We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveller rating
355
88
35
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
355
88
35
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea sandwiches hidden gem huge bed eggs benedict grounds are lovely country lane a real treat wine list a la carte menu cribbs causeway wedding breakfast beautiful room birthday treat wedding reception lovely hotel roaring fire
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 496 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018

This lodge is quite hidden off the road but makes it more tranquil and special. The gardens are very pretty and once inside the building is just as pretty and layed out to a high standard. We had afternoon tea for a freinds birthday and had a lovely spread. We was left in peace most of the time but there was staff around if we needed anything. They even put a cake on one of the cakes once they realised it was a birthday event. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Ngunbay_Spirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berwickbristol, Owner at Berwick Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear Ngunbay, Thank you for your lovely feedback on trip advisor. do come back when it gets warmer so you can walk around the ever changing gardens. Best Wishes Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

We decided to have a weekend away in Bristol and we are so glad we stayed here! We stayed in the Galatia room which despite reading the reviews saying it was too small it was absolutely perfect. The bed was in the middle of the room, therefore no issues getting in and out of the bed with plenty of room to walk around the bed. Only issue was the creaky bed every time you rolled over. But on the whole, a small, cosy room with an amazing bathroom - especially the bath!!
We ate dinner in the restaurant, we had a lovely table in the window and the service was second to none. All staff were friendly and very attentive. The food itself was delious and well presented. We then had a few drinks in the lounge, in front of the log burner which was perfect on a chilly, snowy evening. Overall our stay was amazing and if visiting Bristol again we would definitely return :) thank you very much!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophdan249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berwickbristol, Owner at Berwick Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear Sophie,
Thank you for your amazing review on trip advisor. We really hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Glad you like the Galatia room as we have made some changes to this room based on customer feedback. Please do come back soon. Best Wishes Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here this weekend for my 30th birthday, the lodge is very nicely kept but very relaxed, lovely little dog on reception to greet you. The room we stayed in was very large and comfortable with a huge bath. Dinner was lovely and intimate service was very attentive, same for breakfast nothing was too much. I would recommend staying at the lodge.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berwickbristol, Owner at Berwick Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear Kelly, Thank you for your lovely review on tripadvisor . I have passed your comments onto the staff and to Monty the house dog... woof. We hope to see you back at Berwick Lodge again soon. Best Wishes Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

We have visited before but this is the first time we have stayed and had dinner, the food is fabulous and the best I have eaten apart from in a Michelin starred restaurant, the service was 1st class and lovely attention to detail, the rooms are lovely with all the facilities you would expect and nothing was to much trouble, again thank you for a great experience, roll on the Michelin star.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berwickbristol, Owner at Berwick Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear Andrew, Thank you for your really lovely comments on trip advisor. We are so happy you decided to stay the night with us. Do come back again soon Andrew as we are constantly improving what we do here at Berwick Lodge.
Best Wishes Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

despite living in Bristol I did not know this gem exsisted. We booked through secret escapes and it was an extremly good buy one night with breakfast eve meal and late check out Small country hotel but without the pompousness you can experience in some establishments. Very helpful staff nothing too much trouble
I initally booked an entry level room india /caspian but when i looked on the Berwick lodge site realise these where accessed by a external spiral staircase (not mentioned on site i used) I contacted the hotel and they where happy to change the room to the lykia. lovely room but only one key available as previous guest had taken other one ,and only a shower with no shower cap ,But again offered another room the kappadkia. Huge room lovely views . Radiators in the room could easily be controlled
traditional dinning room food was excellant service good
lovely grounds cant wait to go back for afternoon tea
If i was being very picky some areas of cleaning could be better in bathroom ie droped something and in trying to retrive found an item belong to a previous quest
but it was at the back of a fixed unit with small gap at front
There were water marks on ceiling as other poeple have commented but i did not feel this was an issue
I noticed that the biscuits that were put in the rooms (nice touch) were in an uncovered bowl would have liked it to be covered also no obvious way of picking up
I WOULD BE MORE THAN HAPPY TO STAY HERE IN THE FUTURE

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joy5907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berwickbristol, Owner at Berwick Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear Joy, Thank you for your recent trip advisor review. we are delighted you would like to return to see us.
Thank you for bringing the water mark ceiling to my attention. Mateus our little maintenance man who has been with us for 5 years has just finished painting. We have also filled in the little gap. We really hope to see you again soon. Best wishes Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews