We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I just can't wait to go back!”

Review of Chalet Sapiniere

Skies clearing after heavy snow
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Skies clearing after heavy snow
Atmospheric indoor swimming pool, hot tub and sauna with beautiful mountain views Spacious dining and living rooms
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Skies clearing after heavy snow
Atmospheric indoor swimming pool, hot tub and sauna with beautiful mountain views
Spacious dining and living rooms
Open plan dining and living room
Upstairs double opposite bathroom and next to shower
Loungers by the pool
View from upstairs twin twin bedrooms with balconies
Ski School at top of Champagny cable car from village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Champagny-en-Vanoise, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Dora E
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I just can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This chalet was perfect, I've been so impressed.

Let's start with the location, it's less than a ten minute (downhill) walk from the ski hire shop/ restaurants, and lift. It looks over Savoie with breathing taking views from the two double sliding doors of the south facing rear of the chalet.Within 5 minutes is a delicious boulangerie, a SPA for essentials, and this chalet sits off the main road so it easy to find. The area was quiet, serene and very relaxing. A perfect getaway.

Now for the chalet, it held 14 of us with such ease, not to mention with warmth and comfort. The beds were comfy and snug, just what we needed after a long day on the slopes. The chalet was warm, during the night we could even afford to open the window for some fresh air. The underfloor heating was an absolute joy – no tip toeing around cold floors. No thank you.

With several bathrooms queuing was not a problem at all. The downstairs hosts a huge but snug seating area, which could entertain 14 of us , but also just two when needed. All whilst having the backdrop of the mountains from the huge windows onto the balcony. There is wi-fi to photo message envious pals back home of the digs, food, and the views.

Adjacent to the sitting area is the dining area, which was able to effortlessly sit 14 around it's huge table. This leads me onto the food which was simply outstanding! 10/10.

The day started with the table laid with fresh baguettes, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs (to your preference), baked beans, butter, a gazillion slice of cheese, meaty stuff ( I ate veggie), cereals (muesli, cornflakes, choc cluster things – the lot), orange juice, apple juice, tea, coffee... you get my drift. It was plentiful and the perfect start to the day.

As for dinner, well, that was something else. Where does one start?

We kicked off with a different tasty starter every evening from blue cheese salad, to mushroom topped bruschetta (tomatoe for one person who politely declined mushrooms). Mains – well I ordered veggie, which is what I will comment on. I had salmon, trout, mussels, sea food stew, prawns, veggie lasagne– each meal was cooked and prepared beautifully. My meals were carefully prepared separately, and certainly not as an after thought. Finally, dessert, again was delicious, and as ever plentiful. There was not one mouthful of food that was not well received by anyone during this week.

Incredibly despite the large group the chalet hosts paid attention to each person, and were able to please 14 hungry stomachs without anything but praise all week. They juggled meat and non meat eaters, fish and non fish eaters, gluten and gluten free eaters plus other more weird and wonderful random food requests- all with patience and in good spirits. And such were the portions that the bread often remained neglected in the centre of the table.

Finally, the crème de a cream was the pool downstairs, which aside from a hot tub and sauna next to it, looked over the most stunning view of the alps. Just what is needed post slope workout, and pre delicious dinner.

In summary, I can't recommend this place enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it.
Liked least: Leaving :(
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee S
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic ski resort with a relaxing retreat in the Alps”
Reviewed 11 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

What a fantastic place in a small village of Champagny en Vanoise!!! Chalet Sapiniere and Barrelli ski have been excellent which has made this years ski holiday with friends a memorable one!!!
The hosts were kind, hard working and a "nothing is too much trouble" attitude which has made our stay a truly relaxing and enjoyable one. The food was great and the chalet itself was clean, tidy and has a warm feel to it plus with the swimming pool and hot tub, it's made this a truly relaxing place to be after a great day of skiing!!!
Would I go again....ABSOLUTELY!!! This has been our 2nd year and just keeps on getting better!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - can't fault this chalet or resort
Liked least: Wifi - poor signal
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlesmi...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Warm and welcoming - amazing team work”
Reviewed 11 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

From the very start, Chalet Sapiniere and the amazing team worked hard to make each of us feel welcome, fully engaged in making our holiday easy and enjoyable, 100% achieved - Thank you Team Sapiniere.

Our food was prepared and delivered professionally – can honestly say, there was not one choice on the menu that I didn’t like, dinner times were yummy (as were the daily cakes).

The property was warm, cosy and well maintained. There was plenty of room for each of us. I really enjoyed relaxing the Pool, Sauna and hot tub after a full day on the slopes.

Chalet Sapiniere, is located in a great spot for easy access to all facilities in the town and the lift.

Amazing team work - thank you - you made our holiday even more enjoyable :)

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather T
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Review Feb '16”
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely can't fault this place, the chalet staff were amazing, the food was delicious too. Chalet was always clean and tidy. Staff on hand for any questions. The pool area is soooo lovely after a day in the snow to relax with jacuzzi. 10/10 can't wait to go back next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markchapm...
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"2years running and we're all still loving"”
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

So, if you want to get a big group of friends together and go snowboarding/skiing then look no further. We have stayed here for two years running and if we enjoyed last year then this one was even better. Steve from Barelli ski is very prompt and professional whilst dealing with your request and from then on in it's like booking from a mate, truly a top guy.

The digs are lovely and the sleeping arrangements are perfect for us, three doubles and four twins. All of them are functional and clean, warm, well laid out with storage. Plenty of bathrooms ensure no queue at breakfast time, dinner time or any other time. The lounge area is plenty big enough to sit everyone and the dining sits all 14 of us comfortably whilst the Chalet hosts wait on us hand and foot. For those that like to relax a little bit further there is use of a pool, sauna and jacuzzi downstairs, whilst shared, we didn't have any problems of fitting in and you have complementary wifi (a must these days)

So that is the sleeping and relaxing side of the review, now my favourite, FOOD! I love food and to be quite honest I love it even more when I've done 30 miles on my board every day. This year was just a giant leap forward from what we thoroughly enjoyed last year. Aperitifs, starters, main course and dessert with white or red wine in too. This food was beautifully presented and extremely tasty but with enough for seconds if you could manage it. I have to say that in years gone by we have always had a private chef and whilst I don't want to have a go at nouvelle cuisine there was nearly always a fight over the bread because, by its very nature, the portions are very small. Not so here, the food was definitely on a par but we left the bread which I think says a lot about your satisfaction. We also had a mixed bag of people, good old fashioned meat eaters, celiac and vegetarian and they managed us all without making it look like an afterthought. We had everything from steak to home made chicken and ham pie and goats cheese pastry tarts and plenty of varieties of fish, our vegetarian loves fish and thought she had died and gone to heaven. So the food is fabulous, do not consider this Chalet without the food, I promise you that you will not be able to eat out any cheaper and the cost over cooking and shopping yourself will be very quickly outweighed by the extra relaxation you will enjoy.

Positioning, well a lot of people go to the north Alps because the transfers are shorter and generally cheaper. We booked our transfers through Barelli ski and they worked out very reasonable. Transfer time from Geneva was about 2hours which flew by looking at all the beautiful surroundings. Champagny is such a stunning small place but particularly well serviced, bars, restaurants, shops, ski hire and even a cinema all crowded into a nice compact area and only a few minutes walk from the Chalet. Once at the gondola station it's about a 15 minute ride and straight out onto the slopes, three lifts later and you could be blasting your way down to la Plagne, an hour sees Montalbert with their new lifts and about ninety minutes will see you having a day in Les Arc. Even without Les Arc there is more than enough with the 250 ish Km of piste and whilst we had it mild nearly all the runs were open and we were lucky enough to have snow Tue/Wed which topped it off nicely. Loads of facilities on the mountain and a nice ice cave at the top where the Glacier is.

So how does that sound? If you seriously want a great place to bed down with good food, good hosts, good slopes and good surroundings then I can't recommend this place enough, it is probably enough to have told you 14 of us will be booking up for next year! Only 356 days..........

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It just keeps getting better and better!
Liked least: i had to fend for ourselves one of the nights. Wednesday to be specific.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing