We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Chris C

Brief stopover

Review of Ten Bompas
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Sept 2022
We enjoyed a lovely night at Ten Bompas. Warm hospitality, quality service, a roomy suite and a first rate dining experience on the property which felt like an oasis in the midst of Johannesburg’s bustle.
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sean Hall, General Manager at Ten Bompas, responded to this review
Responded 04 Oct 2022
Dear Diane C,

Thank you very much for your positive review and high rating. I am thrilled that you found our hospitality to be warm and got to enjoy our Winehouse restaurant.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards

The Ten Bompas Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
    0.5 km from Ten Bompas
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Lol.travel
      R 2 426
    • Hotels.com
    0.0 km from Ten Bompas
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    R 1 880
    Fully refundable
    • Agoda.com
      R 552
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
    1.0 km from Ten Bompas
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      R 1 263
    • Hotels.com
    0.7 km from Ten Bompas
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • eDreams
    • Expedia.com
      R 464
    • Priceline
    1.2 km from Ten Bompas
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Exterior
    R 1 405
    Fully refundable
    • Expedia.com
      R 1 632
    • Agoda.com
      R 1 385
    • Priceline
    1.4 km from Ten Bompas
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    R 1 603
    • Expedia.com
      R 1 754
    • Vio.com
      R 1 457
    • Priceline
      R 1 748
    1.4 km from Ten Bompas
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    1 & 2 Bedroom Apartment - Bedroom
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      R 1 197
    • Hotels.com
    1.4 km from Ten Bompas
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    R 2 768
    R 2 632
    • Expedia.com
      R 2 650
    • Hotels.com
      R 2 650
    • Priceline
      R 2 631
    1.4 km from Ten Bompas
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Hotel exterior
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
      R 1 362
    • Booking.com
    0.7 km from Ten Bompas
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    View more hotels in Dunkeld West
    Reviews (159)
    Filter reviews
    159 results
    Traveller rating
    123
    25
    8
    2
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    123
    25
    8
    2
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews an oasis interesting hotel the bed was extremely comfortable sitting area wine cellar peace and tranquility nice garden small hotel busy city walking distance fireplace johannesburg laundry rosebank revamp
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    7 - 12 of 159 reviews
    Reviewed 4 June 2022 via mobile

    Not far from sandton city in a nice area you find the peaceful hotel with a few rooms but they are quite big with plenty of space and even a fireplace which was needed as was very cold. Friendly service and resturant in the lobby area, with a wonderful breakfast. Green outside area with pool and terrase and wine cellar for tasting. We spent two plesant days and enjoyed.

    Date of stay: June 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank david z
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Peter Aucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2022

    Thank you so much for this feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Warmest regards, Peter and the team from Ten Bompas Hotel.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 February 2022

    Hi , we arrived from Toronto, the hotel and the gardens are stunning. Our room was spotless and so so comfortable with a gorgeous porch. The staff were so responsive to our every need. Our laundry was done every day, complementary. The staff were incredibly friendly and whatever we needed was attended to immediately. The whole experience was incredible and we were so sad to leave and hope to be back soon!!!A must visit while in Johannesburg!!

    Date of stay: February 2022
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank G1CF
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Sean Hall, General Manager at Ten Bompas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2022

    Dear G1CF,

    Thank you for your positive review, I am thrilled you found the team to be responsive and i am very happy you got to enjoy our beautifully appointed bedrooms.

    We hope to welcome you back soon!

    Warm regards

    Sean & the Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 January 2022

    What a lovely place to stay in an ideal location in Johannesburg. This small hotel is an oasis of calm amidst this busy city. Our suite was spacious and very well appointed, the bed was extremely comfortable, nice to have a sitting area separate from the bedroom. Plenty of storage space as well. Sadly the food was a little disappointing but this can be forgiven as there were very few guests and I presume most things were frozen in order to avoid too much waste. The service by the staff, particularly Gloria, Abie and Emmanuel was exemplary and they made our stay so comfortable. Will definitely return to this wonderful hotel.

    Date of stay: December 2021
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank gwynnethv2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Peter Aucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2022

    Dear Gwynneth, thank you for you review of our hotel. Great to see that you enjoyed your suite and terrace. Thanks for mentioning the service staff, we will share your comments with them. We note your comments on the food. It shouldnt have been frozen but there may have been an issue with the change of seasonal menu, and working through the older items before bringing in the new. Not an excuse but we will take this up with the chef. Warmest regards, Peter and the team at Ten Bompas

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 October 2021

    My husband and I had a night in Johannesburg and wanted to splurge and stay somewhere nice. Wow, did this hotel not disappoint. The trip started off with a snafu; I noticed when I checked into the hotel that I had left my passport on the plane. Mitch, the manager, called the airline for me (which saved me hours of wait time) to have someone physically check our plane. He also knew someone in tech ops that he called in for a personal favor. In such a stressful situation, I was completely blown away by the level of service to make my stay comfortable. About the rooms: comfortable beds, spacious, and welcome bottle of wine in the room on arrival. The property was well maintained and the restaurant in the hotel was incredible. We liked the restaurant so much we ate there for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Appeared to be a destination restaurant for others not staying in the hotel to make a trek to eat at. We hope we can come back to this beautiful property. Thank you to Mitch and his talented staff for making the trip so special!

    Date of stay: October 2021
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank S1922UHcourtneyh
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 24 June 2021 via mobile

    Early June 2021 I celebrated my 50th birthday in a closed function luncheon at The Wine Room at Ten Bompas.
    From the initial meeting with Mitch to follow-up correspondence and engagement with Maleeha & Mitch, the service was impeccable & their flexibility in planning amazing.
    With strict COVID protocols, they served a fantastic 3 course luncheon to my closest friends and family within agreed numbers, timing and most importantly budget without any compromise on service or standards of their establishment.
    The atmosphere is casual elegance; the food remarkable & the service exceptional. A simple array of starters were offered, followed by an offering of 4 main meals and 3 desserts to choose from.
    Maleeha, Mitch & their team made my celebrations truly memorable and have not only gained me as an avid fan, but all who attended the celebration.
    I am so grateful to this special group of people and highly recommend the establishment to any who have not yet experienced what they have to offer.

    Date of stay: June 2021
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank AngelaCharS
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews