We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Aamena S
Benoni, South Africa

Bay View Lodge, Mozambique

Review of Bay View Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Oct 2018
Beautiful and safe place to stay. The lodge is clean and tidy. Staff are very friendly and hospitable. Wi-Fi is only available if you are sitting at reception. Would be great if Wi-Fi was available at all the chalets. Prices are good. There are very few sea view chalets.
Date of stay: September 2018
Room Tip: Choose chalet number 4 as this has full sea view
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
2.7 km from Bay View Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
    2.5 km from Bay View Lodge
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
      3.3 km from Bay View Lodge
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      9.2 km from Bay View Lodge
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      10.0 km from Bay View Lodge
      Free parking
      Pool
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      27.8 km from Bay View Lodge
      Free parking
      Pool
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      48.5 km from Bay View Lodge
      Free parking
      Pool
      Go to your Happy Price
      • Agoda.com
      7.3 km from Bay View Lodge
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      9.2 km from Bay View Lodge
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Miramar
      Reviews (75)
      Filter reviews
      75 results
      Traveller rating
      37
      31
      5
      1
      1
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      37
      31
      5
      1
      1
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      3 - 8 of 75 reviews
      Reviewed 23 January 2018

      No room service in public holidays and sunday, but the day I was checking out was a public holiday, but then they came to clean as they had to give to other clients, not clean, very risky to stay in their rooms.

      Date of stay: December 2017
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Review collected in partnership with this hotel
      Thank krunalaks01
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Catharina W, Public Relations Manager at Bay View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

      Dear Mr Krunal
      Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
      It is correct that in general we do not offer a cleaning service on Sundays and public holidays. However, where guests depart and new guests arrive on Sundays or public holidays, WE DO clean and prepare the units and guests are informed of this on arrival.
      During your stay, the unit was cleaned daily, except for Sunday, 31 December (1 day from 5 days spent with us) and during your stay, you never mentioned to our management that the unit was not properly cleaned.
      It is sometimes expected from guests that cleaning staff should be available to them on a full day basis - this is unfortunately not possible. However, if exclusive cleaning staff is needed, guests are welcome to request this at an additional charge.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 21 October 2017

      Very pleasant place to stay. On the beach. Beautiful territory. Comfortable accommodation, a big bed with a mosquito net, a kitchenette, a fridge, utensils, a big bathroom, a hairdryer. The place is for self catering guests, but there is a restaurant on its territory, there is also a restaurant nearby. Very hospitable and friendly hosts. Wifi is available only in the reception, even there it was very slow. Otherwise it is perfect.

      Date of stay: October 2017
      • Trip type: Travelled solo
        • Rooms
        • Service
      Thank Svitlana Z
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 1 October 2017

      We had an restfull and pleasant stay at Bay View Lodge. Sharon was friendly & helpfull. Would not mind visiting again and bringing the kids along. Would really be nice as soon as swiming pool is completed.

      Date of stay: September 2017
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Review collected in partnership with this hotel
      Thank Vicki D
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 31 August 2017

      Travelling on a group tour, this was our second stop. If you are looking for a peaceful beach location, with plenty of opportunity for snorkelling and diving, then Bay View Lodge fits the bill. Two beach cafes with good food and where you can relax if feeling lazy are very close by. I was not expecting luxury accommodation (although it is described by such in their website) but feel that they need to look at one or two issues - the front door did not close without using undue force. Two of the bedroom doors would not close properly - in fact the handle of one broke trying to open it - fortunately someone was around to help .... My bathroom was not cleaned... Our chalet (I think the furthest from the main house) was about a 5 minute walk (shortcut) across sand and through the vegetation. However there were no signs whatever to the properties and no lighting at all (at night it was pitch black) - so if going back by oneself, needed someone to make sure one made it back safely. There was the danger of the longer "road" route getting flooded, so this shortcut was the only option. Wooden signposts in the ground would have helped, together with some form of lighting.

      Date of stay: August 2017
      • Trip type: Travelled solo
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Service
      Thank Ruth P
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Catharina W, Public Relations Manager at Bay View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

      Dear Ruth
      Thank you for taking time to post a review. Unacceptable that bathrooms (or any other cleaning) are not done properly! All units are serviced daily, except Sundays/public holidays and the lady in charge of this house will be shown your review and points deducted.
      We're having problems with the local 'hardware' supply - including door handles, light bulbs, and certain rubber seals, which are imported and of sub-standard. We're awaiting an order from South Africa. Also, being at the coast, wooden doors and frames 'swell', resulting in doors not opening/closing properly. The particular house you stayed in is actually a PRIVATE house, in Bayview ESTATE, which we had to use when one of our 2-bedroom houses - which we normally would use for the group of which you were part of - was booked by a local tourism official. Owner of this house now aware of the door situation.
      Your remarks re. lighting and/or signage to and from the private houses (where you stayed) in Bayview ESTATE, and Bayview Lodge (holiday units) are valid, and we'll liase with the home owners and our management in getting, particularly lights, installed .
      Hope that you will visit again and find that through your remarks, we did indeed improve our cleaning and facilities.
      Regards
      Catharina Wilfinger

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 8 March 2017

      I absolutely loved staying at Bay View Lodge for my first trip to Mozambique. The lodge was huge even though we only came as a party of 3. The house can easily hold a big family or a larger party. They have everything you need from braai stand, to fully equipped kitchen etc. The rooms were clean, the nets had very small holes but nothing a plaster or tap can't fix. The sheets and towels were clean. It is right by the beach which was amazing and brings in a breeze against the heat. Restaurants were in walking distance and local clubs/music/bars and markets were just a 10 min drive out to Tofo. The staff are just unbelievably amazing. We got there a day late because we took the "Short cut" (don't do this, do not follow gps ask Bayview lodge if coming from JHB and driving) so they accommodated us to stay a day after our initial booking. The security washed our totally wrecked car to perfection as if nothing ever happened. They even washed our sneakers.

      All around I am definitely coming back to Bay view lodge on my next trip

      Tip: A can of Doom and a stick of peaceful sleep in each room would be helpful since we finished ours in just 2 days. The Mosquitos ARE REAL OUT HERE!

      Date of stay: February 2017
      • Trip type: Travelled with friends
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank SilverWearsT
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews