We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I intend to revisit this chateau and this area...”
other traveller has booked this property
Chateau Caillac
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chateau Caillac
Cezanne Room (Groundfloor) Balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
79 reviews
Chateau Caillac
Cezanne Room (Groundfloor)
Balcony
Garden Pond
Turret
More Turrets
Pool House Dining Area
Private Jetty
Crystal Balustrade in the round Turret
Moreau Room
Wisteria in the front garden
Bouguereau Room
Cezanne Room with private lounge area
One of the beautiful Plane Trees
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chateau -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Fongrave, Lot-et-Garonne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julia M
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I intend to revisit this chateau and this area again and again and again.”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This luxury self-catering accommodation is situated right on the banks of the river Lot, which makes it ideal for large groups with diverse interests. There is space to be together for dining and relaxing, whilst there is also ample space to lose yourself to read, rest or reflect. I have now visited Chateau Caillac on several occasions, both with family and friends. It has everything to offer, for both young and old, whatever individual tastes and preferences. Despite unusually poor weather on this last trip, the outstanding beauty of the location shines through. Several beautiful villages are within cycling distance (some flat rides and some hills) and there are several bikes and tandems available for use. Places like Agen and Bordeaux are a manageable drive away and there are stunning historic villages in the vicinity, such as Penne d'Agenais and Monflanquin. I have travelled widely, but I return again and again to this idyllic location, for its peace and tranquility, relaxed lifestyle and friendly, helpful local people. I cannot recommend this stunning chateau highly enough, as it combines old world charm with modern comforts. The best of everything!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: There is nothing I can fault. I can't wait to go back.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
It has always been our goal to provide something for everyone so that groups all enjoy their stay at the Chateau and it's good to hear that we are getting it right. Thank you for booking the Chateau again this year and for taking the time to write the review. hopefully you will come along again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing place to holiday with friends”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the chateaux for a girls holiday to celebrate a few special birthdays. The chateaux itself is amazing, with beautiful and tasteful decor throughout and every bit of equipment you could possibly need for an action packed and fun filled holiday (even chance to ride tandem!). The location is so peaceful and immediately on arriving you feel relaxed. The enormous amount of space both inside and outside allows a large party of friends to each find their own special place to relax, yet find plenty of communal space to celebrate and have fun. We loved every minute of our stay. Thank you and we hope to return someday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that all your friends enjoyed their stay. We agree with you that the chateau is a special place and we would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPJ365
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“JP”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My guests and I recently stayed at Chateau Caillac where we all enjoyed a fabulous week in this truly amazing residence in what can only be described as a magical location on the river. Angela (the owner) was incredibly helpful prior to our trip and Kim who met us when we arrived helped us immensely in her role as an unoffical personal concierge! as she booked us into some lovely local restaurants in the area. Highly recommend a visit!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Chateau Caillac. We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday and we very much hope you return again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow - What an amazing place!”
Reviewed 15 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was our second visit to the Chateau.
As i drove up the tree lined drive, I could feel the everyday stresses and strains fall from my shoulders. It is every bit as stunning as I remembered.
The welcome pack was fantastic and just what we needed.
We had some lovely meals gathered outside around the tables and made use of the outdoor cooking and eating areas.
The pool was a welcome break from the beautiful sunshine!
We even used some of the bikes to tootle along to the next village where we had a lovely lunch in one of the local restaurants.
My husband loved sitting in the boat fishing, although didn't manage to catch anything!
We managed to catch the Welsh rugby game that was on while we were there due to the great tv system and spent many an hour putting the pool table to good use!
I so hope to come back again to visit this stunning Chateau.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A grand old lady to stay in, but felt welcoming and homely inside.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit for a second time. We too hope that you return again sometime. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing