We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveller rating
192
58
43
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
192
58
43
15
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 316 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

What a fantastic find! Friendly professional staff, fantastic food in a quiet relaxing location. Our room was very clean and beds/ towels were changed every day, The bath/shower rooms would benefit from a little updating as the shower and toilet were rather old, however everything was in good working order.
We were offered a welcome drink / nibbles with the other guests on our first evening , which was a nice way to get to know everyone as it’s quite a small hotel. Just the place for recharging our batteries in a quiet part of Sardinia. The grounds were beautiful, the swimming pool a good temperature and evening dinner ( a set 5 course meal on our package) was excellent and we ate outside every night in the beautiful covered area. The waiters presented us with the evening’s menu every night to check we were happy with it, if not, we could ask for an alternative, however, we ate everything we were given as it was all delicious. It would be a good thing if there could be more than one music tape played at dinner,which got a bit monotonous night after night .
The breakfasts were also very good with excellent coffee, and a good selection of Sardinian fare.
We had a wine tasting session one afternoon with the sommelier who spoke perfect English and was interesting and informative. Included were traditional Sardinian nibbles to enjoy with the different wines. We also had a cooking demonstration from the chef ( I don’t know how he managed to find the time) and a baker. We were shown how to make traditional Sardinian bread and biscuits using a traditional Sardinian bread oven. My only criticism was that maybe the demonstration could have been a little shorter than the 3 hours and although the bread was very tasty, it was a little heavy, and those that attended the demo were given it to eat with evening dinner, we were rather embarrassed at having to leave it as we simple didn’t have room for it! The almond biscuits were given to all the guests after dinner with their coffee and they went down much better.
The area is a quiet agricultural area with some very nice local beaches, our favourite was S’Archittu.

Date of stay: June 2018
5  Thank Gwyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

A lovely, quiet hotel, the rooms are clean and comfortable. The grounds are lovely, there is a pool although it does not have a shallow end. The food is very good with a varied menu and dietary needs can be catered for although it is best to let the staff know in advance. The pace of the meals was appropriate and there were adequate numbers of waiting staff to ensure that diners’ needs were met.
The staff are very friendly, knowledgeable about the local area and most attentive.
They do charge for water however, the tap water is marked as undrinkable, but we bought water locally.

Room tip: There are accessible rooms on the ground floor
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

We returned to Is Benas after 8 years as we really loved the area, so quiet and beautiful. Tharos was absolutely beautiful probably one of the best beaches we have been to in Europe. Last time the only small thing not quite so good was the food. This time however(we understand it changed hands last year) the food was so much better. Very generous portions and delicious typical Sardinian fare. The waiters were superb, nothing was too much trouble for them and if you didn’t want the suggested menu there was plenty to choose from. Cappuccino at breakfast from machine at no supplement and we were offered another cup! Towels were changed every day. The swimming pool was very clean and of a good size. We certainly hope to return again at a later date. Would thoroughly recommend it. Most packages include a car which you would need. There is a lot to explore in the area but lovely to return to the quietness in th evening for dinner and a good nights sleep!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank discerningf00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We spent a week here and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and well appointed. Breakfast is typically Italian - bread, cold meats, cereal, and fruit. We had dinner every night and the chef is very innovative, producing visual perfection as well as very tasty meals. Well done seafood as well as meats. Excellent wine list with mostly Sardinian varieties, all of which we enjoyed. A wine cellar (optional) tasting session was done very well and we were intorduced to some new wines.

The location, while out in the countryside, is near some beaches with beautiful white sand where we found some good places for lunch. We hired a taxi to get to Oristano and then by train to Cagliari for a day excursion, and the prices were quite reasonable.

The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. If you dont fancy the evening food just ask and a different selection will be brought to you.

We have no hesitation to rate the Is Benas Country Lodge 5 stars.

Room tip: Rooms at rear are more private, but all are quiet and surrounded by garden.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank parson156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

The staff at the hotel are lovely - really lovely! -, the building is beautiful but the set-up for dinner really spoilt our holiday. We enjoyed the food, particularly the pasta course, each night. An earlier reviewer commented on the lack of vegetables. They were there, but generally pureed into a sauce, so hard to notice. I did begin to long for something to bite on with so much pureed food. Pureed cheesecake was a bit weird!
As other reviewers have said, the dinner service is interminable and quite chaotic. The staff gallop about, rushing to get the food out, yet it still takes so long and we often spent a full half hour between courses staring at an empty tablecloth. When you've eaten in the same place with the same faces for a whole week and there is only very distant muzak playing, it's hard not to feel bored and irritated. We really couldn't work out whether the waiting staff were unable to keep up or whether the kitchen couldn't get the food out fast enough. The cutlery is only laid out for one course at a time, so much effort is spent laying out extra cutlery with a flourish. Was this inefficiency or a deliberate attempt to look busy and buy the kitchen extra time? Courses were occasionally delivered in the wrong order and there was certainly no attempt to serve tables in the order in which they arrived. Could this be solved by a simple tick sheet for the staff to refer to during service? Could a number of plates be brought in on a tray and deposited on a table in the centre of the dining area, thus cutting down the headlong charge between kitchen and terrace with just two plates each time?
it's a pity to criticise when the staff were clearly working very hard but we did come to dread our evenings. Our fish course was very undercooked on our last night but we didn't send it back because we just wanted to get out of there! We would have preferred a different location too - Sardinia is a big island and progress on mountain roads is slow, so if you're thinking of booking, do a bit of research first on the local area and distances to other places so you can make an informed decision about whether you want to stay here.
Internet connection was poor but at least it was free. Hot drinks were always presented lukewarm. (Oh dear! I think I've just become one of those people who complain that you can never get a decent cup of tea abroad!)

Room tip: Rooms at the front get the sun so better for out of season stays. I was cold at the back!
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cetriole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews