much. We did see many animals, especially giraffe, kudu, impala and zebra, ostrich. We missed the lions by a few days. Below our lodge we did see a rhino at the watering hole and the best was the elephants at 9:00am walking past the lodge. You have to go to the elephant station to interact and feed them. It was worth it.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BeenThereLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews