We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Character village house in the heart of Provence”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Fer a Cheval

Façade and street
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Façade and street
Terrace Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Façade and street
Terrace
Terrace
Terrace
Terrace - breakfast
Living room
Living room
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom - en-suite bathroom
Master bedroom - en-suite bathroom
Master bedroom - wash basin
Master bedroom - shower
Second bedroom - as a double
Second bedroom - as a twin
Dining room
Dining room
Spacious fully-equipped kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen shelves
Cookery books in kitchen
Living room - rocking chair
Living room - view of the church tower
Sablet in spring
Sablet in spring
Grape harvest in September
Chez Mimi & Alain, Sablet's wonderful grocery store
Lavender fields
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Sablet, Vaucluse, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mildred79
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Character village house in the heart of Provence”
Reviewed 17 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in London overnight and caught the 7.17am non-stop Eurostar train to Avignon which took just over 5 and a half hours. Picked up a hire car and fairly easily found Sablet, a stunning looking village. The house is a short uphill walk and then up a few steps. Very safe, light and cool, wonderful after a hot day. Very well appointed house. Stairs need care especially after the superb cheap local wine! We loved the church bells. It feels very secluded but houses are all around. The terrace is on the first floor and perfect for outside dining. Our favourite place was Vaison la Romaine, 10 km, and our favourite restaurant was Les Abeilles in Sablet, only a short walk away. The owner is English and lives nearby. We had a lovely holiday and highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Living in circular streets set around the church.
Liked least: TV very small but then we didn't go on holiday to watch films!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londoner...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful rural retreat in the heart of Provence”
Reviewed 13 September 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed in Le Fer a Cheval for a relaxing spring break. The property is located at the very top of a typical Provencal hill village and is peaceful, stylishly decorated and superbly appointed. The area itself is fantastic for exploring Provence, we found plenty of picturesque walks, fantastic markets and hundreds of wine caves and vineyards for trying a variety of local wines.

We particularly enjoyed breakfast on the terrace every morning following a short walk to the local boulangerie and found the property a comfortable and cosy place to unwind after our daily adventures.

Pippa was very helpful with the arrangements and gave us some very good recommendations for places to visit and eating out. We look forward to returning next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philsisso...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic relaxing break in a beautiful part of France”
Reviewed 23 March 2012 for a stay in August 2010

We stayed at Le Fer a Cheval when my partner was expecting our first daughter, so what we were hoping for was comfortable accommodation in a picturesque French village with some enjoyable trips on hand and plenty of great food to enjoy. Safe to say we weren't disappointed!

The accommodation was really well looked after, full of character and very relaxing. The bedroom was spacious and airy, the kitchen had everything you could require and we made plenty of use of the terrace for al fresco meals and sunbathing. Little touches like plenty of places to plug an iPod in meant it was like staying in a friend's place, only cleaner and tidier!

We enjoyed some lovely walks and found Sablet and the other nearby towns and villages to be wonderful places to be. One of us wasn't drinking, of course, so we didn't get into the wine scene too much but on another occasion you could practically make your whole holiday based around the local vineyards.

Overall we found this place, both the accommodation and the area, to be pretty much flawless and would have no hesitation in recommending it at all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicLock
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A very special place that we still talk about it”
Reviewed 13 March 2012 for a stay in December 2010

We stayed here on the recommendation of friends and found it to be a perfect palce to stay in Provence. Sablet is a beautiful little peaceful village and this house is riight in the heart of it next to the church yard.

We were there in winter and found it very comfortable with everything you could possibly need (internet, DVD player, fantastic kitchen, washing machine etc.). We stayed with our four year old son who loved it, particularly the view of the church from the courtyard. It was a bit cold to sit outside but I did have one or two lovely Cote du Rhone reds to keep me warm :-)

We still talk about our lovely holiday and the Fer a Cheval at Sablet was a highlight. Pippa was extremely helpful with the arrangements and everything went without a hitch. I can recommend a walk to Seguret as it is a beautiful little fortiied village nearby. It is only a short drive to Vaison la Romaine, Orange and Avignon via wonderful vineyards, chocolate/nougat factories and boulangeries. And don't forget the fantastic pizza place in Sablet - awesome!

I could not recommend it highly enough! Bon chance!

Cheers,

Nicolas

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the thoughtful amenities provided
Liked least: The church bell at 7am!
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vtm
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The Heart of Provence”
Reviewed 10 March 2012 for a stay in April 2011

We stayed in Le Fer a Cheval for 3 weeks last spring. It was the highlight of our year trip around the world. The house became the base for our exploration of Provence. All of the major sites in Provence were within easy reach of Sablet. Returning every evening, we enjoyed the beautiful house and the picturesque village. The house was well equipped and charming. The local bakery, fish stall, bar and grocery store provided a sample of French village life, with supermarkets only 30 minutes away. The owner provided excellent information to keep busy, or not, during our stay. We recommend the winery tour and hiking in the nearby hills.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Breakfast on the patio.
Liked least: Leaving at the end of the stay.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing