We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb Holiday in a French Castle!”
other traveller has booked this property
Chateau Caillac
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chateau Caillac
Cezanne Room (Groundfloor) Balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
Chateau Caillac
Cezanne Room (Groundfloor)
Balcony
Garden Pond
Turret
More Turrets
Pool House Dining Area
Private Jetty
Crystal Balustrade in the round Turret
Moreau Room
Wisteria in the front garden
Bouguereau Room
Cezanne Room with private lounge area
One of the beautiful Plane Trees
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chateau -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Fongrave, Lot-et-Garonne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Georgie S
England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb Holiday in a French Castle!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

16 of us (10 adults, 5 children,1 baby) spent a terrific week in a beautiful, old French Chateau. There was more than enough space for us all, with wonderful ensuite bedrooms, furnished to a high standard. The wonderful open plan kitchen allowed us all to cook and eat indoors although all our meals we ate outside - either on the terrace just through doors from the kitchen or on the lovely long table (undercover) by the swimming pool, where there was also a BBQ and small kitchen set up. The facilities were excellent - swim pool, table tennis, kayaking, row boat, pool table, tree house, a variety of bikes. Something for everyone, especially the kids! A lovely housekeeper looked after us, recommended the local sites, restaurants and even made a hairdresser appointment! A highlight was being cooked for one evening by her. A must is to visit one of the local village evening markets, where you select the food you wish to eat, have it cooked for you and dine on tressel tables with the local French villagers with music and dancing. It was easy to cycle to the 2 local villages (very flat terrain) and there was a farm shop selling beautiful local grown, seasonal food 50m from our door! We could not recommend our holiday enough!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay at Chateau Caillac. We are delighted you all enjoyed your holiday. Please come again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie H
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
“Something for everyone at Chateau Caillac”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

"There is something for every one of all ages at Chateau Caillac

My family had a wonderful time at Chateau Caillac, which exceeded our expectations, the owners have thought of everything for a very enjoyable, safe holiday in an idyllic location overlooking the river Lot. The chateau and grounds are child friendly with alarmed swimming pool and there is a fence running along the river so little ones will be safe. No one could possibly be bored as there is so much to do in the extensive grounds from football, table tennis, snooker table, bikes, chess, and numerous games and books, not forgetting a TV. The chateau has been beautifully restored with a modern large workable kitchen with every gadget you would expect to find in your own home and large airy bedrooms. You will feel very much at home as soon as you arrive. If you want a tranquil setting, enjoy eating al fresco and listening to the owls in the evening, then this is the place for you. Would we go back? Definitely."

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Kitchen & utensils
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are really pleased that all your family and friends enjoyed their stay. We hope you will return again someday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wooddrago...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I stayed at Chateau Caillac with friends for my 50th birthday. Everything about the property is lovely. Fantastic location on the river Lot. Warm swimming pool, poolside kitchen, a very well equipped kitchen with a serious French cooker. The bikes are numerous and all in good condition. The bedrooms are really spacious and individually styled. We were in Renoir, it was huge with beatiful views of the pool and river. There are many picturesque villages within driving distance. Although the Chateau is not in a wine area itself, Buzet, Duras, Marmandais, Bergerac and Cahors are all in easy driving distance. The Chateau is English owned so there is no need to make any foreign payments.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about the Chateau. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noels23
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“The Perfect Place for Everyone”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 for a stay in September 2013

My husband and I were very fortunate to be able to spend a week in Chateau Caillac renewing old aquaintances and making new friends whilst there. We have travelled to France a number of times with this being our first "Chateau experience". What a delightful place to stay. It was beyond our expectations. So many activites within the property itself such as bike riding, swimming, badminton, table tennis, soccer or plenty of opportunities to explore the local surrounds by foot, bike or a short drive to many other places of interest such as Fumel where we had a beautiful late lunch of nicoise salad along with a glass of local rose at the creperie. There is also an abundance of places for some quiet time to read or just relax by the Lot River.
There are local markets close by and across the road is the farmers stall which had amazing produce that we used in our daily culinary creations cooked in the impressive gas stove or on the BBQ by the pool.
Definitely the place to spend some quality time with family and friends. Hopefully not our our last "Chateau experience". The perfect place for everyone.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2013
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with your friends. The restaurant in Fumel sounds lovely, I will have to call in and try it myself.
I hope that you and your family are able to enjoy the Chateau Caillac Experience again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
27Graham
Glencoe Australia
2 reviews
“Best ever French experience!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Had 9 wonderful days with a group of amazing people. The location and facilities allowed us to have a complete French experience from bike riding in the country side, village markets and tasting local farm produce. Several villages close by with great restaurants.

Chateau has a beautiful outlook over the Lot River and is fitted out with a great kitchen which allowed us to cook up some amazing French food. Accommodation was great including the cottage.

Would highly recommend if thinking of a complete French experience with a group of friends!

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2013
Its really lovely to know that our clients have had a great holiday. Thank you for your review and we hope that you may one day return to Chateau Caillac.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing