We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$396
View deal
Expedia.com
US$396
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/07/25
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$396
US$326
View deal
Hotels.comUS$396
PricelineUS$395
eDreamsUS$396
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 038)
Filter reviews
1 038 results
Traveller rating
946
53
18
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
946
53
18
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner la corte dei papi david papi steam room his passion our honeymoon grounds are beautiful the cottages beautiful hotel the perfect host service was impeccable very special place tuscan countryside fantastic stay modern amenities wonderful place highlight of our trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1 038 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2020

What a fantastic stay at Relais La Corte dei Papi. The room was just wonderful with our own steam room/shower and bath jacuzzi. David and his staff could not do enough to make our stay comfortable and the he food was just superb. We had the most wonderful stay in the most wonderful surroundings and that is not even taking into account the beautiful area that we were in. We definitely recommend a stay at Relais La Corte dei Papi

Room tip: Some rooms have own garden or terrace
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank U2079QDsuem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2020

We had a disappointing stay at this hotel. We do not recommend.
We booked this hotel for a special occasion because it bills itself as a "romantic luxury hotel", "where the guest could feel at home, placed in the center of every attention to be spoiled and pampered in every moment of your stay." Given their billing and the excellent reviews, we were expecting an excellent experience. Unfortunately, we were disappointed.
Regarding the "luxury" room, it was about 10 sqm smaller than promised on Expedia and was rather old and tired. The room had a number of problems, including poor lighting and broken or missing fixtures. The bathroom was dated and had a broken facet and showerhead. Even the phone in the room did not work. We informed the owner - but he did not fix the problem.
Given the numerous shortfalls of the room and the large number of unoccupied rooms, a true luxury hotel would have moved us to a better room. The owner did not do that.
Acknowledging the numerous problems, the owner did offer us a discount. Our preference would have been to have had a better room.
Breakfast was not to the standard of a true luxury hotel.
Regarding COVID, the hotel appears to have little regard with no temperature check nor the proper wearing of a mask by the owner.
We did not find the professionalism of of this hotel to be that of an establishment which claims to be a 4-star superior class hotel and charges accordingly.
If you want to have a nice stay with a professional establishment and with good value for money avoid this place.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank mgiulieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davi Papi, General Manager at Relais La Corte dei Papi, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2020

We expected this review!

“The Guests” stayed one night at our Relais, they reserved our smallest room with a last minute offer, they dined at our restaurant, and at moment of the checkout their intention was not to pay the bill ... stating: "We have no intention of paying the bill and if.... we will write a very bad review on Tripadvisor! "

Our immediate reaction was to not accept this clear request for…. And the bad review arrived quickly!

We preferred to keep our dignity intact in respect of ourselves, of our daily hard work, and of all our dear clients who adore our Relais and our Restaurant and who annually return and honor Us with their sincere appreciation..

We do not want to comment this review, but we only wish to correctly describe the events.

Upon the clients arrival, as usual and accordingly to the strict protocol, We took their temperature, we asked them to sanitize their hands with the specific gel we provide in all common areas, and we also required them to sign a self-certification in which they declared that They had not contacts with people affected by Covid19.

I am pleased to confirm you that all our staff is very careful to follow our strict protocol for the safety of all our clients and our staff!

They were then accompanied to their room, and we never received any negative comments about their room, no complaints. Quite the opposite, they seemed pleased with the comfort of the room.

In the evening they came to our restaurant for dinner, They ordered a full menu and an excellent bottle of wine.
They congratulated the staff for the excellent dinner and service. It seemed they were enjoying very much their dinner at our restaurant.

As previously mentioned and well explained the following morning at the checkout, they expressed the desire of not paying the bill ... I was stunned..

It’s astounded that people can use such a useful platform for their personal advantage …

Sincerely
David Papi
Owner & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2020

We stayed at the hotel in mid September and had a wonderful time. David and his team did really everything to make us feel at home. Even under difficult circumstances ( Covid-19 remember), and even in moments that we were nearly alone in the hotel, the sevice was always top-notch.
Breakfast was great. The restaurant is of a very high standard (although we only stayed once for dinner - sry David - next time we'll make more use of the restaurant).
This is the 5th time we stayed at Cortona. Definitely one of our best stays. Highly reccomanded if you want to have a fantastic holiday. And yes, we are considering coming back.

Date of stay: September 2020
Thank Compass61894469093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2020

Relais La Corte Dei Papi is a true oasis of Tuscan serenity. From the moment we drove up the Cyprus-lined drive and arrived at David's property, we were impressed. We were greeted with the warmest of welcomes and safely checked in to our room, complete with all the necessary COVID-protocols required to keep all guests safe. We arrived in our room and swung open the chic green shutters to reveal an iconic Tuscan countryside, warm sunshine and the sounds of nature filling the room. I was in Italian heaven!

During our stay, the staff went above and beyond to arrange anything and everything we needed, including two days of private wine tours that included the most sensational wines, and even better food and conversations with owners and locals alike. At night, we enjoyed the exquisite food at the hotel which was exactly as promised, both deliciously traditional, yet marvelously beautiful and plated with a sophisticated, modern flair. I would recommend trying any and all menu items as they are such a delight!

On the day of our checkout, we even enjoyed a morning by the pool, working comfortably in the shade and enjoying our coffee. David graciously took care of us until the very end! I cannot express enough how much we enjoyed our stay, and we will be back to visit our new Tuscan family very very soon!

Trust me, go see David and the family at Relais la Corte Dei Papi. You will not regret it!

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KatherineRainbolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2020 via mobile

While visiting the Cortona-area we had diner 2 evenings in Relais Corte dei Papi. 1 word AMAZING ! The chefs are artists and David the owner is Mr Sympathico himself and offered us beyond warm and kind hospitality ! High class diner with a warm enjoyable feeling. We surely recommend having diner outside in the courtyard near the wonderful pool or inside in a beautiful large diningroom with classy interior. We can also recommend the suites with hammam and jacuzzi as these are the most beautiful rooms we ever saw... high end decoration, amazing choice of colours, fabulous modern comfort in combination with classy Tuscany-style furniture.
This relais, hotel, restaurant is worth staying, dining, as every minute is worth while. We just love it. Thank you David, staff and chefs.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Daisy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews