We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
AlanWCape
Cape Town Central, South Africa

Good stopover

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Oct 2013
We changed our initial travel plans and by chance ended up staying in Vanrhynsdorp, which is in the region famous for its wildflowers. We read some good reviews online and chose this guest house. We arrived late because of roadworks but soon settled in. Room was comfortable and homely, and inexpensive. Hosts Ernest and Herbert were welcoming and helpful despite their day's pressures which included a lengthy power cut. A disadvantage of this town is few places to eat, but hosts made a simple supper for their guests at an extra charge. The house is interesting - all sorts of rooms to explore, interesting furniture and artwork. Would definitely stay again.
Date of stay: October 2013
Room Tip: Not all rooms have double beds so specify if this is what you want WE did not experience noise...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Aant Dorpseind
R 999
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 999
  • Agoda.com
    R 999
1.1 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free parking
Pool
R 1 000
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 000
0.9 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free parking
Front View
R 1 012
R 920
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 920
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 012
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 012
1.4 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 199
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 199
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 199
0.6 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
R 965
  • eDreams
    R 965
  • Vio.com
10.2 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free parking
Room service
courtyard area
R 750
  • Priceline
    R 750
  • Agoda.com
    R 750
0.0 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Swimming pool
Closed in winter or
if water restrictions requirement
R 979
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 979
21.5 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free parking
Beachfront
R 1 100
  • Priceline
    R 1 100
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 100
21.6 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
POOL Area
R 950
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 950
  • Expedia.com
    R 934
  • Hotels.com
    R 934
21.8 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 966
R 1 764
  • Priceline
    R 1 764
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 943
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 943
31.1 km from Van Rhyn Guest House
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Vanrhynsdorp
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
12
11
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
12
11
7
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed in an outside room, traffic on N7 a bit noisy, decor can do with an update. Good shower and comfortable stay, very good breakfast. Host helpful and dinner at the caravan park was great! Book early!!

Date of stay: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenB976
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 October 2012

A strange place. It is an old farmhouse, and with additions and extensions over its years, it seems to comprise of a collection of rooms around an inner courtyard. Decoration and furniture is from a similar varied period so adds to the slightly quirky ambience of the place, but all in a comfortable way. Big comfortable beds, spotlessly clean bedclothes. Tea and coffee offered in one of the sitting rooms. Breakfast was the usual buffet for juices and cereals with your choice for the cooked breakfast which was all very fresh and tasty.
For dinner they booked us a table at a restaurant, ZAR, at a local campsite. Nice enough place with very reasonably good priced food. Beware, the portions were huge, you won’t need starter and won’t have room for dessert.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Excellent service in a very homely atmosphere, we felt at home and will be back.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We had a great experience enjoted our stay immensely and will certainly be back for another visit. The food was out of this world and enjoyed by us all.
Thanks to Herbert and Ernest.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Accommodation in a rambling Victorian house with cottages.
They have paintings on show and for sale.
Our room was on the poky side and cluttered.
The establishment gave the impression of being somewhat past its sell by date.
Fortunately, our hosts were charming and helpful.
We were referred to a restaurant on a camping site - and had our doubts. But, as promised, the food was excellent.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanRiebeeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews