We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Michael D
Old basing

Surprisingly excellent stopover going south on the N7

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Nov 2018
We stayed one night in the guest house which is on the main street of Vanrhynsdorp which is not a busy or noisy town.
The large room was a little old fashioned (good) with en-suite with a very good shower.
We spent some time in the little inner courtyard which has mature trees & a bird-fountain which was visited by many different birds.
We had the full breakfast (but without sausage or bacon) - very good.
Also very interesting to talk to the proprietors who's recommendation for dinner was spot-on.
Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HerbyHowe, Owner at Van Rhyn Guest House, responded to this review
Responded 01 Dec 2018
Many thanks for the positive review - glad you enjoyed your short stay with us
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Aant Dorpseind
R 999
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 999
  • Agoda.com
    R 999
1.1 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free parking
Pool
R 1 000
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 000
0.9 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free parking
Front View
R 1 012
R 920
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 920
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 012
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 012
1.4 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 199
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 199
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 199
0.6 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
R 965
  • eDreams
    R 965
  • Vio.com
10.2 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free parking
Room service
courtyard area
R 750
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 750
  • Agoda.com
    R 750
0.0 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Swimming pool
Closed in winter or
if water restrictions requirement
R 979
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 979
21.5 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free parking
Beachfront
R 1 100
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 1 100
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 100
21.6 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
POOL Area
R 950
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 950
  • Agoda.com
    R 950
  • Expedia.com
    R 950
21.8 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 960
  • Priceline
    R 1 960
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 960
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 960
31.1 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Vanrhynsdorp
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
12
11
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
12
11
7
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2018

Well if you need cheap ,this is it. The breakfast is OK but overpriced an add on to the base fee. The water was hot but the bed was so hard Im still trying to recover a week later. The décor looks like it hasn't been redone since the 70's but like I said, if you want cheap it is an option and it is clean and has safe parking.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CultjaVultja
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 July 2018

We spent a night here on the way to Namibia. Great old school feel with the rooms in keeping with the old house. The rooms are large and comfortable with high ceilings.
If our breakfast was anything to go by we should have opted for dinner as well. Though we had a great pizza down the road it seems that the dining options are limited.
Great hosts that are willing to fill you in on the history and art for sale by local artist. Conveniently situated close to the N7 for the long distance traveller. I would definitely stay here again.

Room tip: Old school rooms attached to the main house are great.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SteveForestg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HerbyHowe, Owner at Van Rhyn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Many thanks for your high praise - would love to have a revisit - I'm sure we can do something about an evening meal next time,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We stayed overnight as a group of five friends and enjoyed the hospitality of the owners who prepared a delicious evening meal for us. The rooms are comfortably furnished in a style fitting the period of the old homestead. Breakfast was generous and this guesthouse can be recommended to anyone looking for an overnight stay on the Cape Namibia route (N7)

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HerbyHowe, Owner at Van Rhyn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Many thanks for the positive review - we must have done something right. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us & hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

A very comfortable stay in well appointed rooms with good facilities. Good food and helpful hosts.We loved sitting in the peaceful courtyard watching the birds splashing in the fountain and we were generally made to feel most welcome.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HerbyHowe, Owner at Van Rhyn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Many thanks for the review - glad you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We enjoyed our stay here recently. On the upside the bed was comfy, the water was hot, the service was excellent, the ambience was great. I would recommend this establishment. On the downside I feel that R100 pp was quite expensive for breakfast but the food was really good and plentiful. I did not enjoy Gigi under the dining room table (she also smells very "doggy"). No kettle in the room is quite inconvenient. The hosts are very welcoming and attentive.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Geo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews