We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$209
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/07/30
Agoda.com
US$232
US$187
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/07/30
Booking.comUS$217
PricelineUS$232
CheapTicketsUS$209
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
164
47
7
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
164
47
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews feta cheese swimming pool hiking trails sundowner drive self catering farm animals relaxed days breakfast and dinner spent nights monica monika farmhouse bungalow homecooked stoep kudus oasis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2019 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at Etusis in a Bungalow.
The lodge is easily reachable from Karibib and well signed so you find your way.
Monica and Johann are running the lodge very professional. The team is perfectly organised in all matters.
The breakfast and dinner and also the high tea are fabulous. Silvanus and the cooking team are more than talented and food is delicious and creative in every way. Milk products are locally produced and more than delicious.
The rooms are very nice and private, spotless clean and in a very good condition. Housekeeping is doing a great job too!
There is nothing that is old or not well maintained.
The pool area is relaxing and very beautiful to hang around. Pool towels are provided in the rooms.
One evening we did a sundowner drive with Johann and we had the chance to see a lot of the area and the huge property. Johann has so much knowledge and such a passion about nature and the farm. It is simply great to chat with him and I learnt a lot on the drive.
The other morning we made a horse trip (as non riders) to the waterfall. This was highly professional and we never felt uncomfortable or unsafe. The horses, Titus und the Trainee helped to make the ride unforgettable and magically.
You can hike on very well maintained hiking trails around the lodge. Magnificent!
You feel welcome everywhere at the farm and if you love animals you will highly enjoy the rock dassies, kudus, zebras, mongooses,... passing the lodge and water hole.
The farm animals (horses, cattle, sheep) are in a perfect shape. Kiera which is one of the loveliest dogs I ever met and the cats help to feel never lonely when you miss your furfriends at home.
We can highly recommend this very well run lodge.
Thanks so much for the very nice stay. We will be back some day.
Angelika & Reinhold

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank heikob397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeLe1975, Owner at Etusis Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2019

Dear Angelika and Reinhold,

What a wonderful review as an early Christmas gift. We will do our best to keep our standards and would love to welcome you back one day!

Have wonderful holidays!


Per

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2019

Spent 2 nights in the self catering Farmhouse with family (4 adults 2 children.
Very relaxing and all amenities were available. Good walks on both days and some wildlife spotted locally. Monica and Johan are running the lodge and they spent much time chatting and passing on local information.
Although we looked after ourselves with braais and potjies, we were able to use the lodge for drinks and coffee and cakes.
We did stay there last year and enjoyed the full DBB experience also.

Room tip: Farmhouse can sleep about 7 or 8, so good for larger families.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KC S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeLe1975, Inhaber at Etusis Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2019

Thank you very much. We are glad you enjoyed the feeling “of the old farmer” at the farmhouse!

Kindest regards

Per

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2019 via mobile

We actually just booked this lodge to have a night's rest between the long drive from Otavi to Swakopmund. But when we arrived we were really astonished by the beauty of this lodge and the landscape where it is situated. The room we spent the night in was very comfortable, clean and tidy and had a wifi connection in front of the room (almost all other lodges only had wifi within the reception area). The only thing that was a bit negative, was the fact that water tasted a bit different and it takes some time to get used to it. Other than that there are a few activities like horse riding or hiking which are possible. The owners are very friendly and the food was outstanding. The pool is also very nice, with the possibility to play table tennis as well. Altogether we were positively surprised by this lodge and a bit sad we couldn't stay any longer. I strongly recommend this lodge and would definetly come here again.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Philly92x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeLe1975, Inhaber at Etusis Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2019

Thank you so much for your recommendation! We are happy that we could be a positive surprise for you!

Regarding your remark towards the water: our water is coming from a subterranean fountain within the marble mountains. Therefore, it has a high concentration of minerals. Some of our guests love it, others take some time to get acquainted.

It is a wonderful compliment that you consider us for your next trip!

Kindest regards

Per

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2019

The highlight is undoubtedly the dinner together at a large table. Pure Africa feeling with very nice hosts and really good food. The lodge and the accommodations have a high standard. We felt very comfortable as a family with two children (10 and 12 years old). Altogether it is quiet, but there are also enough activities: swimming pool, hiking, horse riding, excursions, ... We are very happy to recommend the Etuis-Lodge!

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank oliverwieben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeLe1975, Inhaber at Etusis Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2019

Thank you so much for your kind words! They express very well what we want Etusis to be!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2019 via mobile

We visited Etusis for just one short stop on our way from Windhoek to Swakopmund.

The drive to the lodge takes some time but it is worth it.

It is a really nice place and the family-rooms (bungalows) are really good. The beds are really comfy and the bathrooms are very nice.

The whole lodge is really nice. The pool area seems also really inviting, but we did not have time to hop in the pool.

The dinner was really delicious. Goof food. A nice buffet with really good food.

We did not do any activities there as we were only staying for a couple of hours.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank auatutas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews