We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
MrsH28
Cape Town Central, South Africa

Excellent accommodation

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Oct 2015
What a lovely place! Clean neat tidy, well run. We arrived in Van Rhyns drop at 5 after traveling from Fish River Canyon in one day, without reserved accommodation. All the accommodation we tried was fully booked and Lombards guesthouse phone and made a booking on our behalf. We has a good nights rest followed by a fantastic breakfast. If in Van Rhyns dorp look no further 10/10 for this guesthouse
Date of stay: October 2015
Room Tip: All rooms are good
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Aant Dorpseind
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.1 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free parking
Pool
  • Agoda.com
0.9 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free parking
Front View
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free Wifi
Pool
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
10.2 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free parking
Room service
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
POOL Area
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 007
  • Booking.com
21.8 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
42.9 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
31.1 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Vanrhynsdorp
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
12
11
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
12
11
7
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2015

we stayed in van rhyn guest house en route to augrabies for a road trip. we stayed in a 4 bed family room, whick was very neat. the owners was friendly, and their lovely dog gigi stole our hearts.
pity that the hot water ran out after just one shower in the morning, and the rest of us had to shower in cold water... luckily it was not in winter, so we survived!

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank coetzer_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HerbyHowe, Owner at Van Rhyn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2015

Dear Coetzer_family
Many thanks for the review.
I must apologise for the lack of sufficient hot water - in the rush of a full house I forgot to turn on the second geyser which supplies your room with hot water, and if my memory doesn't fail me you also had to put up with a dreadful noise when the hot water tap was opened in the shower. Thank you for bringing it to my attention - it has now been sorted out.
I hope your discomfort will mean you do not visit again - hopefully we can make it up to you.
Kind regards
Herbert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

Herbert is a great host and ensures you are comfortable at all times. The rooms have an old almost Victorian feel and look. No TV in the room & also no tea/coffee amenities in the room either.
The room was quiet and made it possible to get some work done too.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Haba01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Van Rhyn Guest House at Vanrhynsdorp

Stayed over in the Van Rhyn Guest House in Vanrhynsdorp as the first stopover of our Namaqua wild flower trip from Bellville and back.

Contrary to the other reviews, the guesthouse owner welcomed us with open arms, explained all the “in’s and out’s” of the establishment, took us on a guided tour and explain the availability of the coffee/TV -, dining-, sitting rooms, etc. We were invited to use these facilities and the coffee was FREE. We were taken to our respective rooms where everything was explained in detail.

The rooms were adequately equipped and the bed and bedding was outstanding. The toilet/shower was clean and soap/shampoos and a variety of towels was available for use.

On our request if we can have a braai on the Saturday evening, we were taken to the swimming pool area and they assisted with the repositioning of the portable braai and grid to suit our needs. The owner’s eve offered us wood for the braai. Needless to say, we had a wonderful braai evening that was enjoyed by all.

We opted for the breakfast in the dining room on the Sunday morning. The variety was amazing and the service throughout was excellent. All of us commented that the food was well prepared and good tasting that left the pallet with that taste of total satisfaction.
We left the establishment with a satisfied feeling and will definitely recommend the Van Rhyn Guest House to anybody that want a “platteland” experience.

Definitely worth a visit and is highly recommended...

Room tip: Definitely worth a visit and is highly recommended...
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danie W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 September 2015

We spend a night there. When we go there we didn't feel welcome and didn't feel confidently to ask for anything. The room hasn't got any Coffee/tea facility . There isn't any hairdryer. The air-con hasn't got an remote, and you cant open the windows because it has no burglar proof. Although there was mosquito repellant -this was nice . If you go there ask that they not give you the outside quarters, because it was very stuffy. They don't communicate very well . Otherwise The breakfast was very special It was of high standard . It is convenient place if you only want to sleep and breakfast there. It is also very near the main road which is comfortable, but i think there is other options in Van Rhynsdorp

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Travelvespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 June 2015 via mobile

We did not feel welcome and we're not offered any assistance
Told to come and go around side entrance as they do not give front door keys
Says licensed but could not get a drink
Worst bed in years we could not sleep
No coffee or tea in rooms
No fridge
No soap or shampoo
Room was very noisy on main room
Never ever going back here again
Only good thing was lateens given to us for load shedding

Date of stay: June 2015
1  Thank GaryBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews