We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
tnick48
Schoemansville, South Africa

Tranquil surroundings but rooms could do with a facelift

Review of Ten Bompas
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 08 May 2023via mobile
I actually would have given a score of just under 4 if I could. This hotel has been around for quite a while and was conveniently located for me post a meal out. The hotel is part of the Marriott group now and am accustomed to the customary greeting and status recognition , etc, but none of this. First, the booking could not be found, and then it was with a comment that I was due the previous day, which I had amended. In Marriott properties, there is the option for a food voucher or 1000 points, but when I asked about this, there was a lack of any recognition of this, so I left it. Anyway the room is spacious with separate living and bedroom with balcony that is in the garden and is very peaceful. The first impression is that the rooms are dated and very dark, though to be fair, the garden can affect this. However, the overall decor was very reminiscent of 1990 hotels, as was the bathroom, but everything did work, especially the wifi. I can't remember the last time I saw a mini hifi system like there was in the room! Given its location, the peace and quiet were great, and the hotel does have backup power generation.
Not wanting to sound too harsh, but a revamp would be of great benefit, and considering that there are more up to date and cheaper hotels around (maybe per square metre, not so) the property would certainly benefit. I did enjoy my stay and provided all that I needed but was disappointed when comparing web pictures to reality. The location is very good with easy access to Sandton, etc, and highways. Hyde Park shopping centre is walking distance.
Date of stay: May 2023
Room Tip: Limited but secure parking.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
    0.5 km from Ten Bompas
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      R 2 473
    • Expedia.com
      R 4 090
    0.0 km from Ten Bompas
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      R 974
    • Algotels
    0.7 km from Ten Bompas
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      R 460
    • Booking.com
    1.2 km from Ten Bompas
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Exterior
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      R 1 347
    • Hotels.com
    1.4 km from Ten Bompas
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      R 1 753
    • Hotels.com
    1.4 km from Ten Bompas
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    1 & 2 Bedroom Apartment - Bedroom
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      R 1 098
    • Booking.com
    1.4 km from Ten Bompas
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Hotel exterior
    R 1 700
    Fully refundable
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Algotels
    0.7 km from Ten Bompas
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
      R 1 029
    • Priceline
    0.7 km from Ten Bompas
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    R 2 633
    R 2 525
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      R 2 525
    1.5 km from Ten Bompas
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    View more hotels in Dunkeld West
    Reviews (159)
    Filter reviews
    159 results
    Traveller rating
    123
    25
    8
    2
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    123
    25
    8
    2
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews an oasis interesting hotel the bed was extremely comfortable sitting area wine cellar peace and tranquility nice garden small hotel busy city walking distance fireplace johannesburg laundry rosebank revamp
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    4 - 9 of 159 reviews
    Reviewed 31 October 2022

    This is no modern hotel but the quality of the hotel is really high. Staff are very helpful, the meal is good and the environment is really peaceful, clean, safe and tranquil. Lovely hotel with just 10 guests in 10 suites, I would recommend and would also stay again.

    Date of stay: October 2022
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Qristo
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 9 October 2022 via mobile

    The food was ok. The place was pretty and very tidy. Nice garden and good facilities for meetings. The projector was located too close to the ceiling and was very hard to manage to improve the size and quality of the image. Location was close to Rosebank.

    Date of stay: September 2022
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    Thank DrCDavisB
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Sean Hall, General Manager at Ten Bompas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2022

    Dear DrCDavisB

    Thank you taking the time to provide us with your review. I am thrilled you got to enjoy our gardens and found our conference facilities to be good. Whilst our projector is fully controllable via a remote, we will certainly have a look to see if there was perhaps a setting that needed to be changed.

    Warm Regards

    Sean Hall

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 September 2022

    We enjoyed a lovely night at Ten Bompas. Warm hospitality, quality service, a roomy suite and a first rate dining experience on the property which felt like an oasis in the midst of Johannesburg’s bustle.

    Date of stay: September 2022
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank W7877KHdianec
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Sean Hall, General Manager at Ten Bompas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2022

    Dear Diane C,

    Thank you very much for your positive review and high rating. I am thrilled that you found our hospitality to be warm and got to enjoy our Winehouse restaurant.

    We hope to welcome you back soon!

    Warm regards

    The Ten Bompas Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 June 2022 via mobile

    Not far from sandton city in a nice area you find the peaceful hotel with a few rooms but they are quite big with plenty of space and even a fireplace which was needed as was very cold. Friendly service and resturant in the lobby area, with a wonderful breakfast. Green outside area with pool and terrase and wine cellar for tasting. We spent two plesant days and enjoyed.

    Date of stay: June 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank david z
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Peter Aucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2022

    Thank you so much for this feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Warmest regards, Peter and the team from Ten Bompas Hotel.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 February 2022

    Hi , we arrived from Toronto, the hotel and the gardens are stunning. Our room was spotless and so so comfortable with a gorgeous porch. The staff were so responsive to our every need. Our laundry was done every day, complementary. The staff were incredibly friendly and whatever we needed was attended to immediately. The whole experience was incredible and we were so sad to leave and hope to be back soon!!!A must visit while in Johannesburg!!

    Date of stay: February 2022
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank G1CF
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Sean Hall, General Manager at Ten Bompas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2022

    Dear G1CF,

    Thank you for your positive review, I am thrilled you found the team to be responsive and i am very happy you got to enjoy our beautifully appointed bedrooms.

    We hope to welcome you back soon!

    Warm regards

    Sean & the Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews