We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fort D'Acre Reserve
Nearby Hotels
Halyards Hotel(Port Alfred)
US$66
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
MyPond Hotel(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Graham Hotel(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve(Kwandwe Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
70
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe reservelovely lodgeexcellent hostsgame drivesking suitebeautiful private beachdining tablefish riverher husbandwonderful placewonderful staybest of both worldsyour doorstepbreathtaking viewshidden gemonce in a lifetimewild animals
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2015

What a wonderful venue. Nicole is amazing and made us feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble. There are beautiful views from the lodge, and the private entrance to the beach & lapa was a bonus. We would definitely recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MeganHar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortdAcre, Manager at Fort D'Acre Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2015

Dear Megan,

Thank you very much for the kind words and we are so glad you enjoyed the stay with us. It was great meeting both of you and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Warm Regards
The Fort D'Acre Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2015

After driving down the east coast on a hot February day we arrived at this awesome game lodge. The arrival is understated but driving around the back reveals the stately lodge looking out over the savannah down to Fish Bay with a beautiful African garden and pool behind the lodge. The view from most rooms is to die for and coupled with the warm, 'nothing-is-too-much' welcome and ongoing service, we were a very happy bunch of guys. The lodge has an African Game Lodge theme with a classic, almost colonial, quality feel. The game drive and the walk down to the beach at Fish Bay were memorable. I found Fort D'Acre on Trip Advisor and the glowing reports and the photographs are exactly how it is and I would certainly stay there again when I'm in this part of South Africa. Paul, Peter and Peter.

Room Tip: The twin room does not have the panoramic view but this is easily seen from the common areas.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortdAcre, Manager at Fort D'Acre Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2015

Hi Paul, thank you for your wonderful words about your visit with us, we are so glad all of you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back one day to our special piece of African paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
31
Reviewed 24 May 2015 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay at Forte D' Acre. Nicole was amazing, very informative and knowledgeable about the reserve and nothing was too much trouble. The lappa was a real bonus. I would recommend a stay here to unwind and enjoy the peace and tranquillity with some beautiful views from the lodge

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortdAcre, Manager at Fort D'Acre Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2015

We are so glad you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the reserve. It was only a pleasure looking after you while you were with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fort D' Acre again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2015

What a pleasant surprise when arriving at Fort D'Acre Reserve. After a warm welcome we were shown all the facilities. This beautiful old farmstead has been changed into a top class private game reserve lodge. The house is decorated in an upmarket game lodge style and has a fantastic atmosphere. Management and staff provided a personal service. The view towards the Fish River mouth is great. Whenever in the Eastern Cape again, we will most certainly return to this lodge.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Herman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortdAcre, Manager at Fort D'Acre Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2015

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great meeting you and we look forward to welcoming you back to experience the new Fort D'Acre Reserve.
Regards from the Bush, the Fort D'Acre Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2014

Beautyful location, nicley furnished, wonderful landscape and view, exemplary service, beach walking, game viewing,swimming in the pool, a well equipped kitchen for self catering - a clear recommendation for relaxing hollidays

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fredandrenatek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortdAcre, Manager at Fort D'Acre Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2015

Renate and Friedrich, it was such a pleasure having you to stay, we look forward to welcoming you at Fort D'Acre again. Lesley and Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews