We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing Fantastic Family Holiday”

Review of House 4

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Talland, Looe, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul B
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing Fantastic Family Holiday”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Have just come back from a fantastic weeks holiday at The Bay, Talland. Stuart and Lynn run a fantastic site, even accepting delivery of ours son's birthday surprise of a bike whilst there. Lovely heated swimming pool which our 6 month old adored, the freshwater pool set in the grounds was more to the six year olds taste. Bit chilly for me :) I would definitely stay here again! Lovely contemporary accommodation and just a wonderful relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rooftop views, the freshwater pool, the indoor pool, contemporary surroundings
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2015
Thank you for such a lovely review - the out door plunge pool certainly seems to be a hit with the children who visit! We hope your son enjoyed his surprise birthday bike, lucky boy! We hope to welcome you back to The Bay at some point in the future.

Kindest Regards

The Bay Team!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucyjourn...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Felt like a bit of a 'poor relation'.”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house was lovely and the location great but we were disappointed at the poor state of repair of the garden seating and total lack of seating on the roof terrace. My elderly parents left early, partly because there was nowhere for them to sit and relax outside. Two of the four garden chairs were broken and the remaining were in too bad a state for an elderly person to sit on safely. And what a shame we couldn't make use of the roof terrace, only a plastic storage box to sit on, while the neighbouring properties have luxurious sofas and some even have hot tubs. We did feel like the 'poor relations' of the development! There is also no proper outdoor dining seating, only a picnic bench which is ok for children but no good for proper adult meals.
We reported all this to main reception at the start of the week but they were unable to help as this is the owners responsibility. We were told on check out that as a result of our complaints new furniture is arriving next week - no good for us but subsequent bookings may have a more relaxing time!
I would only recommend this property for families with children as the gardens are communal and it can get quite noisy if children are playing or in the outdoor pool.
The nearby beaches are nice and have great areas for rock pooling but don't expect golden sands. There were also lots of sandflies around, although that may be seasonal. Stock up as there are no shops nearby. The local beach cafes are lovely but only one opens in the evenings (weekends only). We heard the Talland Bay hotel was good for food but didn't get the chance to try it.
I hate to be negative but it's amazing how details like poor outdoor seating can colour what would otherwise have been a good experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The lack of garden furniture
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2015
Thankyou for reviewing your holiday here at The Bay Talland. We are really sorry that your holiday did not exceed your expectations. We did contact the homeowner regarding the outdoor furniture straight away, and the homeowner did order new furniture. Unfortunately there was a delay with the courier and therefore was not available for you to enjoy. All of our houses are unique and individually furnished by their owners and we do try our best to ensure photography and descriptions are as accurate as possible (the outdoor table is shown on the website). As a small family business we do appreciate your comments and we will use your feedback to try and ensure that everybody has a great holiday experience with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianD090...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing break lovely location”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent a week at this lovely location.... The house number 4 was Beautiful. Staff friendly and helpful and you can't say much more than it was perfect.......

We would highly recommend the bay to anyone.

Looking forward to our next stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2014
Hi there,

Many thanks for taking the time to review House 4.

What a short but sweet summary, and it is always great to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay enough to recommend a holiday to friends and family. That really is the highest praise.

We hope we will see you at Talland again soon.

Many Thanks,

The Bay Talland Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, situation and facilities
Liked least: Coming home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Nov 2013
Hi there

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such positive feedback, it's always lovely to hear such great comments.

We're so happy you enjoyed our beautiful outdoor areas and the roof garden, and thank you very much for leaving the tips about walking and parking.

We hope to welcome you back soon

Kind Regards,

The Bay Talland team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing