We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
49
6
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
6
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews presidential suite resort centre skiing trip stunning scenery warmest of welcomes fantastic accommodation hot tub long weekend come home wonderful food short distance fantastic stay perfect hosts rachel alps chef snow
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2018

I would like to say a massive thank you to all the staff of The Black Diamond for all there hard work on my fantastic birthday evening! The evening started in the bar as there was live music, that was brilliant. The bar was busy with people enjoying the live music, which added to the atmosphere. Before we entered the restaurant for dinner each of my 26 guests were given menus to choose there meal. Once the music had ended it was time to eat. The staff are really friendly and the food was fantastic just as it has been when I have eaten dinner there before and was served with not one hitch. At the end of the meal the staff presented me with a birthday cake prepared by the Chef.
I can honestly say it was a fantastic evening one I shall always remember.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 759christina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLDuke, Owner at Black Diamond Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear Christina,
We are so pleased you could spend your birthday celebrations with us and that you were happy with the service and the food. The evening was indeed quite a splendid one, and it was fabulous to see so many people having such a lovely time. Thank you for visiting us at Black Diamond and we hope to see you again very soon.
Best wishes,
Rachel Duke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

We booked for 4 nights at New Year. Black Diamond gives you the flexibility to stay as long or as short as you want. Rooms are lovely and balcony overlooking the slopes. Communal rooms are very comfortable and the staff couldn’t be more friendly and helpful. Overall can’t wait to get back.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank christie959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLDuke, Owner at Black Diamond Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are pleased with the points you've raised about our flexible arrival and departure dates and our friendly staff and comfortable rooms. We look forward to seeing you again at Black Diamond. Please book direct for a returning guest discount.

Best wishes,
Rachel Duke
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

Excellent location and lovely chalet penthouse let down by some poorly trained staff, poorly stocked kitchen(self catering) and poor boot room (I heard it had been reduced in size recently). Downstairs single beds only fit for children or small teenager. Breakfast staff inexperienced including the chef which resulted in the restaurant meal being sub par. This hopefully should improve as I see from twitter they are seeking new chef. Great creche staff and our kids loved the creche. Nice spa pool and sauna but small. Hot tub in penthouse and spa needed better maintenance/cleaning.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dean12018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLDuke, Owner at Black Diamond Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear Dean,

Thank you for your review. We take feedback very seriously and note the points you have made. Thank you for your kind comments about our location, our lovely Penthouse, the nannies, creche and spa.

To feedback on your other points:

We are not seeking a new chef. Sorry for any confusion you may have. We receive endless compliments on our breakfasts and dinners. If I could understand your specific issue with the food you were served, I'd be happy to listen and give feedback to my kitchen team. It is always better if you say something at the time as we had no idea you had not enjoyed a meal.

You mentioned using the Penthouse for self-catering, but the Penthouse is not available as "self-catered". I am aware you cooked in the kitchen area which is meant for our own staff, but we did not charge you for the extra use of the facility and housekeeping workload. The Penthouse is available as Bed and Breakfast or can be upgraded to Half Board if booked this way. We provide a tea and coffee station in the Penthouse kitchen for our guests, but dining in the lodge takes place in the Restaurant or Bar area, or in a room service style in the rooms if requested.

I'm sorry you were misinformed about the bootroom, hopefully not from any of our staff, as it is a new additional facility that was only built this year.

The hot tubs were checked and treated every day of your stay, and we change the water after each guest check-out. Your seven children were using them quite extensively, so perhaps that is why they were very dirty in the mornings when we went to clean them.

The single beds are full size single beds 190cm length x 90cm width. The beds are featured in all photos on our web site and on our Trip Advisor page. We can combine these in our twin rooms when requested to make up to super-king-size.

We encourage all of our guests to communicate with us throughout their stay to make their holiday the very best experience possible. The Black Diamond team is comprised of 12 hospitality professionals to look after all of our guests throughout their stay, and they check with all guests regularly to see if they can do anything more to help.

Yours sincerely,

Rachel Duke
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

My daughter and I had the nicest week skiing and staying in the black diamond lodge. The team were amazing and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was cosy but spacious and we slept really well. Breakfast was a highlight every day, the spa was great and we loved sitting in the lounge in the evening listening to music by the fire. Thanks to everyone for such a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ruth804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLDuke, Owner at Black Diamond Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you so much Ruth for your very kind feedback. The team really loved looking after you and your lovely daughter. We hope you come to visit us again soon. Maybe this summer...???

Best wishes,
Rachel Duke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Black Diamond Lodge for 3 days and it wasn't long enough! Our room was immaculate with beautiful views. The staff made us feel so welcome and it was a pleasure to return each day to Fionas delicious cakes. We ate in the Black Diamond restaurant for 2 nights of our stay and the food was outstanding, our thanks go to the chefs along with the knowledgeable friendly service from the restaurant staff. The birthday cake was much appreciated too. We had a holiday to remember in luxurious surroundings and were made to feel very welcome by everyone. Our thanks to all the staff.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Mo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLDuke, Owner at Black Diamond Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to review your stay in Black Diamond. The team works very hard to deliver excellent service, and it is so nice for them to receive feedback on their efforts. We love celebrating birthdays with our guests - many a cake has been made this winter so far! We're pleased you enjoyed your celebration. Hoping to see you again very soon.

Yours,

Rachel Duke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews