We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$152
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$152
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.comUS$152
Priceline
eDreamsUS$152
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
32
20
7
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
32
20
7
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa rica golden palms playa panama rental car breakfast was included nice room won t out of the way hotel is situated staff was very friendly beach taxi grounds waves towns guide birds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2020

We stayed at the Golden Palms Papagaya for one week.  The staff was very nice, assisted us when we had a question and/or concern.  The resort itself is very relaxing, right along the beach and is beautifully maintained.  The morning breakfast was good, we enjoyed it.  However, the A la carte menu was somewhat limited, we did eat at the restaurant three evenings.   The Golden Palms is located by itself, not within too near of a distance of other restaurants, shopping, etc.  Thus unless you want total seclusion, it is best if you have rental car to get out and about.  Otherwise, transportation is very limited.  We did have a rental car for the week and did a lot of traveling around the area.

Date of stay: January 2020
1  Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2020

It’s an easy half hour from the airport in Liberia to the hotel. The GP is colorful but somewhat dated, however our room was spacious, the bed was super comfortable and the property was well tended and filled with animals, especially birds. The rooms were clean and the staff was pleasant. Situated north on the Pacific, this is a low key destination. If you rent a vehicle (recommended) you can quickly reach more touristy towns or activities. A benefit of its location and age is not having to jockey for space by the pool or a seat at dinner. The nearby beach has public access but was never as crowded as some other beaches we visited. The waves are gentle enough for small children to play in without getting knocked over. We would happily return to the GP in the future. If you want a quiet out of the way hotel, this would be the place to stay.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2020

Our experience in this hotel was terrible, to say the least! To summarize:
1) To have continuous warm/hot water to have a shower is a challenge for them.
2) Staff is unqualified to solve issues.
3) Breakfast buffet has a poor selection and it is understaffed with servers.
4) Rooms are nice but the distribution and design are awful (people with mobility challenges should be aware that all rooms have stairs to go from the bed to the bathroom). Ohh yes and the doors do not close entirely so mosquitos and bugs are common visitors.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGrro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2020 via mobile

The hotel is situated right at the beach, although the beach is not super nice (extremely old path leading to the beach and not maintained at all). The rooms would be very nice if they had better maintenance, unfortunately the whole infrastructure is quite old. No activities are offered and very isolated hotel, nicer places and beaches need to be reached by car. The pool beds were extremely uncomfortable, it basically felt as laying on plain wood. Compared to other hotels at the beach, this one was by far the worst. Also the breakfast choice is poor and not of good quality. The staff is nice and friendly, but cannot tell you the prices of the breakfast menu which is somehow weird. On the whole, we would not return here, especially given the high prices we paid..

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank N8702CEalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2020 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for one night between Monteverde and heading to the airport for an early flight. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, letting us check in several hours early. The facilities are a bit dated (e.g., with plumbing that cannot handle toilet paper). But the rooms are very spacious (we had a very comfy king-sized bed), the pool area is nice, and you’re right on the beach (with some nice hammocks). This place won’t be everyone’s favorite, but it nicely served its purpose for us.

Date of stay: December 2019
1  Thank mikepb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews