We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for little ones and grown ups alike”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Talland, Looe, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Happi_Nes...
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect for little ones and grown ups alike”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here in June 2014 and the weather was lovely and hot. The house being upside down made downstairs cooler which was better come night time and meant we still had sun upstairs so once we had put our little man to bed we were able to enjoy the last of the sun on the balcony with a lovely glass of wine. This house was everything we needed and more. The open plan living/dining/kitchen was great it made the place light and airy. It was perfect for our little man to run back and forth the way he loves to and the stair gate provided by the owners for the top of the stairs meant we had no worries of his safety. The balcony was also very safe and no worries with little man on there either.
All of the amenities we of a high standard on the site the swimming pool was lovely not busy at all for the time of year we went and the sauna was nice too. Everything in the house was great too all of the cooking facilities pots and pans etc. If you needed it it was there it seemed like the owners had thought of everything. The only thing that was odd was there was only two wine glasses, and in a house for 6 people thats not a lot but it was not a major thing.
We ordered our food before hand and paid £8 to the people on site to unpack so when we got there all our food was in the fridge or freezer. Just a note that the freezer isn't that big so if ordering frozen food dont order too much. We had just enough room for everything we needed to order. We used the BBQ when we were there which was great. There was a washing machine and dryer great to get your clothes washed before you leave.
The bedrooms were lovely we had the master bedroom with the en suite shower which was great and there were double doors onto a decked area with seating which we used quite a bit. The one downside to the upside down house I guess is that there is only doors that open to the outside in the two double rooms. So unless you feel safe you may not want to leave it open. in the small room there is a window and really good shutters to shut out the light, the owners also provided a travel cot for little man which was handy too. To be fair the whole complex felt safe one night my husband accidentally left his keys in the car and they were still there the next day. Not recommended but shows how safe it is.
The staff on reception were helpful if we needed any info.
There was a lot to do in the area depending on what you like the coastal walks to Looe and Polperro are lovely but I doubt you could do it with a pushchair and with small children be careful as there are a lot of stinging nettles along the way. We went one night to the Talland Bay hotel for dinner and drinks just the two of us it was beautiful both the food and the views of the coast are amazing only a couple of mins drive from where we were so easily taxied there and back. I would strongly recommend this place to people with children and I would come back again we loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The house was beautiful and airy.
Liked least: The road to get there was very winding and narrow
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
Hi there,

thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review for House 23.

The upside down houses are a brilliant change from the norm and the open plan kitchen/living areas are always popular with families who have little ones.

It's great to know that you felt safe at Talland, we pride ourselves on being a safe family site, and the area in general is a very friendly, quiet one.

We're sorry about the wine glasses, we do try and replace all broken glasses in the houses, we may have run out of spares on the week you visited... it sounds like the guests who were in the week before you may have had a few accidents!

Your recommendation of walking the coastal path is one we encourage most of our guests to do as well (but like you said, it wouldn't be enjoyable with a buggy) we recommend going with small children in a baby/child carrier which makes the walk a bit easier. It is a lovely stretch of coast which we're happy you got to enjoy.

Thank you once again for such a great review, we hope you do manage to come back and visit soon.

Best Wishes,
The Bay Talland Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimKathry...
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Off-season sunshine!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

My wife and eight month old son have just returned from a wonderful week in this property. It's a fantastic house, designed and equipped to a very high standard, with the highlight being the amazing open-plan living / kitchen / dining area, with french windows on to a balcony that has a great view, and is something of a sun trap. Our little boy spent many happy hours playing on the floor with a warm breeze drifting into the room!

The house had absolutely everything we needed for a great week away, and more. With a little one in tow, and not so much chance for heading to restaurants in the evening, this was especially helpful when it came to cooking - wish this was our kitchen at home! We also loved the ensuite in the master bedroom, and the lovely bath in the main bathroom for our son's bathtime.

The complex itself is great, and was exceptionally quiet, given our off-season timing. We spent three sessions in the pool, and had it to ourselves each time (I imagine this wouldn't be the case in the summer, but it's a good size, and very clean, so shouldn't be a problem).

It's a short walk down to Talland Bay, along the coast path or road (both quite steep, but fine with a baby carrier). We also explored Looe and Polperro, along with a trip to Padstow for a bike ride on the Camel trail, and a visit to the Eden Project.

We were incredibly fortunate to have the best week of the year so far, some days temperatures creeping into the high teens, and sunny almost every day. It made for a truly special week away, and we would definitely come back to number 23!

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2014
Hello there,

Many Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed and kind review.

23 is a great house with a brilliant set up and we're so happy you felt it met all your needs with a little one. The open plan living is a real draw and the countryside views from the top balcony are a bit of a bonus.

We hope to welcome you back to Talland very soon,

Best Wishes,
The Bay Talland Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCJ831
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little slice of paradise”
Reviewed 7 April 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Great location, fantastic accomodation and superb facilities. Perfect for young families as is safe, secure and fun. Accomodation was beautifully furnished, a real home from home and the scones and jam on arrival were a welcome find after a long and tiring journey! Pool facilities were great too and was very child friendly. In fact the whole complex was family friendly with incredibly friendly and helpful caretakers on hand. We will definately be back. Tip: I would advise organising food shopping online to arrive as you do!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secure site, beautiful location
Liked least: Houses very warm
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, it's always great to receive such positive comments.

Good tip about the food shopping to save you precious holiday time.

We're glad you liked the site so much, we pride ourselves on being a safe and friendly environment for everyone, but especially families with little ones.

we hope to welcome you all back soon,

Kind Regards,

The Bay Talland team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing