We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
RB777
Carmarthen, United Kingdom

One of the best.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Sept 2016
This must be one of the best guest houses in the Western Cape, where we have toured numerous times. We stayed for three nights in late August. It was our second visit, having stayed there last year. The building is a delightful old property that has been very tastefully and sympathetically extended and modernised over the years. There is a wonderful courtyard garden where a multitude of colourful birds are attracted to the fountain / birdbath & bird feeding station. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and well furnished. Breakfast is good and the hosts are friendly and helpful. There are good restaurants nearby, with some within easy walking distance.
We would definitely recommend staying there whilst in the area.
Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Aant Dorpseind
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.1 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free parking
Pool
  • Agoda.com
0.9 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free parking
Front View
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free Wifi
Pool
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
10.2 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free parking
Room service
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
POOL Area
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 983
  • Booking.com
21.8 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
42.9 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
31.1 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Vanrhynsdorp
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
12
11
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
12
11
7
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Stayed over for the third time in the Van Rhyn Guest House in Vanrhynsdorp as the first stopover of our three week holiday trip.

Guesthouse owner welcomed us with open arms, explained all the “in’s and out’s” of the establishment, took us on a guided tour and explain the availability of the coffee/TV -, dining-, sitting rooms, etc. We were invited to use these facilities and the coffee was FREE. We were taken to our respective rooms where everything was explained in detail.

The rooms were adequately equipped and the bed and bedding was outstanding. The toilet/shower was clean and soap/shampoos and a variety of towels was available for use.

On our request for supper were adhered to with a smile and we were even requested what we want. Needless to say. The supper was served on time with style.

Our room was well equipped with all the required needs. After a nightcap on the stoop, we retired and had a very good rest.

The breakfast in the dining room the next morning was to cheer for. The variety was amazing and the service throughout was excellent. The food was well prepared and good tasting that left the pallet with that taste of total satisfaction.
We left the establishment with a satisfied feeling and will definitely recommend the Van Rhyn Guest House to anybody that want a “platteland” experience.

Definitely worth a visit and is highly recommended...

Room tip: Definitely worth a visit and is highly recommended...
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danie W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 March 2016

I did the red line trip and say at VAN RHYN for a night. it was cold that night. the room was well equipped. en suit bathroom. the place is very interesting with a little garden as you come out of the room.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cobusTheunissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2016 via mobile

Even though the room was comfortable and had all the basics, it can really do with an update i.e. white linen and towels. Absolutely not a fan of the brown blankets and yellowy sheets!
As a business traveler, who stayed for a week the following was sorely missed: a desk to work at, in-room coffee making facilities, a bar fridge to keep water etc cold seeing as it was sweltering most of the time and a tv, specially when one stays for extended period and a bit of a night-owl! The idea that you have to leave your room, and walk through the house for coffee or to watch tv, didnt quite appeal to me - who wants to walk around in their pj's in a strange place just to get some coffee? Lastly, the "free wi-fi" was also only available in some areas of the house! Not ideal to have to leave your room whenever you need to make use of a facility.
The hosts were friendly and Gigi the lab is so sweet, but I would not recommend this for travelers who stay more than one night or who enjoy their privacy. I am more of a self-catering traveler myself, so would not choose this option again.
But fine for overnight purposes.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank RoamingSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 October 2015

Stayed one week for business and had a really enjoyable stay. Well located place with character. Comfortable with clean and tidy rooms and great hospitality.
Made to feel at home by Herbert and Terence. Great breakfasts and chef Herbert provides excellent dinners with prior arrangement. The only negative is no TV in the
rooms. Kenny D.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 310Penny11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 October 2015

What a lovely place! Clean neat tidy, well run. We arrived in Van Rhyns drop at 5 after traveling from Fish River Canyon in one day, without reserved accommodation. All the accommodation we tried was fully booked and Lombards guesthouse phone and made a booking on our behalf. We has a good nights rest followed by a fantastic breakfast. If in Van Rhyns dorp look no further 10/10 for this guesthouse

Room tip: All rooms are good
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MrsH28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews